$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Embassy Hotel

2 stars
610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
15 reviews
Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the... See full review

  • VenaVirago
  • May 20, 2012
Proceed with caution

Located in the Tenderloin District. Not the safest! See full review

  • Ernie C.
  • Jul 14, 2013
Close to the opera, symphony and the newly opened extraordinary Asian Art Museum. The Embassy Hotel offers spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with private baths, televisions and telephones in every room. Close to the opera, symphony, museums, state and federal office buildings, the California Culinary Academy and a variety of fine dining opportunities. Excellent correspondence with buses and subway to the Downtown Financial District, North Beach, China Town, the Castro and Mission Districts.

Embassy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
King-Free bkfst-City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Non Smoking Double
2 Doubles-NS-Free bkfst-City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe-2 Doubles-Free bkfst Private bath-TV-City views

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
Laundry service
Security
Multilingual
Tour desk
Barber shop
FAX
Parking
Parking
Room
TV
Telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7824 -122.4189
Nearby airports
(SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Hotel

Overall score

1.9 / 5
15 out of 15
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.7

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
TnTsMom
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Ernie C.
North Hills, Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

Proceed with caution

Located in the Tenderloin District. Not the safest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast at The Moulin Restaurant! Be careful not to walk on Turk St. or Eddy St. in the evening. The drug addicts congregate on these two streets.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
TnTsMom
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
madmaxfear
Sacramento, CA
May 20, 2012

Kinda gross, but whatever

The good: Inexpensive, good location, I was offered a smoking room, free parking. The bad: There was a fresh puke stain on one of the chairs, only a half roll of t.p., no ashtray, and cigarette burns everywhere. I was actually ok with this room because I was drunk most of the time, and I am not a clean freak. The location was what sold me... And the price. If you are a yuppy, or a cleanliness freak, this is not the place for you. If you like a location close to everything, like to smoke inside, and don't have a problem with shabbiness or puke-stained chairs, go here. It is cheap. There were no bedbugs or stains on the sheets. That gave me peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
VenaVirago
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2012

Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the day & convenient to mass transit. Some surrounding streets seem a bit sketchy late at night but no problem if you take a taxi. Charming decor & super helpful staff. Great value for artists, hipsters, students, world traveler types who are not freaked out by urban environments. Would not recommend for my suburban mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants with affordable vegetarian/vegan food.

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
AdubYa
Livermore, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Met my expectations

What do you expect for a $100 hotel room? The place is run down but the bed seemed cleanish and the shower was strong. I got the last parking spot which would have been an issue if there wasn't a spot. If you are needing a bed to sleep in cheap this place is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Joseph de Culver City
Culver City
May 14, 2011

Fair Value in Tenderloin

This is the area I normally stay in. This hotel was a slightly lower value than others I have previously visited. Hard to block out the smell of rat poison.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to AMC Theaters and ACT Theater

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Jfreek
Business
Yakima, WA
Oct 28, 2010

Not worth the savings.

Booked 2 months in advance, yet they did not have the correct room reserved for us. Came back from touring San Francisco at 10 PM to find an extremely loud party happening in their night club in the basement. We could understand the words to the songs in our 4th floor room. The music played until 3 AM! The room was old and though they had attempted to upgrade it, the bathroom tile was dirty. Further, the bedspread had cigarette burns in it. I will NEVER go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
vronksky
Boulder, CO
Oct 26, 2010

Adequate

The front desk staff was friendly. I had to park 2 blocks away the first night though, that isn't quite the free parking I was expecting... I also had to grab the blanket off the other twin bed as it got cold at night and the thermostat isn't under any single room's controls... The satelite tv was "off" somehow, every now and then it would simply stutter, then blank out for about 30 sec... I went down one of my mornings for the "breakfast" but couldn't find it... Mostly, it's exactly 1.5 blocks into "scary," and that got old... Otherwise, was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Alameda, CA
Oct 24, 2010

shocking

when we came back to the hotel, one of the staff members that helped us to check in earlier in the day was drunk and harassed my friends. then when they got into their room the drunk staff member and his drunk friend kept on shouting at them outside their window. childish and so disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
party-goer
Oakland, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Acceptable hotel and neighborhood

First off, make note that the free parking they have is very limited! Most nights it probably doesn't matter since I've stayed here before and this place doesn't exactly sell out on a regular basis. However, this was NYE 2 blocks from one of the biggest parties in the city and they sold out. We went to check in at 8pm and they had already filled up the parking lot. We didn't like the idea of parking our Lexus on the street in the Tenderloin, but we took the chance being that it was at the very outskirts of the TL (car was fine the next monring, just beware of street sweeping days and times). We reserved a king bed room but ended up with two double beds. Not a big deal. I guess they over-booked for that night so I wasn't trying to make it harder for them... not that picky. The hotel itself is definitely better than it used to be. They remodeled it nice enough. For those who complain about the elevator (you have to physically open a door to get in and out) just be grateful it's a step up from the previous one where you not only had to open a door, but you also had to slide a gate open as well... yes, it was one of those! Plus it's pretty slow so we took the stairs most of the time... not a big deal since most of us don't get enough excercise as is... it's only a 6 floor hotel. The walls are paper thin so expect to hear your neighbors if you have any. Our neighbors weren't noisy, but we could almost make out their pillow talk in the morning! Place was fairly clean EXCEPT, we did see finger nail clippings on the floor (and we didn't clip our nails there) which tells us they didn't do a very good job of vacuuming before our arrival... yuck. Other than that, room was very clean. Rooms themselves were also remodeled, but you can tell they got leftover furniture from another hotel. The furniture was new for the Embassy, but definitely not new furniture. Again, not a huge deal since TV, clock radio, and lamps all worked... but there was a cabinet that said "Snacks and Refreshments" and it was empty and you can see where there used to be a refrigerator. For the price and location, it's a clean bed and bathroom without much to complain about. I would stay here again if I needed to be near Civic Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top