$449 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heat seeking traveller
Alberta, Canada
Jul 6, 2013

Just lounging in the lap of luxury

Check in was quick and easy with car and bell service being prompt and personable. Once in we were able to walk to dinner nearby and hop the trolley cars in all directions conveniently. Room service was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a coffee shop on the "P" floor at the back of the hotel with a good breakfast menu which is much less than that available in the hotel. If you looking for a coffee and light breakfast this is a good alternative.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Business
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AYD79
Business
Westwood, CA
Sep 5, 2014

Perfect

Perfect in every way. Service was just amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Tessa
Business
Bay Area, San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Great Couple Getaway

King room was fantastic. Super clean and the room service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Tessa
Business
Bay Area, San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing

Doesn't get much better, and the room service is fantasic :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bozo666
Business
Pittsburg,Ca
Jun 24, 2014

25th Anniversary

My husband and I chose the Fairmont Hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we drove up to Fairmont's doorstep, we did not know (because of so many cars in driveway) that we could simply drop the car off and and let the staff park our car. We ended up driving around until we found an off site garage. Then we lugged our bag, thank god, only a few blocks to the hotel. After registering we found our room but the door did not have a standard card key insert because there wasn't one. We've been to many hotels but this was the first time we had to scan our key card. It would have been better to have someone at the lobby inform us of that. Once inside, our room was nice and big but the view of the bay was so-so. We were on the second floor and had a multi floor building next store very close to us obstructing our view. I would have expected better for the $500.00 a night we paid. The first thing I did after a quick check around the room was notice the clock on the nitestand. It said 11:00 A.M., odd since the Fairmont check-in time is 3:00 P.M. I picked it up to find that it was a cheap wind-up and it didn'twork. We were told our room was recently remodeled but we couldn't tell . The sound coming from a party being held downstairs was very noisy it was hard to get to sleep.The T.V. remote was sluggish, it needed alot of TLC to get it to react, that's probably why the T.V. check out system didn't work. We also couldn't believe the minibar did not keep the water bottles inside cold. All and all the best part was the staff we saw looking for the Tonga room, they were great, very cheerful and helpful. I wouldn't stay at the Fairmont again, for the price I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evor C
Business
Danville, CA
May 29, 2014

Great value on the right dates

Walking into the Fairmont Nob Hill, your stresses seem to melt away. Staffing, ambience, room comforts, etc., all match up to a very great experience! Use non-prime days to get REALLY great deals at this 5-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down to chinatown if you want a superb meal for under $10.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillaryromy
Business
Los angeles
May 28, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are pretty and cozy and make for a wonderful weekend getaway. The only downside is that walking back to the hotel from Union Square is all uphill, so for people who are out of shape, it is quite the workout. My only complaint is that the cleaning lady threw out two bottles of water that we had in the room, so I was forced to purchase the water in the mini bar for $8.70 (rip off) because it was too late to go find a Walgreens and I was so thirsty after that long walk back to the hotel. Otherwise, it is was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will Somm
Business
Washington D.C.
May 5, 2014

Nob Hill Perfection

From the moment we pulled up to the panoramic views of the bay area and city we were floored. The concierge was incredibly helpful and aside from the lack of free WiFi access everything else was perfect. As far as the hotel food goes...avoid the Tonga room. Its a total tourist trip where the prices don't even come close to the quality of the food or service. Total waste of money unless you are with kids. Also it books up quickly so make a reservation. Next time I stay in San Francisco on business I will definitely be staying back at the fairmont as it is the best hotel dollar for dollar if you prefer the finer things in life. My girlfriend and I overall loved it. Thanks again for a great night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are celebrating or looking for a great meal or wine list check out The Boulevard or RN74. Both are a 5 minute cab ride from the hotel and were incredibly unpretentious for the quality of service and food we received.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donnie Big
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 28, 2014

great escape

from check in to check out, staff was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. this is the benchmark for 5 star htoels in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top