$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Embassy Hotel

2 stars
610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
18 reviews
The Heart of the Tenderloin

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy many years ago and wanted to recreate that visit to San... See full review

  • AZThom
  • Jun 14, 2014
Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the... See full review

  • VenaVirago
  • May 20, 2012
Close to the opera, symphony and the newly opened extraordinary Asian Art Museum. The Embassy Hotel offers spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with private baths, televisions and telephones in every room. Close to the opera, symphony, museums, state and federal office buildings, the California Culinary Academy and a variety of fine dining opportunities. Excellent correspondence with buses and subway to the Downtown Financial District, North Beach, China Town, the Castro and Mission Districts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Embassy Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
King--City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Non Smoking Double
2 Doubles-NS-City views Private bath-TV w premium channels
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe-2 Doubles Private bath-TV-City views

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
Laundry service
Security
Multilingual
Tour desk
Barber shop
FAX
Parking
Parking
Room
TV
Telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.8

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TnTsMom
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramblance
Business
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2014

past-its-prime, but decent value

Seems to have been downscaled at some point, e.g. rooms no longer have minibars although traces remain showing they once did. Upkeep a little lacking; a drawer had been screwed permanently closed, a persistent patron had yanked it open anyway, but it was never repaired. One smallish insect. Bottlecap on the stairs. Still, the staff was friendly, and if location / price / quality tradeoffs lead you here, it might the right option for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Catt28
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 20, 2014

Not worth the price

The hotel itself was old and scary. The elevator was incredible slow and the beds were so old you could feel the springs in the couch. I am so glad i was only there for 1 night. The only pro about the hotel is the free parking (if you show up early enough) because then you don't have to be outside. The neighborhood is SCARY! Do not walk down Turk street or honestly neighboring streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZThom
Business
Queen Creek, AZ
Jun 14, 2014

The Heart of the Tenderloin

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy many years ago and wanted to recreate that visit to San Francisco. The Embassy is an old hotel with squeaky floors and doors, and it comes with the charm to match. Our room was clean, our bed was comfortable and our stay perfect. The staff was great to help with getting around town and finding places we were interested in visiting. The Embassy is in the heart of town, easy access to anywhere in SF. It is also easy access to the 101 freeway to and from the airport, and it has free gated parking. You get a true experience with the grittiness of SF with some of the elements around the hotel, but those elements can be found all over town. Within walking distance you can eat any cultural preference or discover a new one. We highly recomend the Embassy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's coffee shop around the block is the best cup of coffee you will ever have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernie C.
Business
North Hills, Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

Proceed with caution

Located in the Tenderloin District. Not the safest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast at The Moulin Restaurant! Be careful not to walk on Turk St. or Eddy St. in the evening. The drug addicts congregate on these two streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TnTsMom
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 22, 2012

SF on a budget? OK.

We have stayed at the Embassy Hotel a few times, but since it had been a year or so, I had blocked out how very loud it is. Squeaky thin floors and ceilings. Also, if you are on the south or west side, you will hear the club downstairs all night on a Friday or Saturday night. Since we were out ourselves, that only bothered us after we got back at 1:00 AM. Then we only had a couple of hours of noise, and then quiet for an hour or two, and then squeaky floors started. It's a very old hotel, so very not fancy. Use the stairs when you can instead of the tiny box of an elevator. Free parking...that's the biggest selling point. Also, pretty good price still. Continental breakfast nothing special...toast, cereal, and muffins, coffee and tea. Eat at Brenda's a couple doors up the block. Fabulous brunch! When given a choice, we pick the Opal, but the Embassy hotel is always our fall back hotel in SF. Just do NOT be expecting something nice. It is what it is..cheap (for SF) and has FREE parking. Did I say free? :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's, just two doors up Polk, to the north, has FABULOUS brunch. Chicory coffee, homemade biscuits and begniets, and lots of scrumptious specials. Calorie counters beware! It is worth it, though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madmaxfear
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 20, 2012

Kinda gross, but whatever

The good: Inexpensive, good location, I was offered a smoking room, free parking. The bad: There was a fresh puke stain on one of the chairs, only a half roll of t.p., no ashtray, and cigarette burns everywhere. I was actually ok with this room because I was drunk most of the time, and I am not a clean freak. The location was what sold me... And the price. If you are a yuppy, or a cleanliness freak, this is not the place for you. If you like a location close to everything, like to smoke inside, and don't have a problem with shabbiness or puke-stained chairs, go here. It is cheap. There were no bedbugs or stains on the sheets. That gave me peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VenaVirago
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2012

Old world charm & excellent value!

Rooms are affordable, clean & comfortable. Hotel is close to Civic Center-good for walking in the day & convenient to mass transit. Some surrounding streets seem a bit sketchy late at night but no problem if you take a taxi. Charming decor & super helpful staff. Great value for artists, hipsters, students, world traveler types who are not freaked out by urban environments. Would not recommend for my suburban mom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants with affordable vegetarian/vegan food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AdubYa
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Met my expectations

What do you expect for a $100 hotel room? The place is run down but the bed seemed cleanish and the shower was strong. I got the last parking spot which would have been an issue if there wasn't a spot. If you are needing a bed to sleep in cheap this place is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joseph de Culver City
Business
Culver City
May 14, 2011

Fair Value in Tenderloin

This is the area I normally stay in. This hotel was a slightly lower value than others I have previously visited. Hard to block out the smell of rat poison.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to AMC Theaters and ACT Theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jfreek
Business
Yakima, WA
Oct 28, 2010

Not worth the savings.

Booked 2 months in advance, yet they did not have the correct room reserved for us. Came back from touring San Francisco at 10 PM to find an extremely loud party happening in their night club in the basement. We could understand the words to the songs in our 4th floor room. The music played until 3 AM! The room was old and though they had attempted to upgrade it, the bathroom tile was dirty. Further, the bedspread had cigarette burns in it. I will NEVER go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top