$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. Kevin
Business
Arizona
Sep 9, 2013

outstanding decor and service to match

helpful and friendly staff Very good meeting location. Excellent views from tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry Lite
Business
NY NY
Feb 20, 2013

Lovely on the outside..................

I was looking forward to staying at the Fairmount in SF after having been a guest at another Fairmount and having a wonderful experience. When I was unpacking, it was disappointing to find the stacked shelves in the closet for storing clothes was caked with dirt. I had to use a hot towel to wash down the shelving before putting my clothes on them. The housekeeping leaves much to be desired. There were dirty tissues left on the floor from a previous guest and other dirt on the carpet surface which meant the room had not been vaccuumed before my arrival. I did speak to the manager and after checking the room he agreed with my findings and apologized. After coming back to the room one night Icould not find the remote control for the tv. After searching the room unsuccessfully, I called and asked for another remote. When I was getting ready for bed that evening i found the remote which had been made in the bed by housekeeping. It also confirmed that my sheets were not changed. The glasses in the room were not replaced nor were the dirty ones taken away for 2 days! I also ran out of soap and needed to call for more because fresh bars were never put into my room after my initial check in. The room was spacious but very tired looking. However is was not as tired as the staff when it came to doing there job. Sadly I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phoebe1
Couples
Houston, TX
Jan 29, 2013

Great stay

Great place. If you want a view you will have to pay a bit more. Stay in the main building, not the tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink or dinner at The Top of the Mark across the street. It is worth the view. Also, try Nob Hill Cafe, great Italian and even nicer staff.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Bay Getaway
Family
Concord, CA
Dec 17, 2012

Holiday visit...

The Fairmont is a great place to base a visit to San Francisco at any time of year. Lots of hustle and bustle particularly during Christmas/Holiday season. Surprisingly, you have to request coffee set up in your room in advance. When we ordered a pot of coffee, it did not arrive for over an hour and only after we called about the order to Room Service. They did comp us for the coffee, however. But it remains a beautiful hotel albeit a pricey option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginaa828
Couples
Miami, Fl
Dec 14, 2012

Amazing Stay!

We will definitely stay here again. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was exactly what we needed! Total atmosphere was surreal! Great around the holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining is quite expensive in the hotel! Although food is amazing, will definitely venture off next time.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinyki
Couples
San Carlos CA
Dec 2, 2012

Very nice

I didn't enjoy check-in, but the lobby was beautiful and the view was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and plays

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy99999
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Walls are thin

The walls are thin and we could hear everything from the rooms on either side of us as if they were in the room, otherwise the hotel was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillVermont
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Oct 26, 2012

Great business location

At $240 per night, this was a good bargain. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tybo Sully
Couples
Denver, CO
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect Romantic Atmosphere

The service was fantastic, the enegery was amazing. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Great location to see and do everything in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Sir
Couples
Birmingham Al
Sep 21, 2012

Classic hotel

Very nice location for view of San Francisco and for cable car access. Food options limited. Hotel shows it's age and is living off reputation and history. Staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has coffee shop in one corner of hotel. Much better than overpriced breakfast in hotel.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berliner
Couples
New Jersey, USA
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful Property!

Thoroughly enjoyed a great afternoon in the Laurel Room (try the blood orange mulled wine!) and well as Cafe Cento during a brief stay. Real stunning place and experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top