$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller 88
S.F.
Sep 5, 2013

Classic spot!!

Can't get much better in S.F.!!! Very nice hotel with great room service. Tiki bar was closed however. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry Lite
Business
NY NY
Feb 20, 2013

Lovely on the outside..................

I was looking forward to staying at the Fairmount in SF after having been a guest at another Fairmount and having a wonderful experience. When I was unpacking, it was disappointing to find the stacked shelves in the closet for storing clothes was caked with dirt. I had to use a hot towel to wash down the shelving before putting my clothes on them. The housekeeping leaves much to be desired. There were dirty tissues left on the floor from a previous guest and other dirt on the carpet surface which meant the room had not been vaccuumed before my arrival. I did speak to the manager and after checking the room he agreed with my findings and apologized. After coming back to the room one night Icould not find the remote control for the tv. After searching the room unsuccessfully, I called and asked for another remote. When I was getting ready for bed that evening i found the remote which had been made in the bed by housekeeping. It also confirmed that my sheets were not changed. The glasses in the room were not replaced nor were the dirty ones taken away for 2 days! I also ran out of soap and needed to call for more because fresh bars were never put into my room after my initial check in. The room was spacious but very tired looking. However is was not as tired as the staff when it came to doing there job. Sadly I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phoebe1
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 29, 2013

Great stay

Great place. If you want a view you will have to pay a bit more. Stay in the main building, not the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink or dinner at The Top of the Mark across the street. It is worth the view. Also, try Nob Hill Cafe, great Italian and even nicer staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Bay Getaway
Business
Concord, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Holiday visit...

The Fairmont is a great place to base a visit to San Francisco at any time of year. Lots of hustle and bustle particularly during Christmas/Holiday season. Surprisingly, you have to request coffee set up in your room in advance. When we ordered a pot of coffee, it did not arrive for over an hour and only after we called about the order to Room Service. They did comp us for the coffee, however. But it remains a beautiful hotel albeit a pricey option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginaa828
Business
Miami, Fl
Dec 14, 2012

Amazing Stay!

We will definitely stay here again. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was exactly what we needed! Total atmosphere was surreal! Great around the holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining is quite expensive in the hotel! Although food is amazing, will definitely venture off next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinyki
Business
San Carlos CA
Dec 2, 2012

Very nice

I didn't enjoy check-in, but the lobby was beautiful and the view was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and plays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzukique
Business
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Nov 14, 2012

Great San Francisco experience

The Fairmont is a lovely hotel for adults and for families, and located near the cable cars to get around the city. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. I would have appreciated a coffee pot in the room since I am an early riser; however, there was a wonderful coffee shop in the lower level. I was also disappointed that there was a charge for Wifi in the hotel. Maybe this is a sign of the future, but I haven't ever had to pay for Wifi in a hotel before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lovely French restaurant and a quaint Italian restaurant within a block of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy99999
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Walls are thin

The walls are thin and we could hear everything from the rooms on either side of us as if they were in the room, otherwise the hotel was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillVermont
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Oct 26, 2012

Great business location

At $240 per night, this was a good bargain. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tybo Sully
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect Romantic Atmosphere

The service was fantastic, the enegery was amazing. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Great location to see and do everything in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 6910
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 26, 2012

Perfect long weekend

The Fairmont was the BEST!! I had a beautiful room with an incredible view. Everyone was great.. I had a fantastic time. I will stay at the Fairmont again. Great location as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley. It stops in front of the hotel and it's only $14 for all day on and off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top