$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

2 stars
View map of 465 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Good location, fine hotel

Hotel was good, but the location was the main selling point See full review

  • Eugene G.
  • Jan 22, 2015
mini vacation

Days inn is a nice cheap hotel in a perfect location. the rooms are clean but small (1 Queen bed),... See full review

  • Harrison W
  • Jan 6, 2014
We are nestled in a vibrant area known as Hayes Valley. We are perhaps San Franciscos best kept secret. Hayes Valley is centrally located to many of San Franciscos unique neighborhoods with about twenty different restaurants within a two block walk. Most areas are walkable or accessible by public transportation. Neighborhoods such as The Haight, Castro, Mission, and Union Square are either a few blocks to 1.5 miles away. Destinations along San Franciscos coast like Fishermans Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are between 3 and 5 miles. Other nearby destinations includes Golden Gate Park, ATandT Ball Park, and a variety of museums.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Exploratorium: 2.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St Maarten visit 2
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 6, 2012

Great value

I chose this hotel for the price and the fridge/microwave in the room. The room was clean & efficient. I arrived early (before noon) but couldn't check in until about 2pm. There was no real lobby waiting area. It looked closer to the Moscone Center on the map, but was about 30 minutes away (walking at brisk NYC pace). On the 3rd day, I was informed that the bus at the corner would put me near the Moscone Center. This became my primary mode of transportation for the duration of my stay except late at night when I took a cab instead. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sp
Business
HONG KONG
Mar 1, 2015

Just OK

The hotel is just OK. No surprise. A little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eugene G.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Good location, fine hotel

Hotel was good, but the location was the main selling point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamie R.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

2014 San Francisco Trip

I've stayed at Day's Inn for the past 3 times I've visited San Francisco. The location is very good for me and the area is nice and quiet. The desk clerks are usually not very friendly and can even be rude, but I only have to deal with them when I check in and then check out. All of the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker, which is important to me. However, it is one of the few motels that do not provide a safe to store valuables while I'm out and about. I enjoy my stays at Day's Inn and will stay there again, as well as recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Double Decker is a cute little eatery attached to the Day's Inn hotel (on one end of it) and has the absolute BEST burgers and onion rings!!! Happy Hour every day with half price drink specials and although I haven't tried them, they are supposed to have really awesome wings too! If you stay at this hotel, you really MUST go here!

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamie R.
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

2014 San Francisco Trip

I've stayed at Day's Inn for the past 3 times I've visited San Francisco. The location is very good for me and the area is nice and quiet. The desk clerks are usually not very friendly and can even be rude, but I only have to deal with them when I check in and then check out. All of the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker, which is important to me. However, it is one of the few motels that do not provide a safe to store valuables while I'm out and about. I enjoy my stays at Day's Inn and will stay there again, as well as recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amtrak Fan
Business
Oxnard, California
Sep 17, 2014

Pleased Opera Attendee

A decent room at a decent rate only three blocks from War Memorial Opera House, and located on the bus line, #21, to R.R. ticket office at Ferry Plaza near Market and The Embarcadero. I was perfectly satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shanghaines
Business
California
Aug 8, 2014

Outside corridor

I hate hotels with outside corridors, which render windows useless. I wish you would specify it in your description of hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim the travelled
Business
Sacto CA
May 1, 2014

Quick trip to the City

Location, location, location. Hey its right in the middle of SF. Hayes Valley has lots to offer, food, shopping, and drinks, all within 2 blocks. A park is right around the corner with a couple of food trucks also. The hotel itself is fine and the rooms are clean. Parking for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moozie...
Business
West Sacramento, CA
Apr 20, 2014

Nothing fancy...

But then, I wasn't looking for fancy for one night. Parking is free, is you can find a spot. Don't take your car out and come back late and expect a spot. I rated the individual stuff a 4, but overall a 3, as it could us a little "uplift". The "hot tub" is a bathroom jacuzzi - but good sized - not deep as the photos made it look. And our stopper did not seal well, so had to keep water running to keep it over the jets. Bit noisy through the walls, and our room was right next to the "maids room", and there was tremendous "chatter" in Spanish starting way too early for a Saturday morning. We got a deal so the value was there, but it is not worth the "going rate", other than the location and the hot tub! Nice people. Oh yeah... I left my computer charger in the room, and they are still searching for it? Would I recommend it... yes, if you want the basics and just a place to clean up and sleep, and be close the civic center/Hayes Valley area (lots of great restaurants and shops).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Titheit
Business
Iowa
Mar 31, 2014

For the area, was OK

The breakfast that's offered is not worth the effort, My room had some odor that I aired out each night I returned back. Was able to park for free, bus was 1/2 block, great little french breakfast place a block away. All in all, SF is very expensive for hotels, so if you don't need extra nice then OK. I normally always take my own pillow when I travel, I was scared when we arrived but of course my pillow is much better, it wasn't horrible. As noted I would recommend this hotel, but with clarification of what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French bakery, breakfast/sandwich place. Very nice.

Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harrison W
Business
grass valley ca
Jan 6, 2014

mini vacation

Days inn is a nice cheap hotel in a perfect location. the rooms are clean but small (1 Queen bed), bathroom is big and shower has hot water. you cannot expect a 5 Star hotel for this cheap price. I think it was perfect for what I needed, and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top