$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evor C
Business
Danville, CA
May 29, 2014

Great value on the right dates

Walking into the Fairmont Nob Hill, your stresses seem to melt away. Staffing, ambience, room comforts, etc., all match up to a very great experience! Use non-prime days to get REALLY great deals at this 5-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down to chinatown if you want a superb meal for under $10.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KATS CROSSING
Family
MERCED,CA
May 20, 2009

TRUE FIRST CLASS HOTEL EXPERIENCE

THIS WAS AN UNSCHEDULED DIVERSION AS OUR DAUGHTER REQUIRED HOSPITALIZATION UNEXPECTEDLY IN THE CITY. ORBITZ HAD AN INCREDIBLE DEAL ON ONE OF SAN FRANSISCOS' PREMIER HOTELS. IT WAS A TRUE REFUGE FROM THE STRESS ENDURED THROUGHOUT THE WEEK. FROM THE VALET TO THE FRONT DESK ALL THE WAY THROUGH ROOM SERVICE IMPECABLE SERVICE AND GENUINE DESIRE FOR THE GUEST TO FEEL WELCOME AND RELAX. I CAN'T WAIT TO SNEAK AWAY WITH THE WIFE, AND RETURN TO OUR NEW SANCTUARY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

TONGA....DON'T MISS THE EXPERIENCE

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Housewife of Three
Family
Redding, CA
May 16, 2009

Friendly and lovely placeto be

There is a nice park one block from the hotel for kids to play. The cable car is out the front door to ride on down the long steep hills. There is a couple of restrants in walking distances and down hill (walking shoes required) with great pizza! The room service was great with hot food and in a timely manner. We enjoyed it like other S.F. hotel (5 star ones), relaxing and the staff was good with kids. The rooms a very large compare to other S.F. hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The GPS in your car might not take take you to the hotel but to the Presideo, so check with MapQuest or get others for directions to find the hotel before leaving your home.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVCouple
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
May 8, 2009

Fairmont--only fair

The hotel is beautiful and historic; public areas are elegant, and the view from our room was spectacular. Efficiency and friendliness of staff was hit or miss...Check-in was smooth and easy, and housekeepers were diligent and accommodating. However, several times the concierges on duty were doing paperwork or on the phone and couldn't be bothered making eye contact as we stood at the desk waiting for some sign that they'd attend to us. The hosts at the restaurants and the staff in the shops were standoffish. Our room was spotless; the bed was luxurious; the shower was fantastic. But there were a few small things about the room that detracted from our stay--nothing we'd even mention at a lesser property, but this is is the San Francisco Fairmont, so expectations run high. Among the little annoyances: 1) No coffeemaker in the room. And the coffee bar in the lobby closes ridiculously early. The front desk clerk explained that the hotel thought it would be "better" for guests if the hotel provided coffee or tea to the room. Translation: Without coffee-makers in the room, exorbitant room service is the only option. 2) The in-room safe didn't work. We called to report this as soon as we noticed it and were promised someone was on the way up to fix it. Two more phone calls and an hour later we finally left the room without being able to lock away our laptops. The safe was fixed when we returned later, but still... 3) The TV took too long to warm up and as long as ten seconds to change from one channel to the next. Antiquated and irritating satellite system. Our most annoying experience: The concierge directed us to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The computer is in a hallway--one must stand at a kiosk while using it; nowhere to rest purse or packages or pen and paper. You must swipe a credit card to use the computer; for $3, you get 5 minutes. Sounds like enough time, but the computer and printer are so slow and cranky that if you hesitate at all, you'll run out of time. In our case, the boarding passes that printed out were illegible--no toner in the printer!!--and we had to have someone at the front desk reprint them for us; the person who did this told us that we could have just asked the concierge to print the passes, as lots of guests do. If that's the case, we asked, why did the concierge send us to the rickety computer at the kiosk??? In general, the staff we encountered were too often indifferent--not gracious or smiling or friendly enough. As elegant as the hotel looks, we found the overall experience a little disappointing. The Fairmont is lovely to look at, but world class? Hardly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral, a block from the hotel, is a wonder!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cozy Canucks
Couples
Calgary, AB
Apr 22, 2009

Amazing!

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even upgraded our suite upon check-in. Our room was well appointed and the view was amazing. The fitness centre is definitely worth a look, although there is no pool or steam room. Late night dining options are limited unless you want to go to the Tonga Room. The final climb to walk to the hotel will leave you breathless, but the location is central to dining and shopping and close to the Muni or BART. We had a fantastic trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

North Beach had the most amazing sidewalk cafes and pizzarias (at a reasonable price). The hotel staff recommended a great sushi place a few blocks away, but we found the Nob Hill Cafe they recommended pricey and underseasoned.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pastor of ABC
Couples
Richmond, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Classic San Francisco Landmark

My wife and I celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary by staying at the Fairmont. We live in the East Bay, accross the bay from San Francisco, so we have visited "the city by the bay" many times and it has been our dream to stay at the historical Fairmont Hotel. We were not disappointed! The entire staff were so helpful. They made our anniversary getaway an event to remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dalebert
Couples
austin,tx
Apr 22, 2009

Beautiful ,historic hotel

We love this Fairmont---have stayed here before--we were upgraded to a room in the tower--on 11 floor one night--the 20th floor the second night---then the 21st floor when we returned for another night!!!We are members of the president's club--it's free!!---Our view was of the bay---and the golden gate bridge---nice,large bathrooms---comfortable beds---and for the price we had--I LOVE good deals!!-and we loved the bar for night caps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Apr 22, 2009

Classic older hotel in iconic location

I have never been very fond of the business hotels in which I have stayed in San Francisco. This classic old hotel has been updated, was wonderfully comfortable and located on Nob Hill rather than in the more commercial financial district or Union Square areas. We easily walked and cabbed to dinner, the theatre and some traditional tourist locations. It was really just a lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newburyport, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Grand Old Hotel

A gorgeous, old world style lobby set the tone for a wonderful stay. When we asked that the mattress be flipped over because we found the new 'pillow top' type made for a too warm, uncomfortable night's sleep the matress was quickly changed and a note left wishing us a good night's sleep. There was coffee and tea in the lobby for early risers, 5 to 7 a.m. The Fairmont's location was absolutely perfect - with all three cable car lines passing by the hotel and many neighborhoods within easy walking distance and mostly downhill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Muni pass and ride the cable cars and trolleys when going from one part of the city to another. A three day pass costs $18, whereas a one-way cable car ride now costs $5. There is a booth selling the Muni Pass at the Powell and Market Street cable car turnaround point.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oregon City
Oct 20, 2008

Luxe on Nob Hill

The old elegance and charm are sparkling in the entry way and lobby from the moment you walk up the short stairs on red carpet. Staff are friendly and helpful from doormen to bell captains and excellent strong coffee served very early in the morning in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A scenic seven block walk downhill leads to an assortment of North Beach eateries, many with sidewalk cafe charm; varied menus and many interesting people to watch.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

Not worth the money

The hotel is just so so. Sone hotel staffs were neither patient nor polite. I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to SF cable car.

Back to menu Return to top