$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillVermont
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Oct 26, 2012

Great business location

At $240 per night, this was a good bargain. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Sir
Business
Birmingham Al
Sep 21, 2012

Classic hotel

Very nice location for view of San Francisco and for cable car access. Food options limited. Hotel shows it's age and is living off reputation and history. Staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has coffee shop in one corner of hotel. Much better than overpriced breakfast in hotel.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzukique
Business
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Nov 14, 2012

Great San Francisco experience

The Fairmont is a lovely hotel for adults and for families, and located near the cable cars to get around the city. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. I would have appreciated a coffee pot in the room since I am an early riser; however, there was a wonderful coffee shop in the lower level. I was also disappointed that there was a charge for Wifi in the hotel. Maybe this is a sign of the future, but I haven't ever had to pay for Wifi in a hotel before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lovely French restaurant and a quaint Italian restaurant within a block of the hotel.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy99999
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Walls are thin

The walls are thin and we could hear everything from the rooms on either side of us as if they were in the room, otherwise the hotel was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinyki
Business
San Carlos CA
Dec 2, 2012

Very nice

I didn't enjoy check-in, but the lobby was beautiful and the view was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and plays

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Bay Getaway
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Holiday visit...

The Fairmont is a great place to base a visit to San Francisco at any time of year. Lots of hustle and bustle particularly during Christmas/Holiday season. Surprisingly, you have to request coffee set up in your room in advance. When we ordered a pot of coffee, it did not arrive for over an hour and only after we called about the order to Room Service. They did comp us for the coffee, however. But it remains a beautiful hotel albeit a pricey option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phoebe1
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 29, 2013

Great stay

Great place. If you want a view you will have to pay a bit more. Stay in the main building, not the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink or dinner at The Top of the Mark across the street. It is worth the view. Also, try Nob Hill Cafe, great Italian and even nicer staff.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriet J
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2013

Great location & historic to boot

The Fairmont is the perfect location in San Francisco! 3 blocks from Union Square, 5 blocks from China Town, a bit longer to Lombard Street Fisherman's Wharf, but all downhill and totally worth the walk to explore the city. The main Trolley Lines (California street and the Powell Street) are right outside the door! The staff is friendly & helpful and the rooms are spacious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross California Avenue to visit the Top of the Mark at the top of the Intercontinental for a cocktail & spectacular view!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayKay10
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2013

Historic Charmer

Great moderate sized hotel with a ton of old world charm and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, sight seeing, cable cars and cable car musuem right outside property, etc. The restaurant in the hotel looked mighty pricey but other than that, a wonderful stay - we did do the tikki bar and that was really fun. We would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Alcatraz - really educational and informative.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie Lou Freebush
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
May 16, 2013

Overall impression:very good hotel but...

My overall experience was pretty good. Great hotel, kind staff, amazing room... but the valet parking service was way, way far from good. It took ages for them to get our car; about half an hour seems way too long to get a car that's in their parking lot, in the same building as the hotel. The worst part is that waiting for our car was not a one time thing. It happened every time we needed to have it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhatWhat567
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 22, 2013

Nice, but a few kinks

Overall, a great hotel. Great location in the city, easy access to everything, pleasant staff. However, the monetization of some typically free services was displeasing. Our room was nice, but whenever the A/C kicked on there was a -very- loud "click!" that woke us right up. So some rough sleep those first few nights, but we got used to it. Also, five-star hotels need bigger TVs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top