$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oatleyr
Business
Miami
Jun 19, 2009

Gorgeous hotel, fantastic value

Orbitz offered an unbelievable rate ($129!) for this world-class, historic yet updated, beautiful, prestigious hotel. The room was gorgeous and exquisitely appointed, the service warm and solicitous, and the on-site amenities unique (try the historic Laurel Court afternoon tea) and top-notch. At the Orbitz-offered rate, this has to have been the greatest hotel value of all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try afternoon tea in the Laurel Court -- delicious, gracious, relaxing and ample enough to substitute for either lunch or supper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Voorhees, New Jersey
Jun 15, 2009

Fairmont San Francisco

I loved the hotel and felt lucky to have the Orbitz benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga, Ca.
Jun 15, 2009

Very nice hotel!

We enjoyed Fairmont very much, very elegant. The hall ways were wide and lighted, ( a plus) and the room were very classic and beautiful. The furnishings were very up dated and classy! Very comfortable bed and lovely linens. The T.V.. was large and the room was large enough for the 2 of us. We will come here again. Also let us have a late check out of 1:00. The restaurant, Tonga Room was excellent! food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to downtown and Chinatown. You can park elsewhere in the city if you do not want to pay the high fee for hotel/Valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jun 13, 2009

Beautiful hotel,HORRIBLE food prices

The hotel itself is beautiful. The scenery is spectactular. We left the drapes open all night, just to take one more peek as we would awaken during the night. However, food prices were astronomical $13.00 for one pastry, $27.00 each for continental breakfast??? We've had complimentary bottled waters at much lower class hotels. Fairmont charges $5.45 each a peice for an 18 oz bottled water. Also, not posted, is the $57.00 nightly valet parking (not including tip). The hotel may offer some discounted rates, but makes up for it over and above on everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful Seafood grill, (Tadich) about 6-7 blocks down on California street. A bit of a walk up and down a major hill (don't wear heels, ladies).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 11, 2009

A Wonderful Choice

My wife and I have stayed at other hotels in San Francisco. Even though The Fairmont San Francisco is not in the center of the downtown area, where we had stayed previously, we didn't mind the extra walk to reach the Union Square area. The hotel made up for its slightly "out of the way" location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, WA
Jun 8, 2009

Wonderful Hotel

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were always making sure that we were taken care of, whether it was directions, or places to go while we were there. They made a wonderful trip even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patsellstile
Business
denver
Jun 5, 2009

almost perfect un

professional check-in, great view, fine bedding and room appointments. historical property with a dramatic lobby. way overpriced food and beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County CA
Jun 2, 2009

Elegant and Classic Hotel

entirely fabulous in every way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldy Di
Business
carson city, nv
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Getaway

I had no idea when I booked this hotel just what I was in for. Not only was the hotel fantastic it was in a perfect location for all the activities we were looking forward to. It far exceeded any expectations I had. The staff was very helpful and personable. The hotel was the most beautiful place that I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were very excited to find that the cable cars were a short walk from the hotel. Also the shopping was in the same location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Piece of History

Wonderful old hotel, nicely restored. Staff eager to please and well informed. Nob Hill is excellent location for vacation travelers, and doorman is quick to offer hotel limo to get to nearby restaurants, etc. But having to pay for web access is silly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top