$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenyth
Couples
falkirk
Jul 10, 2013

Epic

It really is steep butts the summit of nob hill, but this places you in perfect stead for the unbelievable view of the city from up there. The hotel itself is a thing of beauty and anyone interested in history and who get a bang out of a hotel with a bit of a story check out how this temple of a building came into being. The guest history too makes you feel a sense of prestige just loafing around in your luxury quarters with unbelievably comfortable bed. Close to union square and fisherman's wharf too but you might not want to leave your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Jul 24, 2011

As good as it gets

everything was a good as i had hoped. relaxed, great, helpful, accommodating and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fillmore Street. the most interesting and original shopping street i've ever been on.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Branchburg, NJ
Jul 21, 2011

Fairmont Hotel

Beautiful hotel in the old style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do the trolleys in the morning! Too long to wait and to get going at busy times.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 19, 2011

Fairmont Hotel

A Lavish and beautiful hotel. Old world and well maintained. Reminded us of hotels in Rome. Pricey though but worth the splurge. Rooms expensive and a little on the small side. Only negative feedback is that the day we wanted to rent a car, the person at the onsite car rental desk called off sick, so we had to take a cab to the main location. Hotel is nicely situated on Nob hill. Excellent location is close to cable stop that can take you all the way down to Fishermans Wharf for about $6.00 which is also walking distance to pier 39. Expect a long wait for the cable cars but if you get it at off locations like here it is about 20 - 30 min, otherwise you are waiting a couple of hours. Best tour was the Alcatraz audio tour-a must see while in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pleasanton ca
Jun 24, 2011

Great room!

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
fort lauderdale,FL
Feb 14, 2011

Great hotel for the price

The hotel is beautiful reminding one of the european palaces. Our room in the old tower was comfortable and bed was excellent. Service was excellent and the room was cleaned in one hour that we had left the first morning. Unfortunately the dining was a little subpar. My wife had a sea bass for dinner that was overcooked and my sister got a little quesy from the chicken dish. The breakfast was good. Also allows dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For special occasion the Fleur de Lys was excellent. Though we are not high brow French foodies the food was excellent and service great.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penguinking
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 18, 2010

Fairmont San Fran

The hotel is very elegant in a turn of the century fashion. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The best part was that this hotel was about half the price of the other hotels in the area. Getting your hiking boots on because this hotel is at the top of the hill and no matter which direction you come in from, you are walking up a rather steep hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the in hotel breakfast, it is overpriced and isn't anything special.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lakeland, FL
Aug 4, 2010

Fairmont San Francisco

Amazing! Perfect downtown location and the staff were friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnjean
Family
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 3, 2010

Elegant, but a bit tired

Great location on California St. Easy to catch cable cars or walk downhill to Chinatown and Ferry Building. Our room was very spatious with the largest walkin closet I have ever seen in a hotel. Beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was not spotless and we had no towels or robes upon arrival. A very unfriendly housekeeper told me to call the front desk to get towels. We had a very helpful bellman at the lobby desk who recommended a place to order chinese food for delivery. No coffee or tea in the room so I had to go to the bar downstairs to get tea. Overnight parking was $57.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day or multiple day pass for cable cars and buses. We were able to buy a day pass on the cable car, but you have to have correct change ($13), as they don't take charge cards.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty Grandpa
Couples
San Diego, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Traditional charmer

It was a rare opportunity to stay in a first-rate hotel at a reasonable rate (but the cost of parking is ridiculous). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the clerk offered to call our cell when it was. Our room was in the original building (no free upgrade offered) and was both spacious and comfortable. Everything you want to see in SF is downhill from the Fairmont so the walk out isn't bad, but take a cab back! We were there on a Sunday morning and splurged on the best brunch anywhere, the Top of the Mark (Hopkins) across the street from the hotel. And the view from the restaurant is awesome. Other favorite restaurants: Scoma's at Fisherman's Wharf and Sam Wo in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cable Car Museum is a couple of blocks away and is both interesting and free.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lexington, KY
Jul 24, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Stay here if you ever come to San Francisco. Polite and helpful staff. The overall experience is one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several great places to eat within walking distance. The best was a little Italian place called Nob Hill Cafe.

Back to menu Return to top