$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
161 reviews
Was perfect!

everything was great. service, food, decor, convenience. can't wait to go back. See full review

  • TFJ4
  • Mar 31, 2014
Fantastic hotel

We arrived st the Fairmont, were greeted and escorted into the lobby. The Fairmont is a grand Hotel... See full review

  • Mayor1
  • Feb 24, 2014
Historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

This Nob Hill mainstay, dating back to 1907, blends contemporary and historic tastes. Decorative touches such as marble floors and Corinthian columns evoke turn-of-the-century grandeur, while modern conveniences such as high-speed Internet and a full-service fitness center and spa keep travelers grounded in the present. Three well-regarded restaurants offer options for every meal, and the city's oldest Tiki bar provides a break from the formality of the hotel.

Highlights
  • The hilltop location delivers panoramic and breathtaking views of San Francisco Bay
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars right out front
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 591 rooms, 62 of them suites -- span two buildings: the original, circa-1907 structure and a tower built in the 1960s. Rooms vary in size (325-425 square feet; up to 6,000 for suites), but all come with flat-screen televisions, Frette luxury linens, MP3 docking stations and Miller Harris toiletries. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, while Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award and ExxonMobil Four Star Award.

Marble floors and Corinthian columns trimmed in gold accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area, spruced up in 1999, transports guests back to 1907, when the hotel opened. It may also transport TV fans back to the 1980s: Aaron Spelling's "Hotel" series was shot here.

The United Nations Charter was drafted in the hotel, and even the concierge service is historic. Dating back to 1973, it's the first formal concierge desk in the U.S.

All guests have access (fees apply) to the on-site Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center.

Grab a Mai-Tai at the Tonga Room and Hurricane Bar, a kitschy-but-lovable Tiki lounge on site. On weekend nights, a band on a floating stage serenades patrons with Polynesian tunes .

