Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1668 market street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Experience

Its on old hotel, small room but it was a great hotel. If you are looking for something different, unique, & one of a kind hotel this is it. I really recommend it. The down side is smells old with perfume but you get used to it. Other than that great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC the traveling charity founder
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 6, 2010

Great Vacation Hotel

I loved this hotel, super sweet staff and very homey feel! FANTASTIC location! It was either a short cab ride/trolley ride or walk to anywhere a vacationing crew would want to be! I was there for some work so the lack of a workplace was difficult but I worked it out, that would be my only change! Everything else was awesome! I am going back next month!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When I say short walk, I would say 5 blocks. Go to the Mission, there are miles of super food options, some big, some small but all types and wonderful! Next to the hotel there is a very popular restaurant Zuni's, and I went there 2 times, and it was nice but I had more fun at Buck's Tavern, across the street from the hotel! Great bartenders and too fun! Great environment and fantastic food! Eat there or get it to go and you won't be disappointed!

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJAY
Single
New Jersey
Sep 12, 2011

just what I needed

staff was friendly, helpful, and professional; I was made to feel part of the "hotel family"; location was perfect -- walking, public transportation, etc. all convenient; rooms small but clean -- including two 'common rooms' where you can read, make internet connections, chat with other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Apr 1, 2010

Great hotel for budget travelers

The rate was a bargain, the hotel was in a great location easy ride by trolley to Union square and financial district, my room was clean, confortable free WIFI, very helpful and experienced staff. I tough it was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within walking distance, try Stacks for brunch on Hayes street.

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
seattle,wa
Nov 19, 2009

lovely, charming place.

I found this place to be a lovely experience.the room is small but nicely appointed. I was comfortable there. the front desk staff is friendly and welcoming,the location is perfect,"bus stop right at the front of the hotel".it's not super fancy but really embodies the vibe of san francisco perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try cav wine bar next door

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
arkansas
Sep 7, 2010

Pleasantly surprised, Great value

We were pleasantly surprised with service of this little place. Staff provided great directions to anywhere in the city, let us check-in at 11 am, store our luggage until 10 pm after check-out time, the room were quiet and confortable this hotel was built almost 100 years ago which meams some small compromises, but not many, don't expect all the amenities of a big chain. I will go back again to the edwardian if I am in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Zuni cafe next door and in the hayes valley "Stacks" about 5 minutes walk, one the best breakfasts I had.

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saportavoyage
Couples
Marseille
Oct 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay in San Fra

First time at the edwardian hotel and I was very satisfied, the staff was wonderful, the atmosphere was also nice, the continental breakfast was great , at the Italian cafe trieste across the street for $ 5.00 you have to purchase it at the front desk,they have the best capuccino's. Location was awesome no need for a car, get the transport pass and have a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
santa clara
Jun 27, 2010

very nice place to stay in san francisco

The edwardian is historic structure so do not expect all the modern luxuries. The hotel is nicely restored and well kept, the rooms though tiny are confortable and provide sufficient amount of space to get around. After all if you are going to spend vacation time stuck in your hotel room, you wasting valuable time in a very wonderful city. We will most likely stay again at the edwardian hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try zuni cafe next door it's delicious.

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Aug 31, 2009

Good value

I think it is a good value for San Francisco, the rate is very reasonable, the hotel has a lot of charm it reminded me the small boutique hotels I stayed in the Provence, France. My room was not large but clean and quiet. The front desk clerk was very helpful and gave me some good tips .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lof of good restaurants in the area, try Zuni cafe next door.

Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gamoonbat
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Professional Meeting

I stayed at the Edwardian two years in a row while attending the annual meeting of the American Geophysical Union in San Francisco. I love the neighborhood and the charm of this hotel. There were renovations underway the last time that I visited. I hope to return soon and experience the hotel once the renovations were completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top