Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1668 market street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
30 reviews
Professional Meeting

I stayed at the Edwardian two years in a row while attending the annual meeting of the American... See full review

  • gamoonbat
  • Dec 23, 2014
This is a great place to stay in San Fra

First time at the edwardian hotel and I was very satisfied, the staff was wonderful, the atmosphere... See full review

  • Saportavoyage
  • Oct 12, 2010
Across from the historic Muni Metro station and offering easy access to major downtown San Francisco attractions, this hotel features comfortable accommodations in a central and convenient location. Guests staying at Edwardian Hotel can enjoy spacious guest rooms furnished with cable TV. Select rooms offer city views. Area attractions such as Davies Symphony Hall, the Opera House and City Hall are all only moments from Hotel Edwardian. With easy access to the metro station, Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf are also only minutes away.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edwardian San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

$156
3.9 / 5 10 reviews
★★
$134
3.2 / 5 9 reviews

Edwardian San Francisco Hotel Rooms

STANDARD Queen
1 Queen bed with Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
DELUXE Queen
Large room with 1 Queen bed, Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
STANDARD Double
1 Double bed with Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
DELUXE twin
Large room with 2 twin beds Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.8 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.4 mi
  • Morrison Planetarium: 2.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Edwardian is a very short walk to some of the best restaurants in the city. Cav wine & Bar serving Mediterranean food (in the building), Zuni serving California cuisine (next door), Espetus Brazilian restaurant (next door), Sauce serving Asian Food (1block away), Absinthe French restaurant (three blocks away), Jardiniere French restaurant (4 blocks away), Delle stelle Italian restaurant and Hayes Bar & Grill known for its delicious steaks (3 blocks).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gamoonbat
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Professional Meeting

I stayed at the Edwardian two years in a row while attending the annual meeting of the American Geophysical Union in San Francisco. I love the neighborhood and the charm of this hotel. There were renovations underway the last time that I visited. I hope to return soon and experience the hotel once the renovations were completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Munkeycreed
Couples
Charlotte, North Carolina
Oct 4, 2012

Great Deal!!!!!!

This hotel has gotten a bad rap from previous reviewers. It was in a good location I really only saw a few homeless people in the area surrounding the hotel. The room we had was a delux queen with our own bath. The bathroom was nice size and the room had a queen bed with flat screen tv and two end tables. Not huge but not tiny either. The rooms were kept very clean while I was there. We had a room facing the street and during the day you had normal city noise but after around 10pm at night it calmed down and you could sleep with limited noise. The Hayes Valley neighborohood that is located right behind the hotel was very nice and has plenty of restaurants to chose from. The trolly stopped right in front of the hotel and would take you to all the tourist attractions. The hotel staff were all wonderful and very helpful with all questions we had. For the price we paid this hotel was a great deal!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Saghar
Family
SD
Jul 2, 2012

I Dont Recommend It!!

The location was close to bus stop, but there were so many homeless around. At the middle of the night someone was moving a cart full of glass bottles (you can imagine the noise). There was not even a small coffee maker in the room. There was a coffee maker in the hallway which they were putting it away at night. There was no receptionist at night. Fire alarm went off two times during my stay, we had to wait till the receptionist come and decide what to do. Anyway I don’t recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.F. Weekender
Couples
Ollympia, WA
Feb 20, 2012

Good location at great price.

Boutique hôtel. Noise and room temperature control were issues. Great staff, very helpful. Room was small but clean. Very nice location in Hayes Valley. A good option if on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
James99
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Dangerous location

The room was so small that there was no closet or wardrobe to hang your cloths. They have no AC only steam radiators for heat and if its on its on if not then tough. The area has a very rough crowd with homeless and drug dealers at the corners. The staff was helpful and nice. They need to go to card keys because they give you this big old room key to carry around and its not safe because it has your room number on it. The bed was very comfortable and there is a few good restaurants near by. It was cheep enough for San Francisco but you could do much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aliciajoy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 12, 2012

Great cheap hotel

I stayed here for four nights, and I had a nice stay. The building is old - it's cute, but it does have "character." That being said, the bathroom had recently been redone and it looks like they've repainted recently. Everything was clean, comfortable, and worked well for me. The staff was really nice, too. The area around it was pretty loud at night, and the windows didn't keep out the noise very well, but I fell asleep pretty easily anyway. I ended up paying about $100/night, and for that price in SF, you really can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pause Wine Bar next door is excellent. I had food and wine, and both were great! And the service was fantastic, too!

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HRHSRJ
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Dicey Neighborhood

We were hoping for more, but perhaps our expectations were too high. This is not in a good neighborhood, it does not feel safe to walk around at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VtaCA
Single
Ventura, CA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

You get $65 worth

Rooms are tiny, awkward, dated. Not comfortable, but also not disgusting. Note again how much you paid. It's in the heart of the city within walking distance to many restaurants, and with many public transportation options. If you're spending all day exploring the city and only need a place to sleep, this'll work. If you need lodging comfort or expect to spend significant time in your room, open up your wallet and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotchmaster
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Economical, Clean and fiendly

Not anything more than a clean room and friendly staff. However if traveling on a dime worth a look. Staff was helpful and attentive. Especially Paolo...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Suppenkuche for authentic German Cuisine at a reasonable price...

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berlin
Friends
London, UK
Nov 16, 2011

Fantastic short break

Very warm welcome in hotel, helpful staff and very central location close to local amenities. Room very clean and love the small wi fi library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top