$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Get out and travel people
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 21, 2014

Great San Fran Hotel

The hotel was very luxurious and had a nice historic feel. The room was very clean and large. A bit on the expensive side but if you can get a discount I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If its your first visit I would recommend one of the tour buses that allow you to hop on and off. You get to see a lot of the city and can pick and choose which stops you want to get on and off of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chris77
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Fairmont Getaway

Already needing to be in SF, we added a few days at the front end to stay at one of the most relaxing, centrally located and beautiful hotels in the city. The bay views are phenomenal and the breakfast buffet was worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gary Danko- an amazing meal that's a $10 cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annual Xmas City Stay
Business
San Francisco
Dec 19, 2011

Great hotel for the holidays

The 2-story gingerbread house was a hit with our 2 kids. Like the close proximity to Union Sq. If you are walking, the uphill hike to get back to the hotel is the price you pay for its views. Surprised there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Holiday Ice Rink at Union Sq. books up early, so be sure to go online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ariangar
Business
Turlock, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Holiday trip

Very nice hotel. Staff seemed frazzled and too busy to help without being asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marisela
Business
Fairfield ca
Jan 2, 2012

fantastic

would stay here anytime and recomment it to all my friends. the view and location where outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola99
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

A new tradition for the holidays

I am from Berkeley and always wanted to stay at the Fairmont. It lived up to my expectations and then some, we had a great stay in our standard room which was very spacious, comfortable and lush. Valet was pricey ($54 for 24 hrs, slight discount for my hybrid to $48) but apart from that it was exactly what you would expect from a high quality hotel. The Fairmont gets very dressed up for the holidays--complete with humongous tree and a lifesize gingerbread house--very festive and stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission has some incredible dining experiences to offer. It is s decent cab ride, but well worth it. Try: Foreign Cinema, Delfina, Andalu, Range & Gracias Madre for dinner. Mission Beach Cafe, Bar Tartine for brunch; Tartine Bakery for pastries and grilled sandwiches. BiRite creamery for the best ice cream...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlyboyMN
Business
Edina, MN, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Lovely Visit

We stayed the first week of the year and things were pretty quiet except for the disassembly of the ginger bread house. Beautiful hotel with excellent service. Visited the Tonga Room to discover I am not a Mai Tai fan however the happy hour food, servers and environment was great. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebML
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

mother - daughter trip

This was a fantastic trip! The hotel is beautiful and the beds heavenly! It was a quick weekend trip so my daughter could audition for a graduate school program for Opera performance. The location to the music studio was perfect. and we had a blast exploring S.F. The ONLY downside for me was NO coffee maker in the room. I had expected that complimentary coffee would be a no brainer at such a nice hotel. I felt nickel and dimed having to pay $8 for a cup of coffee in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make a reservation at the Tonga Room!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljpm2002
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Hotel

Beautiful location, and great staff. Everyone was very attentive and polite. The room was very good sized (two queens) and the bathroom and closet could have been rooms by themselves! The only drawback is that the hotel is on top of a steep hill so the walk to it is quite a workout. Taking the cable car is a great option b/c it stops right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ2011
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 17, 2012

Very nice hotel, not the best location

We stayed in the tower to have the newer bathrooms with the separate shower. The bathroom toiletries were good quality, so they are worth trying! It was one of the most comfortable beds I have been in. We got a smoking room since it was much cheaper, and there was a strong smell when we got on the floor, but the room wasn't too bad. It would have been better if the windows opened and we could air it out, though. We did a LOT of walking up & down the hills, so if you are out of shape you will have to rely heavily on the cable cars to get around. The location was nice because it was centrally located, but it seemed a little far from everything. Overall a nice hotel and a very comfortable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to walk to & from Market St, go to Powell instead of Mason since it is a lot less steep! Also, the cable car/muni pass is well worth it. We paid $27 for a 7 day pass (even though we were only there for 4 full days), and it definitely paid for itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top