$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
172 reviews
Perfect

Perfect in every way. Service was just amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased. See full review

  • AYD79
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great Couple Getaway

King room was fantastic. Super clean and the room service was great. See full review

  • Jim Tessa
  • Aug 12, 2014
Historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

This Nob Hill mainstay, dating back to 1907, blends contemporary and historic tastes. Decorative touches such as marble floors and Corinthian columns evoke turn-of-the-century grandeur, while modern conveniences such as high-speed Internet and a full-service fitness center and spa keep travelers grounded in the present. Three well-regarded restaurants offer options for every meal, and the city's oldest Tiki bar provides a break from the formality of the hotel.

Highlights
  • The hilltop location delivers panoramic and breathtaking views of San Francisco Bay
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars right out front
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
  • Valet and self parking are available for an added fee.
Rooms

Accommodations -- 591 rooms, 62 of them suites -- span two buildings: the original, circa-1907 structure and a tower built in the 1960s. Rooms vary in size (325-425 square feet; up to 6,000 for suites), but all come with flat-screen televisions, Frette luxury linens, MP3 docking stations and Miller Harris toiletries. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, while Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award and ExxonMobil Four Star Award.

Marble floors and Corinthian columns trimmed in gold accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area, spruced up in 1999, transports guests back to 1907, when the hotel opened. It may also transport TV fans back to the 1980s: Aaron Spelling's "Hotel" series was shot here.

The United Nations Charter was drafted in the hotel, and even the concierge service is historic. Dating back to 1973, it's the first formal concierge desk in the U.S.

All guests have access (fees apply) to the on-site Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center.

Grab a Mai-Tai at the Tonga Room and Hurricane Bar, a kitschy-but-lovable Tiki lounge on site. On weekend nights, a band on a floating stage serenades patrons with Polynesian tunes .

