$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnjean
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 3, 2010

Elegant, but a bit tired

Great location on California St. Easy to catch cable cars or walk downhill to Chinatown and Ferry Building. Our room was very spatious with the largest walkin closet I have ever seen in a hotel. Beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was not spotless and we had no towels or robes upon arrival. A very unfriendly housekeeper told me to call the front desk to get towels. We had a very helpful bellman at the lobby desk who recommended a place to order chinese food for delivery. No coffee or tea in the room so I had to go to the bar downstairs to get tea. Overnight parking was $57.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day or multiple day pass for cable cars and buses. We were able to buy a day pass on the cable car, but you have to have correct change ($13), as they don't take charge cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Grandpa
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Traditional charmer

It was a rare opportunity to stay in a first-rate hotel at a reasonable rate (but the cost of parking is ridiculous). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the clerk offered to call our cell when it was. Our room was in the original building (no free upgrade offered) and was both spacious and comfortable. Everything you want to see in SF is downhill from the Fairmont so the walk out isn't bad, but take a cab back! We were there on a Sunday morning and splurged on the best brunch anywhere, the Top of the Mark (Hopkins) across the street from the hotel. And the view from the restaurant is awesome. Other favorite restaurants: Scoma's at Fisherman's Wharf and Sam Wo in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cable Car Museum is a couple of blocks away and is both interesting and free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 24, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Stay here if you ever come to San Francisco. Polite and helpful staff. The overall experience is one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several great places to eat within walking distance. The best was a little Italian place called Nob Hill Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jul 20, 2010

European luxury in San Francisco

Complete relaxation - the linens were superb. The Laurel Room and lobby are exquisite and of course the location cannot be topped. We had coffee at the garage level where we picked up the cable car. One of the best trips we have had. Loved reading the history of the Fairmont and seeing all the photographs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day or multiple day pass for the cable cars - you will save a bundle. Golden Gate Park is a must see. The museums are great as well as the Japanese Garden and Tea House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 16, 2010

Very good but.....

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. All services were exceptional except for the beds. I reserved two queen beds since there were 4 of us staying and what we got was two double beds and a roll away. This was unsatisfactory but the hotel was booked and I was told there was no other alternative. I would have given a perfect rating if it weren't for this which I felt was very important. The hotel is renovating so we were not able to make use of the mini bar which was an inconvenience. There was no fridge in the room and no bottled water. These were minor inconveniences in comparison to the beautiful surroundings, very friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel and the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had only two days in San Francisco. Plan out your days before arriving. There is so much to do and see, it can be daunting. We wasted a lot of time thinking about where to go and what to see. If you want to tour Alcatraz, book way ahead. Cab drivers overall where great, like tour guides. Cabs are expensive. Cable cars are uncomfortable and unless you are in great shape, walking is difficult with all those hills which seem like mountains. Make a point of getting to Golden Gate Park and the Academy of Sciences. The Tonga Room, surprisingly, was a great spot for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wellington, New Zealand
Jul 12, 2010

Fabulous Hotel, even better service

We were treated so well by the staff at the Fairmont, especially [...] at the front desk. She bent over backwards to extend our stay, made suggestions that really saved us some fund and was able to facilitat our late checkout...a real superstar! The hotel is grandious and lives up to it's first impresssion. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, you must try it at least once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Fairmont President's Club before or when you arrive. You will you not be charged for in-room internet access and phone calls as a result.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jul 11, 2010

San Francisco Trip

Hotel is centrally located at the top of the hill and at the intersection of cable car stops. It is a beautiful hotel with lots of history and very large rooms. We got a good rate, which is why we decided to stay here. But, in retrospect I probably would have chosen the Hyatt near Fisherman's Wharf or for a downtown hotel one closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

3 to 4 blocks down Powell street to Union Square - not bad going down, but it is a great big hill coming back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton
Jul 2, 2010

A Night at the Fairmont

Went to two exhibits, SFMOMA and the De Young. Staff at the Fairmont were great, warm friendly and knowledgeable. They upgraded our room because they were able to fabulous views of the city. One of our best statys in the SF. Had a fabulous dinner at the North Beach Restaurant. A little pricy but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 30, 2010

DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

I was quoted on the phone that parking would be $27.00 per night, but it was actually $57.00 per night.There was NO soap in the bathroom at all, at the sink or in the shower. I called for service and a man delivered ONE small bar. Had to go into shower to get soap, or out of shower. One phone did not work.No coffee in room.[...] I will never pay for a stay with Fairmont again. I had heard such positive comments about it so I thought putting out the extra money would be justified, my mistake. I am SURE regular customers that book with regular agencies get much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top