$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iver5
Des Plaines, IL
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely San Francisco stay!

Best hotel! Reminded us of The Drake back in Chicago. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of The Mark Hotel for lunch was lovely and the view was incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erfenson
Business
central coast, California
Aug 13, 2012

Clean, comfortable and nicely located.

The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in, and we were upgraded to a king for free when we checked in. The hotel itself is gorgeous. This was a no-brainer at half price, but if a view is important to you make sure you aren't booking an interior room overlooking the courtyard. The Fairmont is lacking in little "free" amenities you generally find at cheaper hotels; for instance prepare to be nickel-and-dimed if you want a fridge in your room, and to pay $3 for a good cup of coffee in the cafe downstairs because there is no complimentary hotel sludge. No surprise given the hotel's usual price point and clientele. Also prepare for exorbitant parking fees if you use their lot, they were getting $65 a night when we stayed. We parked instead at a nearby garage for $27/night. Being located at the intersection of the two major trolley lines is great in theory, though we found ourselves having to walk several blocks upstream just to catch one that wasn't full. SF's trolley system is painfully overcrowded right now (peak season?) and we watched a lot of dismayed tourists watch full trolley after full trolley pass them by. The only place they're harder to catch a space on is at the wharf, where you at least get an orderly queue instead of a bunch of rude tourists falling over each other for the 3 open spaces. For strong walkers, Chinatown and Union Square are easily in walking distance, which is great. Would stay there again in a heartbeat at the rate I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral Parking Lot if you mean to just park your car and leave it for the duration.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mumms
Business
San Diego
Aug 9, 2012

Lovely Weekend Retreat

We had such a wonderful stay at the Fairmont that we have decided to stay again the next time we are in San Francisco. Lovely Hotel with historical charm and beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USA tracker
Business
California
Aug 9, 2012

Very nice!

The hotel was great onthe whole and was in an ideal location to explore the whole of the city as it was right on the hill between the coast, Italian quarter, Chinatown and the main square. Room was really clean and looked after every day which was great as were all staff. However DO NOT GO TO THE TONGA ROOM FOR BUFFET that is offered for $10 but was truly dreadful as we're the cocktails on offer so beware of this!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian district - its great! North

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WebDweller
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Likeable atmosphere

The old wing has a history and the atmosphere is well preserved. The new wing smelled of tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee and me
Business
Colorado
Jul 20, 2012

What? no free internet service at this price?

This is a fantastic place to stay, except for no free internet service is offered and the food is quite pricey. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable-- made us feel at home and welcome always. The location and the beauty of this hotel cannot be beat and the prominent history of the Fairmont adds to the allure of a vacation in San Francisco. Love this place, and would give a perfect 5 stars if the food prices and offerings were better and they provided free internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boglady
Business
Maine
Jul 19, 2012

First time in San Francisco

Room was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable with many pillows. Didn't think the room needed 3 telephones (one in bathroom), but would have loved a coffeemaker!! A fridge would have been nice, too. Telephone and garage charges seemed exorbitant. Used a nearby garage for half the price, but did not have the convenience of coming/going throughout the day. Enjoyed being close to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Restaurant within walking distance. Very pleasant eating. Not many restaurants close by for dining. Nothing really close for breakfast except hotel dining room which was costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie W
Business
Toronto, Candada
Jul 9, 2012

Weekend in San Fran

We spent 3 nights at The Fairmont in San Fran. We had heard lots of great reviews from our family and friends. I had seen pics of the hotel, but they don't compare to how beautiful it actually was! Wow! The staff were great - very knowledgeable, very friendly, and helpful. We loved when we called the front desk they answered the phone saying "good evening (afternoon/morning) Ms. _____." Very classy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schwanki
Business
fiddletown ca.
Jun 28, 2012

granddaughters in the city

the hotel was great. we enjoyed it greatly! we will do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFSU MOM
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
May 31, 2012

Wonderful hotel but.........

Beautiful hotel, I reserved 3 rooms via an internet site, 2 rooms w/2 queen size beds were amazing, however, one room w/king size bed was disappointing. Curtain was ripped, crown moldings were chipped/damaged, didn't seem as clean as the other 2 rooms. Ran out of kleenex with no back up in the room. There aren't any resturants close by, which forces you to eat at their expensive resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want a varitey of resturants and entertainment stay close to Union Square. This hotel is far from anything walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from Sacramento
Business
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

Very nice facilities, but problem with reservation

While the fairmont itself is a wonderful hotel, be warned that the room you purchase may not be the room you are given when you check in. I purchased an exterior view with two queen beds but was given an interior view with double beds. They eventually found an exterior view room (while acting like they were doing me a favor) but they never found a room with the beds that were on my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top