$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginaa828
Miami, Fl
Dec 14, 2012

Amazing Stay!

We will definitely stay here again. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was exactly what we needed! Total atmosphere was surreal! Great around the holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining is quite expensive in the hotel! Although food is amazing, will definitely venture off next time.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoneham
May 26, 2008

Nice hotel but too expensive

This hotel was nice and clean. It was good but not great considering the rate the hotel charges per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is a short walk from hotel and has all the great shopping stores.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parkland, Florida
Feb 21, 2010

3rd Awesome vaca @ the Fairmont!

On a consistent basis, the Fairmont hotels never fail 2 disappoint! As this is our hotel of choice, we try 2 always stay @ the Fairmont if possible. The Fairmont San Francisco is an escape to a long gone era of grandeur and elegance. The hotel captures this elegance, and your entire stay you will feel special. Definitely splurge on the Signature Grand upgraded room or above; definitely worth the extra $$$$. Room was absolutely perfect, location is superior, and concierge could not be more helpful! Cable car stops practically right outside the hotel. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For an 'escape from reality', take the day trip to Yosemite....absolutely amazing! For commuting around the city, purchase the City Pass, which includes unlimited Cable Car/bus/etc trips! The hotel is at the TOP of the hill, therefore walking down the hill is easy, however going back up...well, try the cable car! Found an outstanding breakfast place from Zagat's...Dottie's. U gotta go!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort lauderdale,FL
Feb 14, 2011

Great hotel for the price

The hotel is beautiful reminding one of the european palaces. Our room in the old tower was comfortable and bed was excellent. Service was excellent and the room was cleaned in one hour that we had left the first morning. Unfortunately the dining was a little subpar. My wife had a sea bass for dinner that was overcooked and my sister got a little quesy from the chicken dish. The breakfast was good. Also allows dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For special occasion the Fleur de Lys was excellent. Though we are not high brow French foodies the food was excellent and service great.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Grandpa
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Traditional charmer

It was a rare opportunity to stay in a first-rate hotel at a reasonable rate (but the cost of parking is ridiculous). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the clerk offered to call our cell when it was. Our room was in the original building (no free upgrade offered) and was both spacious and comfortable. Everything you want to see in SF is downhill from the Fairmont so the walk out isn't bad, but take a cab back! We were there on a Sunday morning and splurged on the best brunch anywhere, the Top of the Mark (Hopkins) across the street from the hotel. And the view from the restaurant is awesome. Other favorite restaurants: Scoma's at Fisherman's Wharf and Sam Wo in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cable Car Museum is a couple of blocks away and is both interesting and free.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Branchburg, NJ
Jul 21, 2011

Fairmont Hotel

Beautiful hotel in the old style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do the trolleys in the morning! Too long to wait and to get going at busy times.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 21, 2009

San Francisco Birthday

Great upgrade when checking in. Got the city view since I was only there one night (a very short trip for me) what a rewarding sight! Would have taken the Bay view had I been there acouple more days, but I was greatly pleased. Staff was very friendly and helpful. And if you are a history buff, there is much here to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnjean
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 3, 2010

Elegant, but a bit tired

Great location on California St. Easy to catch cable cars or walk downhill to Chinatown and Ferry Building. Our room was very spatious with the largest walkin closet I have ever seen in a hotel. Beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was not spotless and we had no towels or robes upon arrival. A very unfriendly housekeeper told me to call the front desk to get towels. We had a very helpful bellman at the lobby desk who recommended a place to order chinese food for delivery. No coffee or tea in the room so I had to go to the bar downstairs to get tea. Overnight parking was $57.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day or multiple day pass for cable cars and buses. We were able to buy a day pass on the cable car, but you have to have correct change ($13), as they don't take charge cards.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 16, 2010

Very good but.....

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. All services were exceptional except for the beds. I reserved two queen beds since there were 4 of us staying and what we got was two double beds and a roll away. This was unsatisfactory but the hotel was booked and I was told there was no other alternative. I would have given a perfect rating if it weren't for this which I felt was very important. The hotel is renovating so we were not able to make use of the mini bar which was an inconvenience. There was no fridge in the room and no bottled water. These were minor inconveniences in comparison to the beautiful surroundings, very friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel and the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had only two days in San Francisco. Plan out your days before arriving. There is so much to do and see, it can be daunting. We wasted a lot of time thinking about where to go and what to see. If you want to tour Alcatraz, book way ahead. Cab drivers overall where great, like tour guides. Cabs are expensive. Cable cars are uncomfortable and unless you are in great shape, walking is difficult with all those hills which seem like mountains. Make a point of getting to Golden Gate Park and the Academy of Sciences. The Tonga Room, surprisingly, was a great spot for dinner.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2009

A beautiful hotel with not so attractive

We were surpised upon arrival that the hotel was beautiful and we were upgraded to a tower room without even asking. We heard the Tonga restaurant was good so we checked that out. Service there was poor and the food was cold and not very good. We then awoke to a bill slid under the room door informing us that parking was $60 per night! There is no sign or anything posted to inform you of this outrageous charge outside (or inside) the hotel. The staff merely said "there was nothing they could do."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2009

Fairmont San Francisco

The Fairmont is a beautiful, historic hotel. I had read complaints about the caliber of the staff's service, but there were absolutely no issues during our stay. Terrific hotel and solid staff service made for a great stay. The only concern with the hotel is that the walls between rooms in the main building are thin (this is likely a factor of the hotel's age). That being said, we slept fine all 5 nights we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top