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
  • The historic Penthouse Suite accommodates 100, and has an outdoor terrace.
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Fairmont San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 44 inches-Front door security latch at 41 inches-Accessible door handles at 38 inches-Robe
Deluxe Suite
Diplomat Suite - Contemporary in design with a King-size bed - the Diplomat Suite commands a 180-degree view of the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz Island - Financial District - East Bay - Downtown San Francisco and Twin Peaks. Location: 22nd floor of the
Deluxe Suite
Cambridge Suite - This elegantly furnished suite has an authentic feel to the charming tradition San Francisco offers. It is for your ideal for business meetings and gatherings, comfortably accommodating up to 40 people for hospitality. Location: Main B
Deluxe Suite
Buckingham Suite - This Main Building Balcony Specialty Suite welcomes you with a parquet floored foyer - leading into a wood-paneled parlor with a decorative fireplace and dry bar. The glass-enclosed balcony offers spectacular views of the Fairmont Roof
Economy
Moderate Room - cozy and quiet rooms located in the historic main building. Moderate Rooms are most appropriate for budget-conscious single travellers. These rooms are beautifully decorated with Royal blues and golds- and each has a marble bath. All rooms
Standard
Fairmont Queen ADA Roll In Shower - Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 40 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes 44 inches-Front door security latch at 42 inches-Accessible Door handles at 37 inches-Robe ho
Standard
Fairmont King NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 1 King bed and Double-size sofa sleeper. Features Keurig coffeemaker- windows that open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families. Location:Main Building Bed:1
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings- exterior windows and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. Location: Main building Beds: 2 Queen
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Rooms - available in non-smk- with a choice of king or 2 queen or full beds with a variety of city. Fairmont Exterior Rooms are located in the historical 6-storey Main Building. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings-
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed-Strobes built into the wall-Accessible aid kit available upon request-Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker-door knocker and visual alarm-Entry door width 40 inc
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Grab Bar - Room is wheelchair accessible-Accessible bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 38 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 43 inches-Front door security latch 41 inches-Accessible door handles at 37 i
Deluxe
Deluxe King ADA Grab Bar - Room is wheelchair accessible-bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes 48 inches-Front door security latch 48 inches-Accessible door handles at 42 inches-Robe hooks
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Room is wheelchair accessible-Accessible bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 40 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 45 inches-Front door security latch at 41 inches-Accessible door handles at
Standard
Fairmont QN QN ADA Roll In Shower - Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 40 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes 44 inches-Front door security latch at 40 inches-Accessible door handles at 37 inches-Robe ho
Standard
Fairmont King ADA Hearing Impaired - Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed-Strobes built into the wall-Accessible Aid Kit available upon request-Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker-door knocker and visual alarm-Entry door width 40 inch
Standard
Fairmont Qn Qn NS Sofabed - Spacious Main Building Room with 2 Queen beds and Double-size sofa sleeper. Features Keurig coffeemaker. Windows that open with views of the Nob Hill neighborhood. Renovated 2014. Ideal for families. Location:Main Building Bed
Standard
Fairmont Exterior Room - Located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These are large exterior rooms that feature high ceilings- exterior windows and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. All rooms have also been updated with fl
Standard
Fairmont Room - located in the historical 6-story Main Building. These are medium sized interior rooms that feature high ceilings- interior windows- and large closets. They also have a spectacular marble bathroom. All rooms have also been updated with fla
Suite
Main Building Two Bedroom Suite - Two Bedroom Suites are particularly spacious - comprised of a parlor- a bedroom and bathroom - and a second connecting bedroom with another marble bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a door for privacy.
Suite
Signature Golden Gate Suite - Spectacular panoramic views of the city and Bay and the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. Located on floor 12 and higher. Corner suite with King bed- separate parlor with sofa- Keurig coffemaker- marble bath with walk-in shower and
Suite
Main Building Corner Suite - Largest Main Building suites featuring Nob Hill neighborhood views. Located on floor 2-6. Corner suite with King bed. Separate parlor with Queen size sofa sleeper- Keurig coffeemaker and two full bathrooms. Renovated 2014. Id
Suite
Two Bedroom Signature Golden Gate Suite - Spectacular panoramic views of the city and Bay and the Iconic Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz. All equipped with telescopes in the living room which is separated from the bedroom by double doors. Location:Floor
Deluxe
Deluxe QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Telephone vibrating device Kit can be installed-Strobes built into the wall-Accessible Aid Kit available upon request-Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker-door knocker and visual alarm-Entry door width 34 inche
Suite
Tower Building Two Bedroom Suites - The most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Tower 2-Bedroom Suites are contemporary in design- with 2 bedrooms and living room in between. Both bedrooms close off from the living room with a door- for
Suite
Main Building Balcony Two Bedroom Suite - Desirable because of the balcony each Suite is comprised of a parlor a bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a privacy door. Each suite is unique in decor layout - size with update
Suite
Main Building Suite - One and Two Bedroom Suites. Particularly spacious comprised of a parlor with a queen size sofa sleeper a bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a door for privacy. Each suite is unique in decor layout
Suite
Tower Suite - One or Two Bedrooms Tower Building Suites afford the most breathtaking views of the San Francisco Bay and city. Contemporary in design the Tower Suites have views from both the bedroom and living room and with a door in between for privacy.
Suite
Main Building Balcony Suite - Desirable because of the balcony. Each suite is comprised of a parlor with a queen size sofa sleeper a bedroom and one bathroom. The bedroom and living room are separated by a privacy door. Each suite is unique in decor layou
Suite
Tower Suite ADA Grab Bar - Room is wheelchair accessible-Bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes 57 inches-Front door security latch 41 inches-Accessible door handles at 37 inches-Robe hooks
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have also been updated with flat panel TVs- Frette linen ensembles- pillow
Superior
Signature King ADA Roll In Shower - Room is wheelchair accessible-Roll in shower-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes are 44 inches-Front door security latch at 41 inches-Accessible door handles at 38 inches-Rob
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Grab Bar - Room is wheelchair accessible-Bathtub with grab bars-Entry door width 34 inches-Bathroom entrance 36 inches wide-Entry door peepholes 44 inches-Front door security latch 40 inches-Accessible door handles at 38 inches-Robe ho
Superior
Signature QN QN ADA Hearing Impaired - Telephone vibrating device kit can be installed-Strobes built into the wall-Accessible aid kit available upon request-Kit includes vibrating alarm clock-bed shaker-door knocker and visual alram-entry door width 34 in
Deluxe
Deluxe Rooms - located in the tower building with views of the city. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms feature flat panel TVs- Frette linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and MP3 docking stations.
Superior
Signature Room - located in the Tower Building, with spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have also been updated with flat panel TVs- Frette linen ensembles- pillo
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - exterior facing rooms located in the Tower Building. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have also been updated with flat panel TVs- Frette linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and MP3 docking st
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - exterior facing rooms located in the Tower Building. Each room has a spectacular marble bathroom with separate bath and shower. All rooms have also been updated with flat panel TVs- Frette linen ensembles- pillow top beds- and MP3 docking st
Deluxe Suite
Penthouse Suite - Recently unveiled from a 1.8 million USD restoration the 6000 sq. ft. Extraordinary Penthouse features three large bedrooms-a living room with grand piano-a formal dining room seating 60 people. New professional grade kitchen-a two-story
Deluxe Suite
Fairmont Suite - The Fairmont Suite is located on the top guest floor of the Tower Building - offering guests the grandest wrap-around views of the San Francisco City and Bay. It is like litterally sitting on top of the city. Location: Tower Building Be
Deluxe Suite
Napoleon Suite - The Napoleon Suite is the perfect home away from home. This apartment style specialty suite has a spacious parlour - full kitchen - bedroom - two bathrooms and washer and dryer. Popular for extended stays. Location: Corner Suite in the M

