$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

2 stars
1668 market street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
31 reviews
This is a great place to stay in San Fra

First time at the edwardian hotel and I was very satisfied, the staff was wonderful, the atmosphere... See full review

  • Saportavoyage
  • Oct 12, 2010
very nice place to stay in san francisco

The edwardian is historic structure so do not expect all the modern luxuries. The hotel is nicely... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2010
Across from the historic Muni Metro station and offering easy access to major downtown San Francisco attractions, this hotel features comfortable accommodations in a central and convenient location. Guests staying at Edwardian Hotel can enjoy spacious guest rooms furnished with cable TV. Select rooms offer city views. Area attractions such as Davies Symphony Hall, the Opera House and City Hall are all only moments from Hotel Edwardian. With easy access to the metro station, Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf are also only minutes away.

Hotel Map

37.7734 -122.4216
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
Across from the historic Muni Metro station and offering easy access to major downtown San Francisco attractions, this hotel features comfortable accommodations in a central and convenient location. Guests staying at Edwardian Hotel can enjoy spacious guest rooms furnished with cable TV. Select rooms offer city views. Area attractions such as Davies Symphony Hall, the Opera House and City Hall are all only moments from Hotel Edwardian. With easy access to the metro station, Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf are also only minutes away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edwardian San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Edwardian San Francisco Hotel Rooms

STANDARD Queen
1 Queen bed with Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
DELUXE Queen
Large room with 1 Queen bed, Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
STANDARD Double
1 Double bed with Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock
DELUXE twin
Large room with 2 twin beds Ironing facilities, Fan, Carpeted floor, Shower, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Cable TV, Wake up service/Alarm clock

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.8 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.4 mi
  • Morrison Planetarium: 2.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Edwardian is a very short walk to some of the best restaurants in the city. Cav wine & Bar serving Mediterranean food (in the building), Zuni serving California cuisine (next door), Espetus Brazilian restaurant (next door), Sauce serving Asian Food (1block away), Absinthe French restaurant (three blocks away), Jardiniere French restaurant (4 blocks away), Delle stelle Italian restaurant and Hayes Bar & Grill known for its delicious steaks (3 blocks).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxInL.A.
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 14, 2010

Very nice staff, charming place

I was traveling for a conference and needed someplace comfortable but without frills. This place was perfect. The price was extremely reasonable, the bed comfy, the pillows fluffy. Lighting was a bit dim but serviceable, with a nice shared breakfast nook on the same floor. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty and loaned me an umbrella when the day turned rainy! They were very helpful during my stay, and even afterward they found and mailed to me an item I left in the room. The place was built as an hotel and survived the 1905 earthquake and fire, so it has a real feel of history to it. They are right on the Market Street F Line trolley with a stop directly in front of the hotel. That trolley took me almost directly to the places I needed to travel, so I saved on local transportation as well. Their systems are a bit outdated. The old fashioned elevator had charm except when I came back really tired with my arms full and didn't want to handle the inner door. My biggest gripe is that they don't have free wifi. I could have wished for better hot/cold water controls in the tiny shower in my room, but here was a huge shared shower/tub right outside my room so I didn't mind too much. Overall a strong recommendation, based on price, charm and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurant with tasty food of all sorts and LOADS of vegan options called DeLessio. It's kitty-corner across Market Street at 1693. And the outstanding Zuni Cafe is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
la-ist
Business
los angeles, ca
Feb 22, 2010

just right

hotel was just right in terms of price and in a good location to see the murals in the mission district or head on down to the castro. room was a bit small, but we didn't spend a whole lot of time in it - just used it as a home base. made for a nice place to come home to. coda jazz restaurant down gough was excellent and close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Experience

Its on old hotel, small room but it was a great hotel. If you are looking for something different, unique, & one of a kind hotel this is it. I really recommend it. The down side is smells old with perfume but you get used to it. Other than that great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC the traveling charity founder
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 6, 2010

Great Vacation Hotel

I loved this hotel, super sweet staff and very homey feel! FANTASTIC location! It was either a short cab ride/trolley ride or walk to anywhere a vacationing crew would want to be! I was there for some work so the lack of a workplace was difficult but I worked it out, that would be my only change! Everything else was awesome! I am going back next month!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When I say short walk, I would say 5 blocks. Go to the Mission, there are miles of super food options, some big, some small but all types and wonderful! Next to the hotel there is a very popular restaurant Zuni's, and I went there 2 times, and it was nice but I had more fun at Buck's Tavern, across the street from the hotel! Great bartenders and too fun! Great environment and fantastic food! Eat there or get it to go and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJAY
Business
New Jersey
Sep 12, 2011

just what I needed

staff was friendly, helpful, and professional; I was made to feel part of the "hotel family"; location was perfect -- walking, public transportation, etc. all convenient; rooms small but clean -- including two 'common rooms' where you can read, make internet connections, chat with other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Apr 1, 2010

Great hotel for budget travelers

The rate was a bargain, the hotel was in a great location easy ride by trolley to Union square and financial district, my room was clean, confortable free WIFI, very helpful and experienced staff. I tough it was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within walking distance, try Stacks for brunch on Hayes street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle,wa
Nov 19, 2009

lovely, charming place.

I found this place to be a lovely experience.the room is small but nicely appointed. I was comfortable there. the front desk staff is friendly and welcoming,the location is perfect,"bus stop right at the front of the hotel".it's not super fancy but really embodies the vibe of san francisco perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try cav wine bar next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arkansas
Sep 7, 2010

Pleasantly surprised, Great value

We were pleasantly surprised with service of this little place. Staff provided great directions to anywhere in the city, let us check-in at 11 am, store our luggage until 10 pm after check-out time, the room were quiet and confortable this hotel was built almost 100 years ago which meams some small compromises, but not many, don't expect all the amenities of a big chain. I will go back again to the edwardian if I am in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Zuni cafe next door and in the hayes valley "Stacks" about 5 minutes walk, one the best breakfasts I had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saportavoyage
Business
Marseille
Oct 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay in San Fra

First time at the edwardian hotel and I was very satisfied, the staff was wonderful, the atmosphere was also nice, the continental breakfast was great , at the Italian cafe trieste across the street for $ 5.00 you have to purchase it at the front desk,they have the best capuccino's. Location was awesome no need for a car, get the transport pass and have a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa clara
Jun 27, 2010

very nice place to stay in san francisco

The edwardian is historic structure so do not expect all the modern luxuries. The hotel is nicely restored and well kept, the rooms though tiny are confortable and provide sufficient amount of space to get around. After all if you are going to spend vacation time stuck in your hotel room, you wasting valuable time in a very wonderful city. We will most likely stay again at the edwardian hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try zuni cafe next door it's delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top