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
  • The historic Penthouse Suite accommodates 100, and has an outdoor terrace.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are as follow:
  • Valet parking is $56 USD ($65 USD including tax) per night including unlimited access.
  • Self parking is $5 USD every 20 minutes or $15 USD per hour with a daily maximum of $56 USD.
  • Parking fees are subjected to 14% city tax & 1.5% Tourism Improvement District Assessment.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7923 -122.41
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Fairmont San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in the Tower Building. Rooms renovated 2014. Each room also has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs and Keurig coffee maker and tea kettle.
Deluxe Suite
Fairmont Suite - The Fairmont Suite at The Fairmont San Francicso is located on the top guest floor of the Tower Building - offering guests the grandest wrap-around views of the San Francisco City and Bay. It is like litterally sitting on top of the city.
Deluxe Suite
Buckingham Suite - This Main Building Balcony Specialty Suite welcomes you with parquet floored foyer. Leading into a wood - paneled parlor with decorative fireplace and dry bar. The glass-enclosed balcony offers spectacular views of Fairmont Roof Garden.
Deluxe Suite
Cambridge Suite - Residential in style this elegantly furnished suite has an authentic feel to the charming tradition San Francisco offers. Ideal for business meetings and gatherings comfortably accommodating up to 40 people for hospitality.Flat panel tvs
Economy
Moderate Room - cozy and quiet rooms located in the historic main building. Renovated 2014. Moderate Rooms are most appropriate for budget conscious single travellers.All rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs - Keurig coffee maker tea kettle
Standard
Fairmont Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Rooms were renovated 2014. These are medium sized interior rooms that feature high ceilings - interior windows and large closets. Spectacular marble bathrooms - rooms have HD flat panel TVs.
Standard
Fairmont Qn Qn NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 2 Queen beds and Double-size sofa sleeper. Windows that will open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families. HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker - tea kettle.
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 38 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The Entry door peepholes are 43 inches - front door security latch 41 inches
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with-roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches wide. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide. Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches. Front door security latch at 40 inches
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed Strobes built into the wall - Accessible aid kit available upon request - Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm
Deluxe
Deluxe King ADA Grab Bar - Deluxe Rooms renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 48 inches-Front door security latch is 48 inches.
Standard
Fairmont King NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 1 King bed and Double-size sofa sleeper. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs-Keurig coffee maker-tea kettle. windows that open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood.Renovated in 2014
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings - exterior windows. They have a spectacular marble bathroom. Rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Rooms located in the historical 6-story Main Building. Renovated 2014. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings- exterior windows and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. HD flat panel tvs.
Standard
Fairmont Queen ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated in 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Roll in shower - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide. The entry door peepholes are 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 42 inches
Standard
Fairmont Queen Rooms - non-smoking. Newly renovated 2014. These classic guest rooms are located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These rooms feature high ceilings-large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. All rooms feature HD fl
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible - Accessible bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width is 40 inches - Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes are 45 inches - Front door security latch at 41 inches
Suite
Tower Suite ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. King bed with sofa sleeper in living room. Room is wheelchair accessible. Bathtub with grab bars and entry door width is 34 inches. Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide.Entry door peepholes are at 57 inches
Suite
Tower Suite - One or Two Bedrooms Tower Building Suites afford the most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Renovated 2014. Contemporary in design Tower Suites have views from both bedroom and living room with door in between for privacy
Suite
Main Building Balcony Suite - Romantic balcony suite. Renovated 2014. Each suite is comprised of parlor with a double size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy. Each suite is unique in decor.
Suite
Tower Building Two Bedroom Suites - The most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Tower 2-Bedroom Suites are contemporary in design- with 2 bedrooms-living room with sofabed in between. Bedrooms close off from the living room with a door.
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 44 inches-Front door security latch is at 41 inches-Door handles 38 inches.
Suite
Main Building Two Bedroom Suite - Two Bedroom Suites are particularly spacious - comprised of a parlor- a bedroom and bathroom - and a second connecting bedroom with another marble bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a door for privacy.
Suite
Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families.
Suite
Signature Golden Gate Suite - Spectacular panoramic views of the city and Bay and the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. On 12th floor and higher. Newly renovated corner suite with King bed separate parlor with sofa-sleeper marble bath walk-in shower and bathtub.
Suite
Main Building Balcony Two Bedroom Suite - Desirable because of the balcony-each Suite is comprised of parlor-bedroom and one bathroom. Bedroom and living room are separated by a privacy door. Each suite is unique in decor layout and size-updated amenities
Suite
Two Bedroom Signature Golden Gate Suite - Signature Golden Gate Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the city and the Bay plus the Iconic Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. Equipped with telescopes in living room which is separated from the bedroom.
Suite
Two Bedroom Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floors 2-6th - Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Ideal f
Suite
Main Building Suite - One and Two Bedroom Suites. Particularly spacious comprised of a parlor with a queen size sofa sleeper bedroom and one bathroom. Renovated 2014. The bedroom and living room are separated by door for privacy.Suites are unique in decor
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Room have a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have been updated with HD flat panel TVs- Keurig coffee maker.
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs -pillow top beds
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed. Strobes built into the wall Accessible aid kit available upon request. Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Renovated 2014. Telephone vibrating device Kit can be installed - Strobes built into the wall - Accessible Aid Kit available upon request- Kit includes vibrating alarm clock - bed shaker - door knocker and visual alarm.
Superior
Signature King ADA Roll In Shower - Renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible with roll in shower - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide and Entry door peepholes are at 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 41 inches.
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Room was renovated 2014. Room is wheelchair accessible -Bathtub with grab bars - Entry door width 34 inches - Bathroom entrance is 36 inches wide -Entry door peepholes is 44 inches - Front door security latch is at 40 inches
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - Exterior facing rooms located in Tower Building. Renovated 2014. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. Rooms have also been updated with HD flat panel TVs-luxury linens pillow top beds Keurig coffee maker
Deluxe
Deluxe Rooms - located in the tower building with views of the city. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms feature HD flat panel TVs- Luxury linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and Keurig coffee makers. Wired-w
Deluxe Suite
Diplomat Suite - The Diplomatic Suite at The Fairmont San Francisco is located on the 22nd floor of the Tower. Features a fashionable design that includes a spacious bedroom - wet bar - full stereo system - plasma flat screen tv and half bath for guests.
Deluxe Suite
Napoleon Suite - The Napoleon Suite is the perfect home away from home. This apartment style specialty suite has a spacious parlour offering a full kitchen with one bedroom and two bathrooms-contains a washer and dryer. Suite is popular for extended stays
Deluxe Suite
Penthouse Suite - Recently unveiled from a 1.8 million USD restoration the 6000 sq. ft. Extraordinary Penthouse features three large bedrooms - living room with a grand piano formal dining room seating for 60 people. Circular library crowned by a rotunda.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Tonga Room Hurricane Bar
Serving Pacific Rim Comfort Cuisine, Tonga Room has a San Francisco tradition for more than 65 years. Reservations Recommended. For more information visit: www.TongaRoom.com
Afternoon Tea
Served in the Laurel Court Restaurant - afternoon tea has been a tradition for San Franciscans and the guests of our hotel since the opening of the Fairmont San Francisco in 1907. Sat-Sun 1:30PM - 3:30PM Weekday Offerings for parties of 25 ppl or more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iver5
Des Plaines, IL
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely San Francisco stay!