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7923 -122.41
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Tonga Room Hurricane Bar
Serving Pacific Rim Comfort Cuisine, Tonga Room has a San Francisco tradition for more than 65 years. Reservations Recommended. For more information visit: www.TongaRoom.com
Afternoon Tea
Served in the Laurel Court Restaurant - afternoon tea has been a tradition for San Franciscans and the guests of our hotel since the opening of the Fairmont San Francisco in 1907. Sat-Sun 1:30PM - 3:30PM Weekday Offerings for parties of 25 ppl or more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Colorado
Jun 30, 2010

DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

I was quoted on the phone that parking would be $27.00 per night, but it was actually $57.00 per night.There was NO soap in the bathroom at all, at the sink or in the shower. I called for service and a man delivered ONE small bar. Had to go into shower to get soap, or out of shower. One phone did not work.No coffee in room.[...] I will never pay for a stay with Fairmont again. I had heard such positive comments about it so I thought putting out the extra money would be justified, my mistake. I am SURE regular customers that book with regular agencies get much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
2th mvr
Vancouver, WA
Aug 22, 2012

Not what we expected from the Fairmont

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle before andhad a wonderful experience. We can't say the same for this Fairmont. At check in, no one bothered to tell us thay had given away our reservation for a queen size bed. Instead they just sent us to our room and hoped we couldn't tell the difference. When we called down to the front desk they told us they were sold out for that night but the following night they would move us into a queen bed room. The front desk person told us to bring our luggage down with us the next morning and they would see that it was put in to our new room. When we returned to the hotel the next afternoon to get ready for our dinner reservations, we asked if our luggage was in our room and we were assured that it was. We got to our room and our luggage was not there. I went down to the desk to ask where it was and was informed that we should not have brought it down that morning and that they were not sure where it was. The man from the bell desk was very rude and it took about 25 minutes to finally locate our luggage, making us late for our dinner reservation. To top it all off, the heater in the new room would not turn off, making it almost unbearably hot in our room - it was a very hot weekeknd in San Francisco while we were there. As we were checking out, we informed the staff about everything that had happened and were offered no apology or anything. This was not what we expected from a hotel like the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
capn hawk
las vegas
Oct 18, 2011

fairmont sf

No in-room coffee. Bed was very soft. Room was small, but typical for older hotel. Internet was $14 extra per day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Java House near Pier 40.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
Let down by Fairmont
West Hartford, CT
Jul 29, 2013

Disappointed

Our room was lovely, but smelled of smoke. Called to report that we wanted a non smoking room, was told they were all non smoking rooms. I said clearly someone had been smoking here. Instead of giving us a different room, they sent up an air purifier. Didn't help. Upon checkout we realized that we had left a phone charger in our room. We were told that it shouldn't be a problem to retrieve it because no one wanted to stay in that room because of the smoke smell! They said they had received many complaints about the smoke smell (they didn't help me with my complaint). Also told us that a celebrity had been staying on the floor and that they think they don't have to adhere to the rules of no smoking. By the way, the phone charger was gone. After dinner we went back to the room and it looked as if someone had vomited in our bathroom sink. We called housekeeping and they quickly came and cleaned it up. They believe the sink backed up..... The beds were really comfortable though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
Perry Lite
Business
NY NY
Feb 20, 2013

Lovely on the outside..................

