$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
excellent downtown experience

A good place for visiting downtown San Francisco. Good breakfast and clean accommodation. See full review

  • D Travel
  • Sep 22, 2013
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • SoMa: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 85
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notmuchsleep1
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 30, 2012

Horrible Noise Level at 747 exhaust level.

The walls in this 1970 motel were paper thin. I mean paper thin. You could hear people whispering outside. Even on the 4th floor you could hear people partying in the swimming pool area till 4 am. Only one elevator that is really slow and smells bad. The rooms do not have air conditioning and smell dank and moldy. We were warned by the staff the the rooms in the front of the hotel had a lot of street noise and they were not kidding. They moved us the second night but with the noise from adjacent rooms we still did not get much sleep. The breakfast is a total waste of time. The fruit was green and the breads were stale. No cereal, milk, or even yogurt. If you want breakfast you will have to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adrian8732
Business
West Covina, California
Mar 26, 2013

Parking Fees

Poor experience. Hotel website did not have advertised parking fee. 25 plus tax nightly on top of the rate just to park there. Can't park on the street either. Management was rude and unwilling to work with us. Will not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatraz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria in Boise
Business
Boise, ID
Jun 24, 2013

Beware

This was just a bad feeling from the minute one. First if you are renting a car or driving DO NOT book this HOTEL they say there is limited parking BUT we checked in at 3pm on a Friday and were told that all parking was gone for the weekend and that we could either do street parking - wasn't readily available or park in a garage 3-5 blocks away and walk. Then a guy walked up after us and asked for a parking pass and he was given one. The location isn't close to much of anything. We then waited for the elevator and waited and waited then when it finally came there was a cleaning lady in the elevator that filled the whole elevator and she just said sorry and pushed the button and left us and about 5 other people standing their with luggage. then when we go to our floor they maid carts where blocking so we could not get to our room. When we asked one of the maids to move our carts so we could get to our room she acted put out. the room was clean but nothing special and we immediately looked for a different place to stay. When i went back down and told the guy at the front desk we weren't staying there he didn't even ask why we were unhappy. In the end, we ended up paying $500 buck to stay somewhere else and couldn't get our money back even for the second day. As the cancellation policy was 4:00am the day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wildeyes
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 5, 2013

Great location/Far From Great Hotel

The hotel website makes the place look renovated and attractive inn. The truth is, it's an aged motel with some superficial cosmetic makeover that still leaves it bleak and unappealing. We had a 3-night reservation last week, but bailed after 1 horrible night and, instead, landed a beautiful room at the Fairmont for less money than this hotel. To the hotel's credit, when I complained that I just could not stay in the depressing cell of a room I was initially assigned, they moved me to a "junior suite." But, while I was initially excited, I found that the suite was just a broad expanse of sparsely furnished, industrial carpet with a really nasty stain and lots of wasted space. And the windows do not do much in the way of blocking noise. Nice people worked there, and the buffet breakfast was pretty good; but the rooms, at least to my taste, were intolerable. If the cost had been $75/night rather than $200, I would have accepted it; but that wasn't the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OC tourist
Business
Santa Ana, California
Jun 2, 2012

You get what you pay for.

This is a great hotel if you are planning to visit San Francisco and be within walking distance to most, if not all, tourist hot spots. Room is small, service is pretty polite, and you can tell this is not a 5 start hotel right as you walk in. They try to charge for parking and in my experience, they did not have enough parking spaces so I had to look for a street where I could park for 3 days. The chances of getting a ticket were high and you can get towed or pay $100 for a simple parking violation. Anyway, the complimentary breakfast is composed of old fruit, bread, butter, and coffee. No eggs, oh not here Sir! Like I mentioned earlier, you only want to stay here if you want to pay a fair price and be right in downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

15 min to all tourist hot-spots!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BitsBocker
Business
Fullerton
Jun 3, 2013

DaVinci Not

The location isn't bad, if you don't mind walking. There was nothing I liked about the hotel. The room was small, only one window which looked out to the rooms across the way and a parking lot. No extras. Bottom line, I won't book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Buena Vista

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dc511
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 26, 2013

Just a clean motel at a good location

Clean room but a very service motel type in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
achile
Business
Toulouse France
Aug 26, 2013

My honeymoon could have finished a smoother way

First of all, this review is certainly influenced by the fact we were finishing our honeymoon and had a very good experience in another famous hotel in San Francisco (Union square area). We were quite disapointed when we entered the room. It's been the only black point of our 3 weeks stay in the USA (we are foreigners) The staff has always been professionnal, helpful and friendly. However, we found the value of the hotel was not adequate with the price we paid for it. It was overpriced with respect to the confort of the room we were given. It was exactly the same price (by the dollar) than the 4 stars hotel we booked at Union square . - View on parking lot, - no A/C, - rather small room, - no elevators during half of the stay - average location, - rather noisy (next to the street) After explaining our feeling with this, the staff provided us a room with A/C (mobile module) and a much better view. but was if we didn't enquire? The free breakfast doesn't close the gap unfortunately. We just couldn't have a seat the first day, and didn't went for it the other days. Once again the staff did its possible, but I think the price positioning needs some attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SD2SF
Business
San Diego
May 26, 2014

Clean but no frills

The lobby is very pretty but the rooms are very sterile. The cleaning supplies that are used are a bit chemically and have a weird smell so we bought a candle to burn to get rid of the smell. We had called guest services for a blanket and waited an hour. We called back to check on the status and it came quickly after the second call. However, my impression is that we e would have not received the blanket without the second phone call. The bathroom is very small and the shower reminds me of one you find on a average cabin on a cruise ship. There is NO counter space in the bathroom which makes it difficult to get ready. No air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a MUNI pass for traveling about the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Icon
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Weekend Get away

Overall I had an enjoyable and relaxing weekend break, the staff are very friendly and accomdating. I would stay here again for a quite relaxing break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top