$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Embassy Hotel

2 stars
610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
18 reviews
The Heart of the Tenderloin

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy many years ago and wanted to recreate that visit to San... See full review

  • AZThom
  • Jun 14, 2014
Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the... See full review

  • VenaVirago
  • May 20, 2012
Close to the opera, symphony and the newly opened extraordinary Asian Art Museum. The Embassy Hotel offers spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with private baths, televisions and telephones in every room. Close to the opera, symphony, museums, state and federal office buildings, the California Culinary Academy and a variety of fine dining opportunities. Excellent correspondence with buses and subway to the Downtown Financial District, North Beach, China Town, the Castro and Mission Districts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Embassy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
King--City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Non Smoking Double
2 Doubles-NS-City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe-2 Doubles Private bath-TV-City views

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
Laundry service
Security
Multilingual
Tour desk
Barber shop
FAX
Parking
Parking
Room
TV
Telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
1.7
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madmaxfear
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 20, 2012

Kinda gross, but whatever

The good: Inexpensive, good location, I was offered a smoking room, free parking. The bad: There was a fresh puke stain on one of the chairs, only a half roll of t.p., no ashtray, and cigarette burns everywhere. I was actually ok with this room because I was drunk most of the time, and I am not a clean freak. The location was what sold me... And the price. If you are a yuppy, or a cleanliness freak, this is not the place for you. If you like a location close to everything, like to smoke inside, and don't have a problem with shabbiness or puke-stained chairs, go here. It is cheap. There were no bedbugs or stains on the sheets. That gave me peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jfreek
Business
Yakima, WA
Oct 28, 2010

Not worth the savings.

Booked 2 months in advance, yet they did not have the correct room reserved for us. Came back from touring San Francisco at 10 PM to find an extremely loud party happening in their night club in the basement. We could understand the words to the songs in our 4th floor room. The music played until 3 AM! The room was old and though they had attempted to upgrade it, the bathroom tile was dirty. Further, the bedspread had cigarette burns in it. I will NEVER go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda, CA
Oct 24, 2010

shocking

when we came back to the hotel, one of the staff members that helped us to check in earlier in the day was drunk and harassed my friends. then when they got into their room the drunk staff member and his drunk friend kept on shouting at them outside their window. childish and so disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2009

Hotel sent me to a dingy motel

Well, the hotel overbooked so it sent me to a motel down the street. This was NOT a hotel, it was a straight up dingy motel complete with holes in the curtains and a remote that was glued to the end table. Nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
USItalian
Business
San Jose
Sep 1, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The location was close to where we needed to be but the hotel was below par in regards to everything. The people working there were nice an helpful but the hotel needs a major redo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kimster
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 2, 2009

Not worth the price, at any price.

We booked this hotel because of its location close to the ballet, City Center, and Hayes Valley restaurants. The location was the only thing it had going for it. Free parking was appreciated, but the room was much like staying in the preserved lived-in apartment of one's 80-year old aunt who smoked like a chimney. It has potential, but instead of being a boutique property restored to it's former luster, it is more like an old building that has some new light fixtures but all the ghosts of its resident hotel past, including a lumpy bed with an awfully disconcerting comforter. Upon arrival, it occurred to me that I had previously booked this hotel through another site, only to be sent to their even filthier sister-property, The Oasis. One to avoid, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dragonflyblue
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Oct 26, 2009

At least it was clean

The hotel was clean. There wasn't anything bad, but there wasn't anything good either. I had asked for an early check-in and told that it would be fine, but when we got there at 1 pm our room was not ready and wouldn't be for a while, so we had to leave our things in the car and head off. There was no remote for the tv, no coffeemaker, and the attached coffee shop next door was not open on Sunday, so I had to walk in the rain to the nearest coffee shop and carry back coffee and breakfast for the three of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AdubYa
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Met my expectations

What do you expect for a $100 hotel room? The place is run down but the bed seemed cleanish and the shower was strong. I got the last parking spot which would have been an issue if there wasn't a spot. If you are needing a bed to sleep in cheap this place is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TnTsMom
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernie C.
Business
North Hills, Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

Proceed with caution

Located in the Tenderloin District. Not the safest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast at The Moulin Restaurant! Be careful not to walk on Turk St. or Eddy St. in the evening. The drug addicts congregate on these two streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top