$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. Kevin
Business
Arizona
Sep 9, 2013

outstanding decor and service to match

helpful and friendly staff Very good meeting location. Excellent views from tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Jose
Jun 13, 2009

Beautiful hotel,HORRIBLE food prices

The hotel itself is beautiful. The scenery is spectactular. We left the drapes open all night, just to take one more peek as we would awaken during the night. However, food prices were astronomical $13.00 for one pastry, $27.00 each for continental breakfast??? We've had complimentary bottled waters at much lower class hotels. Fairmont charges $5.45 each a peice for an 18 oz bottled water. Also, not posted, is the $57.00 nightly valet parking (not including tip). The hotel may offer some discounted rates, but makes up for it over and above on everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful Seafood grill, (Tadich) about 6-7 blocks down on California street. A bit of a walk up and down a major hill (don't wear heels, ladies).

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Jun 11, 2009

A Wonderful Choice

My wife and I have stayed at other hotels in San Francisco. Even though The Fairmont San Francisco is not in the center of the downtown area, where we had stayed previously, we didn't mind the extra walk to reach the Union Square area. The hotel made up for its slightly "out of the way" location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kirkland, WA
Jun 8, 2009

Wonderful Hotel

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were always making sure that we were taken care of, whether it was directions, or places to go while we were there. They made a wonderful trip even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patsellstile
Couples
denver
Jun 5, 2009

almost perfect un

professional check-in, great view, fine bedding and room appointments. historical property with a dramatic lobby. way overpriced food and beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange County CA
Jun 2, 2009

Elegant and Classic Hotel

entirely fabulous in every way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldy Di
Friends
carson city, nv
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Getaway

I had no idea when I booked this hotel just what I was in for. Not only was the hotel fantastic it was in a perfect location for all the activities we were looking forward to. It far exceeded any expectations I had. The staff was very helpful and personable. The hotel was the most beautiful place that I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were very excited to find that the cable cars were a short walk from the hotel. Also the shopping was in the same location.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta
Jun 2, 2009

An Elegant Piece of History

Wonderful old hotel, nicely restored. Staff eager to please and well informed. Nob Hill is excellent location for vacation travelers, and doorman is quick to offer hotel limo to get to nearby restaurants, etc. But having to pay for web access is silly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katy G.
Couples
Greenville SC
Jun 2, 2009

The finest!!!

We were in town for a wedding. The hotel staff could not be more professional and accomodating. The rooms so tasteful/beautiful/spacious (we were in the tower). The breakfast buffet was unbelievable. The Fairmont treats you as if they really want you to be their guest and it is such a pleasure to stay with them. Location was great too. Definitely recommend staying with them and we certainly would go there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take Mr. Toad's tours... it was great information and fun. also, we drove over to Tiburon and that was wonderful. the Conceirge at the hotel is very helpful on restaurants/ and maps etc.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleenrae
Friends
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2009

Worth the drive up Nob Hill!

The Fairmont is a must for anyone visiting San Francisco. At the top of Nob Hill, the views are spectacular! The hotel itself is gorgeous - marble and gold, classic! The rooms and closet are oversized - huge! A treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Reno, NV
May 21, 2009

San Francisco Birthday

Great upgrade when checking in. Got the city view since I was only there one night (a very short trip for me) what a rewarding sight! Would have taken the Bay view had I been there acouple more days, but I was greatly pleased. Staff was very friendly and helpful. And if you are a history buff, there is much here to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top