Best hotel! Reminded us of The Drake back in Chicago. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of The Mark Hotel for lunch was lovely and the view was incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
Business
mobile, al
Sep 9, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. The history of the hotel is amazing as well. With that said, the room the we got at first was tiny. My husband said something about it being way too small for 2 people to stay in for a week and not allowing even enough room to unpack or move around and we were promptly moved to a little larger room. This one made all the difference in the world. The beds are very comfortable and the room beautiful. I was surprised to find out that there was a charge for the Wi-Fi but if you join the President's Club then you get it for free along with access to the health club so make sure to join it. We ate at the Tonga Room the first night and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend it. All of the staff that we interacted with were very nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Like I said, it is an amazing hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "F" is the street car that travels between Fisherman's Wharf and Castro and you can take it for $2.25 and get a pass that will let you take it again in the next 2 or 3 hours for no additional charge. It is a little walk to get to it but it is all downhill and you walk past beautiful old buildings that you can look at along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vaca123
Business
new york, ny
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Please note, there are BIG hills all around, you will be exhausted if you are walking anywhere! Room was clean, lobby was gorgeous, and front desk staff is friendly. One big minus is the bellboys/ guys standing out front are rude and not helpful. No one came to get our bags when we came in ( which i dont normally care about because i would rather get them in the room myself faster ) BUT when we were leaving i asked the gentleman outside, if the shuttle in front was the one i had a voucher for, and he responded " why dont you go and ask". Ummm also.. my husband had 2 huge bags, that he carried down himself, no one offered to help, and the guy just stood there. In short, beautiful hotel, very hilly, unfriendly bell boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AYD79
Business
Westwood, CA
Sep 5, 2014

Perfect

Perfect in every way. Service was just amazing. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleno
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Long Weekend

Great hotel and location for sightseeing San Francisco. Very attentive staff. Never a long wait to get a cab either . It would have been nice to be able to easily get a cup of coffee to go in the morning. Did not realize there was a cafe on the very bottom floor. Once I did, I then stood in 15 minutes . Also the workout facilities were good but very crowded and although there was a water cooler , there were no available cups, although there were Water bottles available to purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Tessa
Business
Bay Area, San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Great Couple Getaway

King room was fantastic. Super clean and the room service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Tessa
Business
Bay Area, San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing

Doesn't get much better, and the room service is fantasic :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bozo666
Business
Pittsburg,Ca
Jun 24, 2014

25th Anniversary

My husband and I chose the Fairmont Hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we drove up to Fairmont's doorstep, we did not know (because of so many cars in driveway) that we could simply drop the car off and and let the staff park our car. We ended up driving around until we found an off site garage. Then we lugged our bag, thank god, only a few blocks to the hotel. After registering we found our room but the door did not have a standard card key insert because there wasn't one. We've been to many hotels but this was the first time we had to scan our key card. It would have been better to have someone at the lobby inform us of that. Once inside, our room was nice and big but the view of the bay was so-so. We were on the second floor and had a multi floor building next store very close to us obstructing our view. I would have expected better for the $500.00 a night we paid. The first thing I did after a quick check around the room was notice the clock on the nitestand. It said 11:00 A.M., odd since the Fairmont check-in time is 3:00 P.M. I picked it up to find that it was a cheap wind-up and it didn'twork. We were told our room was recently remodeled but we couldn't tell . The sound coming from a party being held downstairs was very noisy it was hard to get to sleep.The T.V. remote was sluggish, it needed alot of TLC to get it to react, that's probably why the T.V. check out system didn't work. We also couldn't believe the minibar did not keep the water bottles inside cold. All and all the best part was the staff we saw looking for the Tonga room, they were great, very cheerful and helpful. I wouldn't stay at the Fairmont again, for the price I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evor C
Business
Danville, CA
May 29, 2014

Great value on the right dates

Walking into the Fairmont Nob Hill, your stresses seem to melt away. Staffing, ambience, room comforts, etc., all match up to a very great experience! Use non-prime days to get REALLY great deals at this 5-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down to chinatown if you want a superb meal for under $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillaryromy
Business
Los angeles
May 28, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are pretty and cozy and make for a wonderful weekend getaway. The only downside is that walking back to the hotel from Union Square is all uphill, so for people who are out of shape, it is quite the workout. My only complaint is that the cleaning lady threw out two bottles of water that we had in the room, so I was forced to purchase the water in the mini bar for $8.70 (rip off) because it was too late to go find a Walgreens and I was so thirsty after that long walk back to the hotel. Otherwise, it is was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will Somm
Business
Washington D.C.
May 5, 2014

Nob Hill Perfection

From the moment we pulled up to the panoramic views of the bay area and city we were floored. The concierge was incredibly helpful and aside from the lack of free WiFi access everything else was perfect. As far as the hotel food goes...avoid the Tonga room. Its a total tourist trip where the prices don't even come close to the quality of the food or service. Total waste of money unless you are with kids. Also it books up quickly so make a reservation. Next time I stay in San Francisco on business I will definitely be staying back at the fairmont as it is the best hotel dollar for dollar if you prefer the finer things in life. My girlfriend and I overall loved it. Thanks again for a great night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are celebrating or looking for a great meal or wine list check out The Boulevard or RN74. Both are a 5 minute cab ride from the hotel and were incredibly unpretentious for the quality of service and food we received.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top