$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donnie Big
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 28, 2014

great escape

from check in to check out, staff was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. this is the benchmark for 5 star htoels in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TFJ4
Family
Santa Barbara, CA
Mar 31, 2014

Was perfect!

everything was great. service, food, decor, convenience. can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayor1
Couples
Eureka
Feb 24, 2014

Fantastic hotel

We arrived st the Fairmont, were greeted and escorted into the lobby. The Fairmont is a grand Hotel of the 'old School' and the lobby is stunning. After quick check- in we were taken to our room ( exterior, king) on third floor. Because the price was so reasonable, for San Francisco, I did not expect the absolutely stunning bay view, facing Alcatraz and Coit Tower. Truly stunning! Third floor was entirely renovated and beautifully appointed. I travel with a service dog , well trained and the staff were very charming and accepting. The Fairmont, with its rich history, beautiful architecture, stunning views and location atop Nob Hill, is now our favorite hotel as long as they stay affordable !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Get out and travel people
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Feb 21, 2014

Great San Fran Hotel

The hotel was very luxurious and had a nice historic feel. The room was very clean and large. A bit on the expensive side but if you can get a discount I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If its your first visit I would recommend one of the tour buses that allow you to hop on and off. You get to see a lot of the city and can pick and choose which stops you want to get on and off of.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler12014
Couples
Cincinnati, Oh
Jan 15, 2014

Great location

Can't beat the history or location of this beautiful hotel. Room was clean, well furnished, everything was in working order. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Tonga Room is a unique and fun experience. Did not eat at the hotel but the food selection appeared to be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town is so close, go there for a great Dim Sum lunch or snack.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CjLyons
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 18, 2013

Fans of Fairmont

After spending a week at the Chicago Fairmont, we were looking forward to our stay at the San Francisco Fairmont. We were NOT disappointed! This is a 5-star hotel and the flagship of the Fairmont properties. It is stunningly gorgeous, staff is excellent, room was clean and oh so comfortable. We loved spending our 25th anniversary here and will be back. The only thing to know is that it's not as close to Union Square as we would have liked. Cafes, restaurants, shopping is in Union Square and there are none in walking distance from the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable car!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned hotel guy
Family
San Fransisco, Ca
Sep 30, 2013

Fairmont

1st class hotel with beautiful lobby, cool tonga room, and spacious room. Great bedding, nice tv, but needed bathroom fan and bathroom was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

R & G lounge is walking distance (grant st.) and has great Chinese food. Salt and pepper garlic crab!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. Kevin
Business
Arizona
Sep 9, 2013

outstanding decor and service to match

helpful and friendly staff Very good meeting location. Excellent views from tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller 88
Couples
S.F.
Sep 5, 2013

Classic spot!!

Can't get much better in S.F.!!! Very nice hotel with great room service. Tiki bar was closed however. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PVMcC
Couples
Minnesota
Jul 30, 2013

As good as hoped for

Charming place. Old, reserved, in the middle of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top