$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginaa828
Miami, Fl
Dec 14, 2012

Amazing Stay!

We will definitely stay here again. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was exactly what we needed! Total atmosphere was surreal! Great around the holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining is quite expensive in the hotel! Although food is amazing, will definitely venture off next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danci2
Business
Johnson City, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Old world classy hotel with charm

Staff recommended excellent eateries, took day trip to Napa Valley, Muir Woods, Fisherman's Warf, drove along the coastline to Carmel. The hotel accomodations were comparable to those to our hotel in Nice. The only thing lacking would be a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Muir Woods, the unspoiled beauty of the park is worth the time taken to travel to the see the giant Redwoods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Amazing location and hotel.

Awesome location on top of Nob Hill. Beds were so comfortable, we slept for 12 hours each on 2 nights of our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome breakfast at Roxannes. DO NOT bother eating at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Way too expensive. Ate at E and O trading company too. Asian fusion. Good food. You MUST take a drive to the Marin Headlands for the MOST amazing views of the ocean and SF that you will ever find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parkland, Florida
Feb 21, 2010

3rd Awesome vaca @ the Fairmont!

On a consistent basis, the Fairmont hotels never fail 2 disappoint! As this is our hotel of choice, we try 2 always stay @ the Fairmont if possible. The Fairmont San Francisco is an escape to a long gone era of grandeur and elegance. The hotel captures this elegance, and your entire stay you will feel special. Definitely splurge on the Signature Grand upgraded room or above; definitely worth the extra $$$$. Room was absolutely perfect, location is superior, and concierge could not be more helpful! Cable car stops practically right outside the hotel. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For an 'escape from reality', take the day trip to Yosemite....absolutely amazing! For commuting around the city, purchase the City Pass, which includes unlimited Cable Car/bus/etc trips! The hotel is at the TOP of the hill, therefore walking down the hill is easy, however going back up...well, try the cable car! Found an outstanding breakfast place from Zagat's...Dottie's. U gotta go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
corny reviews
Business
santa rosa beach, fl
Feb 9, 2010

top flight hotel still shines!

Location Location Location paired with old world elegance. what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 30, 2009

great holiday atmosphere

Great location, friendly staff, great atmosphere for the holiday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2009

Fairmont San Francisco

The Fairmont is a beautiful, historic hotel. I had read complaints about the caliber of the staff's service, but there were absolutely no issues during our stay. Terrific hotel and solid staff service made for a great stay. The only concern with the hotel is that the walls between rooms in the main building are thin (this is likely a factor of the hotel's age). That being said, we slept fine all 5 nights we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton , Florida
Nov 23, 2009

Great Friendly meeting place

Great time with friends. Lobby very nice and friendlyu, good breakfast, internet should be free though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harahan, LA
Nov 8, 2009

Super Nice!

Wonderful experience. Room always clean. Very comfortable bed. Nice linens. Large flat screen TV. Quiet. Convient to Trolley Stops. Staff very helpful. Refrigerator stocked with pricey refreshments. Would have preferred a little room for my own purchases. Great view of bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a MUNI pass and jump on and off trolley and busses. Lots of dining nearby, but who wants to walk uphill with a full stomach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoreSanFranPlease
Business
Sterling, VA
Nov 4, 2009

Just a few days but...

Our stay at the Fairmont in San Francisco was a completely excellent experience. The staff, wow! Courteous, knowledgeable, professional and absolutely friendly. Now, on the location, right and the junction of the California and Powell Cable car track. This made it easy to head out to any point of interest in any direction. Finally, let me add that the Fairmont has become our official family hotel for all future visits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green Bay Mark
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Nov 3, 2009

Very nice hotel

The Fairmont is a top rate business hotel with 24 hour room service, very reasonable rates, large well appointed rooms and a great location in San Francisco. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Bay Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top