$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
View map of 2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guy Stern
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 16, 2012

The real Da Vinci name should not be used by this place.

Both main desk employees were excellent. After that the experience was not enjoyable. Room was OK, nice shower, no mirrors anywhere except bathroom sink. Irritating part is the dining. Horrible continental breakfast, unripe melon and stale bagels and no cereal or anything decent. $4 for 2 over easy eggs? Really? 2 days at this breakfast was enough. Room service was fairly fast but the guy taking the order needed to repeat 5th grade so he understood how to take an order. I had to repeat, salad, soup, milk, and water 5 times. Best part was I left a nice shirt there and when I called about it shortly after leaving housekeeping swore it was not there. Beds are decent. And cannot forget the Wednesday night party that they allowed. Sounded like John Belushi in Animal House, it was unbelievably disrespectful on a business night at 11pm. Will NEVER stay here again. Makes Motel 6 seem luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BitsBocker
Business
Fullerton
Jun 3, 2013

DaVinci Not

The location isn't bad, if you don't mind walking. There was nothing I liked about the hotel. The room was small, only one window which looked out to the rooms across the way and a parking lot. No extras. Bottom line, I won't book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Buena Vista

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dc511
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 26, 2013

Just a clean motel at a good location

Clean room but a very service motel type in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rafael Chacon
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 16, 2013

Too expensive for what is worth

This should be a motel. The location is great. Rooms are clean. But it is to way expensive for what is worth...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philly man
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 25, 2013

Disappointed

Generally disappointed in this hotel, the website leads you to believe this is a new hotel. All they did was put a new facade on a 1970's era motel. The rooms are outdated, the elevators worked poorly, and the complimentary breakfast was a joke. I would not recommned this motel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris's Steakhouse was excellent although pricey

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
achile
Business
Toulouse France
Aug 26, 2013

My honeymoon could have finished a smoother way

First of all, this review is certainly influenced by the fact we were finishing our honeymoon and had a very good experience in another famous hotel in San Francisco (Union square area). We were quite disapointed when we entered the room. It's been the only black point of our 3 weeks stay in the USA (we are foreigners) The staff has always been professionnal, helpful and friendly. However, we found the value of the hotel was not adequate with the price we paid for it. It was overpriced with respect to the confort of the room we were given. It was exactly the same price (by the dollar) than the 4 stars hotel we booked at Union square . - View on parking lot, - no A/C, - rather small room, - no elevators during half of the stay - average location, - rather noisy (next to the street) After explaining our feeling with this, the staff provided us a room with A/C (mobile module) and a much better view. but was if we didn't enquire? The free breakfast doesn't close the gap unfortunately. We just couldn't have a seat the first day, and didn't went for it the other days. Once again the staff did its possible, but I think the price positioning needs some attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SD2SF
Business
San Diego
May 26, 2014

Clean but no frills

The lobby is very pretty but the rooms are very sterile. The cleaning supplies that are used are a bit chemically and have a weird smell so we bought a candle to burn to get rid of the smell. We had called guest services for a blanket and waited an hour. We called back to check on the status and it came quickly after the second call. However, my impression is that we e would have not received the blanket without the second phone call. The bathroom is very small and the shower reminds me of one you find on a average cabin on a cruise ship. There is NO counter space in the bathroom which makes it difficult to get ready. No air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a MUNI pass for traveling about the city.

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Francesco701
Business
Milan
Sep 5, 2014

I Expected Better

Room 403 .. the floor trembles always ..and when the elevator arrives at the floor makes a terrible mess

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Icon
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Weekend Get away

Overall I had an enjoyable and relaxing weekend break, the staff are very friendly and accomdating. I would stay here again for a quite relaxing break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharon B
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 7, 2012

Excellent Staff

The front desk staff was extremely helpful. My daughter arrived before I did and they made sure she was comfortable and gave her maps of the area so she could explore on her own. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The continental breakfast is not very good - only bread, fruit and one type of drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top