$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Fairmont San Francisco

5 stars
View map of 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Francisco

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berliner
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful Property!

Thoroughly enjoyed a great afternoon in the Laurel Room (try the blood orange mulled wine!) and well as Cafe Cento during a brief stay. Real stunning place and experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CassieF
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 17, 2012

One Night in SF

The hotel was beautiful and the room was very comfortable. We ate at the Tonga Room which was an awesome experience, but the food was just so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scranton Traveler
Business
Scranton, Pa
Sep 10, 2012

Great Experience

My Fiance and i had a wonderful experience at the Fairmont San Francisco. We can not wait to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stokie101
Business
NYC
Sep 5, 2012

You get what you pay for

Be prepared to get the "undesired" rooms in the hotel (i.e. no city views) If you keep your expectations low you will be happy with room itself large bathroom small queen size bed and overall very clean. Dont expect any free amenities like in-room coffee or complimentary water bottles. Do expect to pay over 50 bucks for valet parking and long lines for the Tonga room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to "new" chinatown instead for better food and bargains!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Di Di
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2012

Fabulous

The staff were all wonderful. They have all worked here for many years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach blanket Babylon show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2th mvr
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 22, 2012

Not what we expected from the Fairmont

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle before andhad a wonderful experience. We can't say the same for this Fairmont. At check in, no one bothered to tell us thay had given away our reservation for a queen size bed. Instead they just sent us to our room and hoped we couldn't tell the difference. When we called down to the front desk they told us they were sold out for that night but the following night they would move us into a queen bed room. The front desk person told us to bring our luggage down with us the next morning and they would see that it was put in to our new room. When we returned to the hotel the next afternoon to get ready for our dinner reservations, we asked if our luggage was in our room and we were assured that it was. We got to our room and our luggage was not there. I went down to the desk to ask where it was and was informed that we should not have brought it down that morning and that they were not sure where it was. The man from the bell desk was very rude and it took about 25 minutes to finally locate our luggage, making us late for our dinner reservation. To top it all off, the heater in the new room would not turn off, making it almost unbearably hot in our room - it was a very hot weekeknd in San Francisco while we were there. As we were checking out, we informed the staff about everything that had happened and were offered no apology or anything. This was not what we expected from a hotel like the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Atkins
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 20, 2012

Magnificent Frisco adventure!

My stay at the Fairmont was a tremendous experience to say the least.Kind,courteous and quite attentive staff was only punctuated by the fact that we were treated to the most luxurious of ammenities and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would say for any tourist that wishes to get the most out of their trip in San Fran,it would be strongly advised to invest in a city pass.For many attractions and activities it is quite the economical asset and money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Irene
Business
Brighton, CO
Aug 20, 2012

Weekend visit

I was in San Francisco for a wedding and throughly enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont. The service was excellent, from the doorman, to the check staff, to the concierge, to the wait staff. We ate several times in Laurel Court and found the food very good with an excellent variety both on the menu and buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erfenson
Business
central coast, California
Aug 13, 2012

Clean, comfortable and nicely located.

At a discounted rate, this place was a no-brainer. Extremely comfortable beds, nice TV, well furnished. If a view's important to you, make sure you aren't booking an interior room overlooking the courtyard. Also note that the little free amenities you get with cheaper hotels like a refrigerator or coffee will cost you extra here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erfenson
Business
central coast, California
Aug 13, 2012

Clean, comfortable and nicely located.

The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in, and we were upgraded to a king for free when we checked in. The hotel itself is gorgeous. This was a no-brainer at half price, but if a view is important to you make sure you aren't booking an interior room overlooking the courtyard. The Fairmont is lacking in little "free" amenities you generally find at cheaper hotels; for instance prepare to be nickel-and-dimed if you want a fridge in your room, and to pay $3 for a good cup of coffee in the cafe downstairs because there is no complimentary hotel sludge. No surprise given the hotel's usual price point and clientele. Also prepare for exorbitant parking fees if you use their lot, they were getting $65 a night when we stayed. We parked instead at a nearby garage for $27/night. Being located at the intersection of the two major trolley lines is great in theory, though we found ourselves having to walk several blocks upstream just to catch one that wasn't full. SF's trolley system is painfully overcrowded right now (peak season?) and we watched a lot of dismayed tourists watch full trolley after full trolley pass them by. The only place they're harder to catch a space on is at the wharf, where you at least get an orderly queue instead of a bunch of rude tourists falling over each other for the 3 open spaces. For strong walkers, Chinatown and Union Square are easily in walking distance, which is great. Would stay there again in a heartbeat at the rate I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral Parking Lot if you mean to just park your car and leave it for the duration.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top