$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller 88
S.F.
Sep 5, 2013

Classic spot!!

Can't get much better in S.F.!!! Very nice hotel with great room service. Tiki bar was closed however. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenyth
Business
falkirk
Jul 10, 2013

Epic

It really is steep butts the summit of nob hill, but this places you in perfect stead for the unbelievable view of the city from up there. The hotel itself is a thing of beauty and anyone interested in history and who get a bang out of a hotel with a bit of a story check out how this temple of a building came into being. The guest history too makes you feel a sense of prestige just loafing around in your luxury quarters with unbelievably comfortable bed. Close to union square and fisherman's wharf too but you might not want to leave your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heat seeking traveller
Business
Alberta, Canada
Jul 6, 2013

Just lounging in the lap of luxury

Check in was quick and easy with car and bell service being prompt and personable. Once in we were able to walk to dinner nearby and hop the trolley cars in all directions conveniently. Room service was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a coffee shop on the "P" floor at the back of the hotel with a good breakfast menu which is much less than that available in the hotel. If you looking for a coffee and light breakfast this is a good alternative.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ted's Trip Experience
Business
Saratoga, California
May 29, 2013

Loved Hotel & Location

The hotel had eligant decor, variety of restaurants, & all the amenities. It is located at the top of the hill with beautiful views, where the Cable cars meet from E/W & N/S. The only things not perfect were the voices we could hear from the room next door, and the mistake on the check out bill that they had to clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BayAreaGuy
Business
San Ramon, California
May 26, 2013

Meh. It's okay if you're into fancy hotels.

If you're someone who has never been to San Francisco, and you want a piece of old-world charm and history (and price really isn't an issue), then the Fairmont is a good hotel choice. If, however, you're not all that interested in the amenities of a hotel and would rather spend your money on fun, food, entertainment, this hotel will just suck up your budget and leave you feeling buyer's remorse. The Fairmont is in a great location (Nob Hill, aka Snob Hill) with beautiful millionaire SF-style houses, a LOT of great views of the bay, interesting sites (don't miss the Cathedral just one block up the street!), etc. But a tiny room with a queen bed will cost you $300 easy, and parking is about $59 per night (plus an automatic 14% tax that's never explained). The Fairmont's restaurant is insanely expensive ($18 for a tiny bowl of regular oatmeal) and nothing to write home about. The Tiki Bar downstairs is quite a nice surprise, and there's no other like it in SF, but you can come hang out there without staying in the hotel. Be prepared to stand in line for a while unless you get there about an hour before opening. My advice is, unless you make over $100,000 a year, stay in a less expensive hotel and save your money for a show, shopping at Pier 39, or a ferry ride out to Alcatraz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Grace Cathedral, one block up at California St. and Taylor St., and opt for dinner or dessert ($$$$) at Top of the Mark atop the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel, both within walking distance.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhatWhat567
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 22, 2013

Nice, but a few kinks

Overall, a great hotel. Great location in the city, easy access to everything, pleasant staff. However, the monetization of some typically free services was displeasing. Our room was nice, but whenever the A/C kicked on there was a -very- loud "click!" that woke us right up. So some rough sleep those first few nights, but we got used to it. Also, five-star hotels need bigger TVs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie Lou Freebush
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
May 16, 2013

Overall impression:very good hotel but...

My overall experience was pretty good. Great hotel, kind staff, amazing room... but the valet parking service was way, way far from good. It took ages for them to get our car; about half an hour seems way too long to get a car that's in their parking lot, in the same building as the hotel. The worst part is that waiting for our car was not a one time thing. It happened every time we needed to have it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriet J
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2013

Great location & historic to boot

The Fairmont is the perfect location in San Francisco! 3 blocks from Union Square, 5 blocks from China Town, a bit longer to Lombard Street Fisherman's Wharf, but all downhill and totally worth the walk to explore the city. The main Trolley Lines (California street and the Powell Street) are right outside the door! The staff is friendly & helpful and the rooms are spacious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross California Avenue to visit the Top of the Mark at the top of the Intercontinental for a cocktail & spectacular view!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayKay10
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2013

Historic Charmer

Great moderate sized hotel with a ton of old world charm and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, sight seeing, cable cars and cable car musuem right outside property, etc. The restaurant in the hotel looked mighty pricey but other than that, a wonderful stay - we did do the tikki bar and that was really fun. We would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Alcatraz - really educational and informative.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iver5
Business
Des Plaines, IL
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely San Francisco stay!

Best hotel! Reminded us of The Drake back in Chicago. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of The Mark Hotel for lunch was lovely and the view was incredible!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry Lite
Business
NY NY
Feb 20, 2013

Lovely on the outside..................

I was looking forward to staying at the Fairmount in SF after having been a guest at another Fairmount and having a wonderful experience. When I was unpacking, it was disappointing to find the stacked shelves in the closet for storing clothes was caked with dirt. I had to use a hot towel to wash down the shelving before putting my clothes on them. The housekeeping leaves much to be desired. There were dirty tissues left on the floor from a previous guest and other dirt on the carpet surface which meant the room had not been vaccuumed before my arrival. I did speak to the manager and after checking the room he agreed with my findings and apologized. After coming back to the room one night Icould not find the remote control for the tv. After searching the room unsuccessfully, I called and asked for another remote. When I was getting ready for bed that evening i found the remote which had been made in the bed by housekeeping. It also confirmed that my sheets were not changed. The glasses in the room were not replaced nor were the dirty ones taken away for 2 days! I also ran out of soap and needed to call for more because fresh bars were never put into my room after my initial check in. The room was spacious but very tired looking. However is was not as tired as the staff when it came to doing there job. Sadly I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top