$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PVMcC
Minnesota
Jul 30, 2013

As good as hoped for

Charming place. Old, reserved, in the middle of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2009

A beautiful hotel with not so attractive

We were surpised upon arrival that the hotel was beautiful and we were upgraded to a tower room without even asking. We heard the Tonga restaurant was good so we checked that out. Service there was poor and the food was cold and not very good. We then awoke to a bill slid under the room door informing us that parking was $60 per night! There is no sign or anything posted to inform you of this outrageous charge outside (or inside) the hotel. The staff merely said "there was nothing they could do."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Aug 5, 2009

Thank You, Orbitz!

We booked this hotel through Orbitz during a sale, and got a great rate on the room. We were celebrating our 25 anniversary, and when I mentioned that at check-in, the hotel staff upgraded our room because it was such a special occasion. We had a beautiful balcony suite with a spectacular view of the city, at a beautiful historic hotel for an Orbitz sale price. Best anniversary gift ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
filirican
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 31, 2009

Great place!!!

The hotel was perfectly located. Half way from Fisherman's Wharf and Market Square. What I liked about this hotel was that there was a UPS store in the hotel. We found a surfboard for our son and had it shipped to him. So do a bunch of shopping and have it shipped home instead of carrying it with you on the plane!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The cable cars get very busy during the day. If you just want to ride them, do it early. Get the three day or seven day pass and ride all you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 27, 2009

A little overpriced

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 23, 2009

Great value for luxury accommodations!

We loved the beautiful building, the service was very good and the location was great. The clerk at the desk even commented on the great rate we got through Orbitz! The trolley clanged outside our window but we found it charming and it stopped at midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring a good city map. We wandered around for a long time trying to find a restaurant recommended by the desk clerk and ended up at a mediocre restaurant in Chinatown. A travesty in San Francisco, known for its excellent restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R&R mom
Business
mira loma, ca
Jul 20, 2009

fun city

Everything you need right at your feet. They only thing parking is so hard to find. The hotel offers parking for $50 a day, to much if you ask me. There is parking on the side of the hotel that they don't tell you about. You pay $10 and could stay until evening and by then you could park on the street without getting a ticket. The hotel is very nice. FYI the Tonga lounge does not open Monday and Tuesday. The other restaurant has ok dinner, you might want to go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 19, 2009

Only one disappointment

Gorgeous hotel, and rate comparable to other SF hotels that are not nearly as grand. Only disappointment was that bar at top of hotel with spectacular view of the bay and city was closed eight years ago and no longer available to the public except for special functions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boulevard restaurant was superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 19, 2009

Fairmont Hotel

It was wonderful! The Fairmont Hotel will not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 16, 2009

A dream of an overnight stay

Was there a pool? My husband said he didn't think so. I saw a fitness class in progress, but it looked like it may have cost extra. I didn't see any fitness equipment. Walking the hills of San Francisco convinced me that I didn't need a stair climber for exercise! The hotel was absolutely GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Top of the Mark was a delightful place for a nightcap, but it closed so early on a Monday night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

Nice, but fading

Service wasn't what we expected (forgot to leave new towels when old ones removed; one tiny soap bar for entire visit, despite a request; maid removed newspapers we wanted to take with us); Contrary to the Orbitz billing, wifi wasn't included in our rate (although it was free to any member of the Fairmont Presidents Club). And think twice about the Nob Hill location -- nice views, but it's a long trip down a very steep hill to go anywhere else in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palio d'Asti at Sacramento and Montgomery was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top