$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CjLyons
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 18, 2013

Fans of Fairmont

After spending a week at the Chicago Fairmont, we were looking forward to our stay at the San Francisco Fairmont. We were NOT disappointed! This is a 5-star hotel and the flagship of the Fairmont properties. It is stunningly gorgeous, staff is excellent, room was clean and oh so comfortable. We loved spending our 25th anniversary here and will be back. The only thing to know is that it's not as close to Union Square as we would have liked. Cafes, restaurants, shopping is in Union Square and there are none in walking distance from the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable car!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CassieF
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 17, 2012

One Night in SF

The hotel was beautiful and the room was very comfortable. We ate at the Tonga Room which was an awesome experience, but the food was just so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scranton Traveler
Couples
Scranton, Pa
Sep 10, 2012

Great Experience

My Fiance and i had a wonderful experience at the Fairmont San Francisco. We can not wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stokie101
Couples
NYC
Sep 5, 2012

You get what you pay for

Be prepared to get the "undesired" rooms in the hotel (i.e. no city views) If you keep your expectations low you will be happy with room itself large bathroom small queen size bed and overall very clean. Dont expect any free amenities like in-room coffee or complimentary water bottles. Do expect to pay over 50 bucks for valet parking and long lines for the Tonga room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to "new" chinatown instead for better food and bargains!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Di Di
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2012

Fabulous

The staff were all wonderful. They have all worked here for many years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach blanket Babylon show

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2th mvr
Couples
Vancouver, WA
Aug 22, 2012

Not what we expected from the Fairmont

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle before andhad a wonderful experience. We can't say the same for this Fairmont. At check in, no one bothered to tell us thay had given away our reservation for a queen size bed. Instead they just sent us to our room and hoped we couldn't tell the difference. When we called down to the front desk they told us they were sold out for that night but the following night they would move us into a queen bed room. The front desk person told us to bring our luggage down with us the next morning and they would see that it was put in to our new room. When we returned to the hotel the next afternoon to get ready for our dinner reservations, we asked if our luggage was in our room and we were assured that it was. We got to our room and our luggage was not there. I went down to the desk to ask where it was and was informed that we should not have brought it down that morning and that they were not sure where it was. The man from the bell desk was very rude and it took about 25 minutes to finally locate our luggage, making us late for our dinner reservation. To top it all off, the heater in the new room would not turn off, making it almost unbearably hot in our room - it was a very hot weekeknd in San Francisco while we were there. As we were checking out, we informed the staff about everything that had happened and were offered no apology or anything. This was not what we expected from a hotel like the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Atkins
Couples
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 20, 2012

Magnificent Frisco adventure!

My stay at the Fairmont was a tremendous experience to say the least.Kind,courteous and quite attentive staff was only punctuated by the fact that we were treated to the most luxurious of ammenities and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would say for any tourist that wishes to get the most out of their trip in San Fran,it would be strongly advised to invest in a city pass.For many attractions and activities it is quite the economical asset and money saver.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Irene
Single
Brighton, CO
Aug 20, 2012

Weekend visit

I was in San Francisco for a wedding and throughly enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont. The service was excellent, from the doorman, to the check staff, to the concierge, to the wait staff. We ate several times in Laurel Court and found the food very good with an excellent variety both on the menu and buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mumms
Couples
San Diego
Aug 9, 2012

Lovely Weekend Retreat

We had such a wonderful stay at the Fairmont that we have decided to stay again the next time we are in San Francisco. Lovely Hotel with historical charm and beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USA tracker
Couples
California
Aug 9, 2012

Very nice!

The hotel was great onthe whole and was in an ideal location to explore the whole of the city as it was right on the hill between the coast, Italian quarter, Chinatown and the main square. Room was really clean and looked after every day which was great as were all staff. However DO NOT GO TO THE TONGA ROOM FOR BUFFET that is offered for $10 but was truly dreadful as we're the cocktails on offer so beware of this!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian district - its great! North

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WebDweller
Family
New York, NY, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Likeable atmosphere

The old wing has a history and the atmosphere is well preserved. The new wing smelled of tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top