Embassy Hotel

2 stars
View map of 610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
20 reviews
Great value

I was very happy with this hotel and will definitely book again. Very nice sized room and closet,... See full review

  • Ian M.
  • Aug 4, 2015
The Heart of the Tenderloin

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy many years ago and wanted to recreate that visit to San... See full review

  • AZThom
  • Jun 14, 2014
Close to the opera symphony and the newly opened extraordinary Asian Art Museum.The Embassy Hotel offers spacious clean comfortable rooms with private baths televisions and telephones in every room. Close to the opera symphony museums state and federal office buildings the California Culinary Academy and a variety of fine dining opportunities. Excellent correspondence with buses and subway to the Downtown Financial District North Beach China Town the Castro and Mission Districts.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★
$165
2.9 / 5 28 reviews
★★
$113
2.1 / 5 75 reviews
★★★
$191
3.5 / 5 139 reviews
★★
$129
3.4 / 5 63 reviews
★★
$145
2.9 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$136
2.5 / 5 28 reviews

Embassy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Deluxe King Private Bath-King Size Bed. br br Deluxe room with a king size bed, private bath
Non Smoking Double
Non Smoking Double Private Bath-2 Double Beds- Non Smoking. br br Non Smoking room with 2 do
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe 2 Doubles Private Bath-Two Double Beds. br br Deluxe room with 2 double beds, private

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
Laundry service
Security
Tour desk
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3
Value:
3.1

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TnTsMom
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ian M.
Friends
N/A
Aug 4, 2015

Great value

I was very happy with this hotel and will definitely book again. Very nice sized room and closet, with a great New Orleans restaurant on the same block. For 24 Hour Fitness members, there's a club about 4 blocks away, which was very convenient my two reasons for not a 5/5 rating were: A. The café attached to the hotel never opened and there was not complimentary coffee and B. I'd like better quality towels. Staff was very pleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Friends
san jose
Jul 29, 2015

Birthday Trip

Hotel was in a decent location. The rooms were clean but smaller than pictured. Overall an OK experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramblance
Couples
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2014

past-its-prime, but decent value

Seems to have been downscaled at some point, e.g. rooms no longer have minibars although traces remain showing they once did. Upkeep a little lacking; a drawer had been screwed permanently closed, a persistent patron had yanked it open anyway, but it was never repaired. One smallish insect. Bottlecap on the stairs. Still, the staff was friendly, and if location / price / quality tradeoffs lead you here, it might the right option for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Catt28
Couples
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 20, 2014

Not worth the price

The hotel itself was old and scary. The elevator was incredible slow and the beds were so old you could feel the springs in the couch. I am so glad i was only there for 1 night. The only pro about the hotel is the free parking (if you show up early enough) because then you don't have to be outside. The neighborhood is SCARY! Do not walk down Turk street or honestly neighboring streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan 2 Traveler
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Jul 30, 2014

Clean but simple old hotel

Surprised by no AC, but a $20.00 fan we bought helped keep room comfortable at night. Clean room, skimpy towels, but maids gave us extra. Friendly staff, very helpful when our bags arrived after we did. Breakfast was meager, but café and coffee shops are everywhere. Neighborhood is old and tired, but it's an easy walk to bus stops. For the price, we'd stay there again, and buy a fan immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy the three day transportation pass. Rode buses, trolley and train out to the ball park easily.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZThom
Couples
Queen Creek, AZ
Jun 14, 2014

The Heart of the Tenderloin

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy many years ago and wanted to recreate that visit to San Francisco. The Embassy is an old hotel with squeaky floors and doors, and it comes with the charm to match. Our room was clean, our bed was comfortable and our stay perfect. The staff was great to help with getting around town and finding places we were interested in visiting. The Embassy is in the heart of town, easy access to anywhere in SF. It is also easy access to the 101 freeway to and from the airport, and it has free gated parking. You get a true experience with the grittiness of SF with some of the elements around the hotel, but those elements can be found all over town. Within walking distance you can eat any cultural preference or discover a new one. We highly recomend the Embassy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's coffee shop around the block is the best cup of coffee you will ever have.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernie C.
Family
North Hills, Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

Proceed with caution

Located in the Tenderloin District. Not the safest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast at The Moulin Restaurant! Be careful not to walk on Turk St. or Eddy St. in the evening. The drug addicts congregate on these two streets.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madmaxfear
Couples
Sacramento, CA
May 20, 2012

Kinda gross, but whatever

The good: Inexpensive, good location, I was offered a smoking room, free parking. The bad: There was a fresh puke stain on one of the chairs, only a half roll of t.p., no ashtray, and cigarette burns everywhere. I was actually ok with this room because I was drunk most of the time, and I am not a clean freak. The location was what sold me... And the price. If you are a yuppy, or a cleanliness freak, this is not the place for you. If you like a location close to everything, like to smoke inside, and don't have a problem with shabbiness or puke-stained chairs, go here. It is cheap. There were no bedbugs or stains on the sheets. That gave me peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VenaVirago
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2012

Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the day & convenient to mass transit. Some surrounding streets seem a bit sketchy late at night but no problem if you take a taxi. Charming decor & super helpful staff. Great value for artists, hipsters, students, world traveler types who are not freaked out by urban environments. Would not recommend for my suburban mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants with affordable vegetarian/vegan food.

Back to menu Return to top