I was looking forward to staying at the Fairmount in SF after having been a guest at another Fairmount and having a wonderful experience. When I was unpacking, it was disappointing to find the stacked shelves in the closet for storing clothes was caked with dirt. I had to use a hot towel to wash down the shelving before putting my clothes on them. The housekeeping leaves much to be desired. There were dirty tissues left on the floor from a previous guest and other dirt on the carpet surface which meant the room had not been vaccuumed before my arrival. I did speak to the manager and after checking the room he agreed with my findings and apologized. After coming back to the room one night Icould not find the remote control for the tv. After searching the room unsuccessfully, I called and asked for another remote. When I was getting ready for bed that evening i found the remote which had been made in the bed by housekeeping. It also confirmed that my sheets were not changed. The glasses in the room were not replaced nor were the dirty ones taken away for 2 days! I also ran out of soap and needed to call for more because fresh bars were never put into my room after my initial check in. The room was spacious but very tired looking. However is was not as tired as the staff when it came to doing there job. Sadly I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
GatorCarl
San Francisco, CA
Jan 3, 2012

Tiny room, thin walls, high price

I've stayed at the Fairmont a few times and this experience was quite unfortunate. The room was very, very small, and I had to listen to the guy next door snoring through the paper-thin walls for the entire evening. The lobby is gorgeous (but insanely crowded), but the noise really made for a less than pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

Not worth the money

The hotel is just so so. Sone hotel staffs were neither patient nor polite. I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to SF cable car.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
Boglady
Maine
Jul 19, 2012

First time in San Francisco

Room was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable with many pillows. Didn't think the room needed 3 telephones (one in bathroom), but would have loved a coffeemaker!! A fridge would have been nice, too. Telephone and garage charges seemed exorbitant. Used a nearby garage for half the price, but did not have the convenience of coming/going throughout the day. Enjoyed being close to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Restaurant within walking distance. Very pleasant eating. Not many restaurants close by for dining. Nothing really close for breakfast except hotel dining room which was costly.

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
LVCouple
Las Vegas, NV
May 8, 2009

Fairmont--only fair

The hotel is beautiful and historic; public areas are elegant, and the view from our room was spectacular. Efficiency and friendliness of staff was hit or miss...Check-in was smooth and easy, and housekeepers were diligent and accommodating. However, several times the concierges on duty were doing paperwork or on the phone and couldn't be bothered making eye contact as we stood at the desk waiting for some sign that they'd attend to us. The hosts at the restaurants and the staff in the shops were standoffish. Our room was spotless; the bed was luxurious; the shower was fantastic. But there were a few small things about the room that detracted from our stay--nothing we'd even mention at a lesser property, but this is is the San Francisco Fairmont, so expectations run high. Among the little annoyances: 1) No coffeemaker in the room. And the coffee bar in the lobby closes ridiculously early. The front desk clerk explained that the hotel thought it would be "better" for guests if the hotel provided coffee or tea to the room. Translation: Without coffee-makers in the room, exorbitant room service is the only option. 2) The in-room safe didn't work. We called to report this as soon as we noticed it and were promised someone was on the way up to fix it. Two more phone calls and an hour later we finally left the room without being able to lock away our laptops. The safe was fixed when we returned later, but still... 3) The TV took too long to warm up and as long as ten seconds to change from one channel to the next. Antiquated and irritating satellite system. Our most annoying experience: The concierge directed us to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The computer is in a hallway--one must stand at a kiosk while using it; nowhere to rest purse or packages or pen and paper. You must swipe a credit card to use the computer; for $3, you get 5 minutes. Sounds like enough time, but the computer and printer are so slow and cranky that if you hesitate at all, you'll run out of time. In our case, the boarding passes that printed out were illegible--no toner in the printer!!--and we had to have someone at the front desk reprint them for us; the person who did this told us that we could have just asked the concierge to print the passes, as lots of guests do. If that's the case, we asked, why did the concierge send us to the rickety computer at the kiosk??? In general, the staff we encountered were too often indifferent--not gracious or smiling or friendly enough. As elegant as the hotel looks, we found the overall experience a little disappointing. The Fairmont is lovely to look at, but world class? Hardly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral, a block from the hotel, is a wonder!

Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
slo, ca
Jul 12, 2010

Fairmont, SF

Beatiful hotel. If walking be ready for a stiff hill, huge. Asked if early check in (noon) was a problem. Told it was not. Luckily my wife said lets not wait for the room. They called my cell at 3pm to let me know room was ready. Bad form I thought. Great bed, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top