$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chingon
Business
San Diego
Sep 27, 2011

Fantastic family getaway NAH!!!!

I can't find any word to describe my experience. There is funky smell to the hallway heading to my room and straggled to enter my room I guess the key slot or the key itself are worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Expect the unexpected and bring more cash.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 27, 2009

A little overpriced

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jul 11, 2010

San Francisco Trip

Hotel is centrally located at the top of the hill and at the intersection of cable car stops. It is a beautiful hotel with lots of history and very large rooms. We got a good rate, which is why we decided to stay here. But, in retrospect I probably would have chosen the Hyatt near Fisherman's Wharf or for a downtown hotel one closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

3 to 4 blocks down Powell street to Union Square - not bad going down, but it is a great big hill coming back!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2009

San Fran Fairmont

This is a classic place to stay in San Fran as the hotel is filled with much history, but the staff is unfriendly and the hotel is so big that you can easily just become another number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip the lobby bar at the Fairmont and head across the street to the top of the Marc for drinks instead.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVCouple
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 8, 2009

Fairmont--only fair

The hotel is beautiful and historic; public areas are elegant, and the view from our room was spectacular. Efficiency and friendliness of staff was hit or miss...Check-in was smooth and easy, and housekeepers were diligent and accommodating. However, several times the concierges on duty were doing paperwork or on the phone and couldn't be bothered making eye contact as we stood at the desk waiting for some sign that they'd attend to us. The hosts at the restaurants and the staff in the shops were standoffish. Our room was spotless; the bed was luxurious; the shower was fantastic. But there were a few small things about the room that detracted from our stay--nothing we'd even mention at a lesser property, but this is is the San Francisco Fairmont, so expectations run high. Among the little annoyances: 1) No coffeemaker in the room. And the coffee bar in the lobby closes ridiculously early. The front desk clerk explained that the hotel thought it would be "better" for guests if the hotel provided coffee or tea to the room. Translation: Without coffee-makers in the room, exorbitant room service is the only option. 2) The in-room safe didn't work. We called to report this as soon as we noticed it and were promised someone was on the way up to fix it. Two more phone calls and an hour later we finally left the room without being able to lock away our laptops. The safe was fixed when we returned later, but still... 3) The TV took too long to warm up and as long as ten seconds to change from one channel to the next. Antiquated and irritating satellite system. Our most annoying experience: The concierge directed us to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The computer is in a hallway--one must stand at a kiosk while using it; nowhere to rest purse or packages or pen and paper. You must swipe a credit card to use the computer; for $3, you get 5 minutes. Sounds like enough time, but the computer and printer are so slow and cranky that if you hesitate at all, you'll run out of time. In our case, the boarding passes that printed out were illegible--no toner in the printer!!--and we had to have someone at the front desk reprint them for us; the person who did this told us that we could have just asked the concierge to print the passes, as lots of guests do. If that's the case, we asked, why did the concierge send us to the rickety computer at the kiosk??? In general, the staff we encountered were too often indifferent--not gracious or smiling or friendly enough. As elegant as the hotel looks, we found the overall experience a little disappointing. The Fairmont is lovely to look at, but world class? Hardly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral, a block from the hotel, is a wonder!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bozo666
Business
Pittsburg,Ca
Jun 24, 2014

25th Anniversary

My husband and I chose the Fairmont Hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we drove up to Fairmont's doorstep, we did not know (because of so many cars in driveway) that we could simply drop the car off and and let the staff park our car. We ended up driving around until we found an off site garage. Then we lugged our bag, thank god, only a few blocks to the hotel. After registering we found our room but the door did not have a standard card key insert because there wasn't one. We've been to many hotels but this was the first time we had to scan our key card. It would have been better to have someone at the lobby inform us of that. Once inside, our room was nice and big but the view of the bay was so-so. We were on the second floor and had a multi floor building next store very close to us obstructing our view. I would have expected better for the $500.00 a night we paid. The first thing I did after a quick check around the room was notice the clock on the nitestand. It said 11:00 A.M., odd since the Fairmont check-in time is 3:00 P.M. I picked it up to find that it was a cheap wind-up and it didn'twork. We were told our room was recently remodeled but we couldn't tell . The sound coming from a party being held downstairs was very noisy it was hard to get to sleep.The T.V. remote was sluggish, it needed alot of TLC to get it to react, that's probably why the T.V. check out system didn't work. We also couldn't believe the minibar did not keep the water bottles inside cold. All and all the best part was the staff we saw looking for the Tonga room, they were great, very cheerful and helpful. I wouldn't stay at the Fairmont again, for the price I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Big Hotel

The Fairmont is an interesting hotel--if you like large properties this is the place to stay. I found it too big with tons of people milling around the lobby. They also have a new wing of rooms, which we found were not to our liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler12014
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Jan 15, 2014

Great location

Can't beat the history or location of this beautiful hotel. Room was clean, well furnished, everything was in working order. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Tonga Room is a unique and fun experience. Did not eat at the hotel but the food selection appeared to be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town is so close, go there for a great Dim Sum lunch or snack.

Back to menu Return to top