$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

2 stars
View map of 465 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Good location, fine hotel

Hotel was good, but the location was the main selling point See full review

  • Eugene G.
  • Jan 22, 2015
mini vacation

Days inn is a nice cheap hotel in a perfect location. the rooms are clean but small (1 Queen bed),... See full review

  • Harrison W
  • Jan 6, 2014
We are nestled in a vibrant area known as Hayes Valley. We are perhaps San Franciscos best kept secret. Hayes Valley is centrally located to many of San Franciscos unique neighborhoods with about twenty different restaurants within a two block walk. Most areas are walkable or accessible by public transportation. Neighborhoods such as The Haight, Castro, Mission, and Union Square are either a few blocks to 1.5 miles away. Destinations along San Franciscos coast like Fishermans Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are between 3 and 5 miles. Other nearby destinations includes Golden Gate Park, ATandT Ball Park, and a variety of museums.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamie R.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

2014 San Francisco Trip

I've stayed at Day's Inn for the past 3 times I've visited San Francisco. The location is very good for me and the area is nice and quiet. The desk clerks are usually not very friendly and can even be rude, but I only have to deal with them when I check in and then check out. All of the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker, which is important to me. However, it is one of the few motels that do not provide a safe to store valuables while I'm out and about. I enjoy my stays at Day's Inn and will stay there again, as well as recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Double Decker is a cute little eatery attached to the Day's Inn hotel (on one end of it) and has the absolute BEST burgers and onion rings!!! Happy Hour every day with half price drink specials and although I haven't tried them, they are supposed to have really awesome wings too! If you stay at this hotel, you really MUST go here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamie R.
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

2014 San Francisco Trip

I've stayed at Day's Inn for the past 3 times I've visited San Francisco. The location is very good for me and the area is nice and quiet. The desk clerks are usually not very friendly and can even be rude, but I only have to deal with them when I check in and then check out. All of the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker, which is important to me. However, it is one of the few motels that do not provide a safe to store valuables while I'm out and about. I enjoy my stays at Day's Inn and will stay there again, as well as recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family stylers
Business
Sacramento
Dec 25, 2013

Excellent value and convenience

clean and includes parking, convenient to sF civic ctr., opera house, symphony hall -- and many small local shops and good eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away -- awesome breakfast at Stacks!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cell Phone Repair Guy
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Not bad for the $$$$$!

San Francisco is so pricey and for $200 a night is not cheap but for this weekend it was. Figured it would be lousey but pleasantly surprised. Nice area for the money. Room was large and clean. Never heard a peep from anyone. Beds were comfy. Bathroom clean and shower even worked. Free parking. Not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Great days in SF(:

The hotel was located in what seens to be the sketchy part of town, but it is all part of the experience. The service, overall was great, they provided us with breakfast in the morning, nothing big but still enough to satisfy your hunger before you head out, and the maid service, as well, was very on top of things. By the time you came back to your hotel room, for us it usually ranged at about 7 pm to 8 pm, your room would be nice and clean, good enough for a night's sleep. Don't be fooled by the looks of the outside of the hotel, because inside there is alot that makes up for it's cheap appearance. San Fransisco, itself, is not very high class like it is said to be, but it is the very best indeed. There is also great bus service, you pay 2 dollars to travel anywhere you want to go for a steay six hours. Areas are nice, I recommened going on a sightseeing tour, which unfortunatly, on this trip we did not get to do so. If you are a person who does not like to encounter the "not so good" parts of town, please do not do to the bart station. Everything else, was just as perfect, to me, as it is said to be. Places like little Italy, china town, and market street, and fisherman's wharf, are all at a resonable location near the hotel. I also recommened a resturaunt in little itally called soudini's, I believe it is located at the corner of Grant and Green, make sure to grab a map on the day of your check in and ask where little italy is located if you must, because the food was spectacular! Truly the highlight of the whole vacation. The food is pricy, it cost at about 19 dollars per person, but you will never find a better lasagne, sour dough, and service. The hotel all takes place in this review, because the area is near all the best places to visit at your stay in San Fransisco. Enjoy! (:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Soudini's! Truly the best italian food i've ever eaten, and the service is exquiset! And gelato! The best.( you can read about soudini's in the review)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2010

Nice

Visited my family, who lived down the street from the motel. So it was convenient for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
triptaker
Business
fresno, ca
Feb 14, 2010

Wonderful Stay

The room was large, and the beds and pillows were soft and comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower a huge plus! A block away from the bus stop, it was easy to travel around the city. Wonderful neighborhood with lodes of great places to eat and fun shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 9, 2008

Great place to stay

This was my first overnight trip to San Francisco and my first concert at The Warfield. The location to my destination was great. It was a 10 minute walk there and back. The room was very clean. Everything seemed to work great. The jacuzzi was a plus. When we checked in and got to the room we had no large towels the housekeepers quickly brought me several towels when asked. The front desk staff was great and the restuarant at the hotel had great burgers and fries and the price was good. I would stay there again. It was a wonderful experience for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Street is a 10 minute walk from this location. Market Street is full food, shopping, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
May 22, 2007

Somewhere to sleep

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel, but there was a bit of a strange smell in the room that I couldn't identify. It was somewhere to sleep and store our things while we were out. The hotel staff was fairly friendly, and able ot give us directions to where we wanted to go. This is a great location for the civic centre, and even being stricktley tourist, it wasn't a bad location, once we realized one of the buses that ran up and down Market street went right past it. The neighborhood was a little dodgy after dark though, and the lady at the front desk when we checked in told us that it wasn't a good idea to go any farther up the street than the hotel after dark!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great cosmotology academy just a couple of blocks from the hotel on Hayes. The rates are great and the stylist are all excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top