$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. Kevin
Business
Arizona
Sep 9, 2013

outstanding decor and service to match

helpful and friendly staff Very good meeting location. Excellent views from tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation Valerie
Business
New Orleans,La
Oct 26, 2009

Experience San Francisco-past and future

The hotel is absolutely fabulous. The entrance is so extraordinary. After learning about the history of the hotel, it makes you appreciate it even futher. Large, spacious rooms with excellent staff. I would not stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farnick
Business
Arlington, VA
Oct 24, 2009

Good reliable Fairmont!

The venerable Fairmont is the class of SF. Views from the top of Nob Hill are spectacular, but it's not the most convenient place to walk about and find shopping or restaurants without hikes up incredibly steep hills. Use the cable cars (that's why they're there!) or drive. The hotel is gorgeous and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is excellent but pricey ($38 w/ tax), and the Tonga room should not be missed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All activities will require hikes up the incredibly steep Nob Hill -- best to spend the $5 for the cable cars! -- and there are no other restaurants or shopping within a short walk. If you're not physically fit, you'll need a car. But the views are spectacular, and the Fairmont SF is truly a classy place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2009

San Fran Fairmont

This is a classic place to stay in San Fran as the hotel is filled with much history, but the staff is unfriendly and the hotel is so big that you can easily just become another number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Skip the lobby bar at the Fairmont and head across the street to the top of the Marc for drinks instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Area Local
Business
Concord, CA
Oct 6, 2009

First stay at the Fairmont

I was there for a short visit but recieved first class treatment from the staff. The rooms and the furniture is a little old and somewhat worn but it adds to the charm of the hotel. You really can't get a better view of the bay and the downtown area than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento CA
Oct 6, 2009

Sept 09 Review

Overall, the hotel was very nice. However, we were able to hear noise in the hallway all night when people were walking down the hall and opening and closing their doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam's Trip
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 17, 2009

San Francisco Trip

All the staff were friendly and professional as well as helpful with any questions we had. The arranged for a rental car with directions to our desired locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sawyer mom
Business
Chicago
Aug 20, 2009

San francisco fairmont

Good place and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth Allegra
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 20, 2009

So amazing!!!

The Fairmont Hotel was amazing. We had a wonderful time and the room had a beautiful view and was so big!!! Nothing bad to say and we can't wait to come back!! Everyone should be so lucky to stay at the Fairmont in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonga Restaurant at the hotel was great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VADUZ23
Business
MIAMI
Aug 17, 2009

RIDICULUS PRICES

GREAT HOTEL, FRIENDLY PEOPLE, BUT THE RIDICULUS PRICES, A BOTTLE OF WATER 8.00, CONTINETAL BREAKFAST FOR TWO PEOPLE $ 70.00 USAD, PARKING 450.00 FOR ONE WEEK, PLEASE GUYS, I FOUND PARKING TWO BLOCKS FROM THE HOTEL FOR 20.00 WITH IN AND OUT PRIVILEGES, ORBITZ SHOULD ADVISE THEIR CLIENTS HOW TO VOID THIS CHARGES, BESIDE THAT GOOD HOTEL, I WILL RETURN TO SAN FRANCISCO, BUT I WILL FIND A PLACE CLOSE TO UNION SQUARE, MUCH BETTER PLACE THAT NOB HILL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2009

A beautiful hotel with not so attractive

We were surpised upon arrival that the hotel was beautiful and we were upgraded to a tower room without even asking. We heard the Tonga restaurant was good so we checked that out. Service there was poor and the food was cold and not very good. We then awoke to a bill slid under the room door informing us that parking was $60 per night! There is no sign or anything posted to inform you of this outrageous charge outside (or inside) the hotel. The staff merely said "there was nothing they could do."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top