$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller 88
Couples
S.F.
Sep 5, 2013

Classic spot!!

Can't get much better in S.F.!!! Very nice hotel with great room service. Tiki bar was closed however. Good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Jul 23, 2009

Great value for luxury accommodations!

We loved the beautiful building, the service was very good and the location was great. The clerk at the desk even commented on the great rate we got through Orbitz! The trolley clanged outside our window but we found it charming and it stopped at midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring a good city map. We wandered around for a long time trying to find a restaurant recommended by the desk clerk and ended up at a mediocre restaurant in Chinatown. A travesty in San Francisco, known for its excellent restaurants.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R&R mom
Business
mira loma, ca
Jul 20, 2009

fun city

Everything you need right at your feet. They only thing parking is so hard to find. The hotel offers parking for $50 a day, to much if you ask me. There is parking on the side of the hotel that they don't tell you about. You pay $10 and could stay until evening and by then you could park on the street without getting a ticket. The hotel is very nice. FYI the Tonga lounge does not open Monday and Tuesday. The other restaurant has ok dinner, you might want to go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Jul 19, 2009

Only one disappointment

Gorgeous hotel, and rate comparable to other SF hotels that are not nearly as grand. Only disappointment was that bar at top of hotel with spectacular view of the bay and city was closed eight years ago and no longer available to the public except for special functions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boulevard restaurant was superb.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York
Jul 19, 2009

Fairmont Hotel

It was wonderful! The Fairmont Hotel will not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tampa, FL
Jul 16, 2009

A dream of an overnight stay

Was there a pool? My husband said he didn't think so. I saw a fitness class in progress, but it looked like it may have cost extra. I didn't see any fitness equipment. Walking the hills of San Francisco convinced me that I didn't need a stair climber for exercise! The hotel was absolutely GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of the Mark was a delightful place for a nightcap, but it closed so early on a Monday night.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston
Jun 29, 2009

Elegant and relaxing

Beautiful hotel. Small room in older section but still elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oatleyr
Single
Miami
Jun 19, 2009

Gorgeous hotel, fantastic value

Orbitz offered an unbelievable rate ($129!) for this world-class, historic yet updated, beautiful, prestigious hotel. The room was gorgeous and exquisitely appointed, the service warm and solicitous, and the on-site amenities unique (try the historic Laurel Court afternoon tea) and top-notch. At the Orbitz-offered rate, this has to have been the greatest hotel value of all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try afternoon tea in the Laurel Court -- delicious, gracious, relaxing and ample enough to substitute for either lunch or supper

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Voorhees, New Jersey
Jun 15, 2009

Fairmont San Francisco

I loved the hotel and felt lucky to have the Orbitz benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Saratoga, Ca.
Jun 15, 2009

Very nice hotel!

We enjoyed Fairmont very much, very elegant. The hall ways were wide and lighted, ( a plus) and the room were very classic and beautiful. The furnishings were very up dated and classy! Very comfortable bed and lovely linens. The T.V.. was large and the room was large enough for the 2 of us. We will come here again. Also let us have a late check out of 1:00. The restaurant, Tonga Room was excellent! food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to downtown and Chinatown. You can park elsewhere in the city if you do not want to pay the high fee for hotel/Valet parking.

Back to menu Return to top