$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BayAreaGuy
Business
San Ramon, California
May 26, 2013

Meh. It's okay if you're into fancy hotels.

If you're someone who has never been to San Francisco, and you want a piece of old-world charm and history (and price really isn't an issue), then the Fairmont is a good hotel choice. If, however, you're not all that interested in the amenities of a hotel and would rather spend your money on fun, food, entertainment, this hotel will just suck up your budget and leave you feeling buyer's remorse. The Fairmont is in a great location (Nob Hill, aka Snob Hill) with beautiful millionaire SF-style houses, a LOT of great views of the bay, interesting sites (don't miss the Cathedral just one block up the street!), etc. But a tiny room with a queen bed will cost you $300 easy, and parking is about $59 per night (plus an automatic 14% tax that's never explained). The Fairmont's restaurant is insanely expensive ($18 for a tiny bowl of regular oatmeal) and nothing to write home about. The Tiki Bar downstairs is quite a nice surprise, and there's no other like it in SF, but you can come hang out there without staying in the hotel. Be prepared to stand in line for a while unless you get there about an hour before opening. My advice is, unless you make over $100,000 a year, stay in a less expensive hotel and save your money for a show, shopping at Pier 39, or a ferry ride out to Alcatraz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Grace Cathedral, one block up at California St. and Taylor St., and opt for dinner or dessert ($$$$) at Top of the Mark atop the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel, both within walking distance.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ2011
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 29, 2013

Charming Hotel

I liked the old world charm of the hotel and the location was near a few cable car lines that made it really easy to get around. We got a smoking room, and the whole floor stunk right off the elevator, but I guess that's what we get. We walked to the hotel from BART, and we grossly underestimate how steep Nob Hill is, so that was definitely a bad idea. The only negative I have is that the hours and availability of the tiki bar were really odd and we could never get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a cable car pass that's good for unlimited rides for X number of days since you will be using it a lot.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned hotel guy
Business
San Fransisco, Ca
Sep 30, 2013

Fairmont

1st class hotel with beautiful lobby, cool tonga room, and spacious room. Great bedding, nice tv, but needed bathroom fan and bathroom was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

R & G lounge is walking distance (grant st.) and has great Chinese food. Salt and pepper garlic crab!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillaryromy
Business
Los angeles
May 28, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are pretty and cozy and make for a wonderful weekend getaway. The only downside is that walking back to the hotel from Union Square is all uphill, so for people who are out of shape, it is quite the workout. My only complaint is that the cleaning lady threw out two bottles of water that we had in the room, so I was forced to purchase the water in the mini bar for $8.70 (rip off) because it was too late to go find a Walgreens and I was so thirsty after that long walk back to the hotel. Otherwise, it is was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 19, 2009

Only one disappointment

Gorgeous hotel, and rate comparable to other SF hotels that are not nearly as grand. Only disappointment was that bar at top of hotel with spectacular view of the bay and city was closed eight years ago and no longer available to the public except for special functions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boulevard restaurant was superb.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 29, 2009

Elegant and relaxing

Beautiful hotel. Small room in older section but still elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 23, 2009

Great value for luxury accommodations!

We loved the beautiful building, the service was very good and the location was great. The clerk at the desk even commented on the great rate we got through Orbitz! The trolley clanged outside our window but we found it charming and it stopped at midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring a good city map. We wandered around for a long time trying to find a restaurant recommended by the desk clerk and ended up at a mediocre restaurant in Chinatown. A travesty in San Francisco, known for its excellent restaurants.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
antodist
Business
Milan
Aug 18, 2011

Just a try

It was a great experience although, in my opinion, Fairmont would need a room restoration (there were some scratches in the walls and in the room furnitures). The in room dining was a bit pricey but a good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of the Mark restaurant just next to the Fairmont Hotel.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jun 13, 2009

Beautiful hotel,HORRIBLE food prices

The hotel itself is beautiful. The scenery is spectactular. We left the drapes open all night, just to take one more peek as we would awaken during the night. However, food prices were astronomical $13.00 for one pastry, $27.00 each for continental breakfast??? We've had complimentary bottled waters at much lower class hotels. Fairmont charges $5.45 each a peice for an 18 oz bottled water. Also, not posted, is the $57.00 nightly valet parking (not including tip). The hotel may offer some discounted rates, but makes up for it over and above on everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful Seafood grill, (Tadich) about 6-7 blocks down on California street. A bit of a walk up and down a major hill (don't wear heels, ladies).

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton , Florida
Nov 23, 2009

Great Friendly meeting place

Great time with friends. Lobby very nice and friendlyu, good breakfast, internet should be free though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top