$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
Excellent!!

For the price, you can't get any better. Excellent staff and accommodations. Very clean. The only... See full review

  • OgdensMom
  • Apr 16, 2014
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Hotel Map

37.7991 -122.4242
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
Located on the main route to and from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) as well as Oakland International Airport.
Area description
da Vinci Villa are located at 2550 Van Ness Avenue between the vibrant neighborhoods of Russian Hill and the Marina. da Vinci Villa is nestled just one block from Polk Street Cafe's, Restaurants, Day Spa's, and Specialty Shops as well as being just blocks to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf, where you'll find popular attractions like Pier 39, Anchorage Square and the Aquarium of the Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlo Deal Finder
San Francisco, California
Oct 29, 2012

Pleasant surprise for what we needed.

This place was such a pleasant surprise once my friends and I checked in. I have to admit that we were looking for a great deal that was comfy and close to the venue of the event we were attending. Not only did this place exceed our expectations, the view from our 5th floor room was absolutely stunning. Seeing a complete view of the entire golden gate bridge and the bay was priceless. What's more is this place has its own parking, even for a small fee. I will definitely be coming back to this place and would even recommend this place to future visitors of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants available with just a few blocks of walking. From a local dive bar to places that are a little more upscale, this area has anything a visitor needs

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sebastian Arizona
Sebastian Arizona
Mar 3, 2014

Nothing special for that much $$$

I was disappointed with hotel. Overpriced not worth it all that money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarmelKidz
Business
Carmel, CA
Mar 7, 2012

Bare Bones 1960's Motel

If you are in your 20's and artsy or a bargain seeking traveler, this slightly remodeled old motel might be right up your alley. As a middle-aged woman traveling on business, I would have checked out as soon as I arrived and found another hotel, but was too exhausted. I paid for a king bed and was given a tiny room with a double bed. Minimal effort has apparently been made to remodel in contemporary style (the bed was comfy and linens luxurious) but the room had a weird odor, the bathroom was the size of a broom closet with no counters, there was no full length mirror, and the only window was a sliding glass door onto the public balcony. There was no way to open the door for air a couple inches and lock it in that position for security, so I had to prop the luggage rack and a menu in so no one would enter my room at night. With all the young people staying there, it was thankfully quiet at night, and the location is great for a San Francisco hotel, accessible to all the sights and popular neighborhoods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notmuchsleep1
Los Angeles
Oct 30, 2012

Horrible Noise Level at 747 exhaust level.

The walls in this 1970 motel were paper thin. I mean paper thin. You could hear people whispering outside. Even on the 4th floor you could hear people partying in the swimming pool area till 4 am. Only one elevator that is really slow and smells bad. The rooms do not have air conditioning and smell dank and moldy. We were warned by the staff the the rooms in the front of the hotel had a lot of street noise and they were not kidding. They moved us the second night but with the noise from adjacent rooms we still did not get much sleep. The breakfast is a total waste of time. The fruit was green and the breads were stale. No cereal, milk, or even yogurt. If you want breakfast you will have to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Iamshasha
Fresno, CA
Dec 31, 2012

Not good for winter vacation.

You have to go out around the uncovered pool to go to your rooms. The restaurant is also outside whose door, according to the waiter, needs to be constantly open because it cant be opened from the outside, otherwise, the customer seated near the door will have to open it everytime somebody needs to come in. The receptionist at night (a man) was not that welcoming but the asian lady receptionist in the morning is great and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adrian8732
West Covina, California
Mar 26, 2013

Parking Fees

Poor experience. Hotel website did not have advertised parking fee. 25 plus tax nightly on top of the rate just to park there. Can't park on the street either. Management was rude and unwilling to work with us. Will not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatraz

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria in Boise
Boise, ID
Jun 24, 2013

Beware

This was just a bad feeling from the minute one. First if you are renting a car or driving DO NOT book this HOTEL they say there is limited parking BUT we checked in at 3pm on a Friday and were told that all parking was gone for the weekend and that we could either do street parking - wasn't readily available or park in a garage 3-5 blocks away and walk. Then a guy walked up after us and asked for a parking pass and he was given one. The location isn't close to much of anything. We then waited for the elevator and waited and waited then when it finally came there was a cleaning lady in the elevator that filled the whole elevator and she just said sorry and pushed the button and left us and about 5 other people standing their with luggage. then when we go to our floor they maid carts where blocking so we could not get to our room. When we asked one of the maids to move our carts so we could get to our room she acted put out. the room was clean but nothing special and we immediately looked for a different place to stay. When i went back down and told the guy at the front desk we weren't staying there he didn't even ask why we were unhappy. In the end, we ended up paying $500 buck to stay somewhere else and couldn't get our money back even for the second day. As the cancellation policy was 4:00am the day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wildeyes
Los Angeles
Jun 5, 2013

Great location/Far From Great Hotel

The hotel website makes the place look renovated and attractive inn. The truth is, it's an aged motel with some superficial cosmetic makeover that still leaves it bleak and unappealing. We had a 3-night reservation last week, but bailed after 1 horrible night and, instead, landed a beautiful room at the Fairmont for less money than this hotel. To the hotel's credit, when I complained that I just could not stay in the depressing cell of a room I was initially assigned, they moved me to a "junior suite." But, while I was initially excited, I found that the suite was just a broad expanse of sparsely furnished, industrial carpet with a really nasty stain and lots of wasted space. And the windows do not do much in the way of blocking noise. Nice people worked there, and the buffet breakfast was pretty good; but the rooms, at least to my taste, were intolerable. If the cost had been $75/night rather than $200, I would have accepted it; but that wasn't the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Calbert
Dyer, Indiana
Sep 25, 2011

Reminded me of a Motel 6 that had been painted

For advertised as being new hotel since summer of 2011, reminded me of a Motel 6 with new indoor/outdoor carpeting & new paint, our son said it reminded him of his dorm. No airconditioning, with sliding glass door for ventilation, problem was, walkway outside of it so anyone would just "walk in". No place to get coffee except in your room (1 cup). Moved next day to other room with a window, but street noise & garbage trucks kept us up all night. No vanity in bathroom, had to put toilitries on toilet to get ready. Never would recommend it to anyone, 2 star hotel to me. Yuck!! Not cheap either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf about 3 loooong blocks away, other than that, nothing much around there

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OC tourist
Santa Ana, California
Jun 2, 2012

You get what you pay for.

This is a great hotel if you are planning to visit San Francisco and be within walking distance to most, if not all, tourist hot spots. Room is small, service is pretty polite, and you can tell this is not a 5 start hotel right as you walk in. They try to charge for parking and in my experience, they did not have enough parking spaces so I had to look for a street where I could park for 3 days. The chances of getting a ticket were high and you can get towed or pay $100 for a simple parking violation. Anyway, the complimentary breakfast is composed of old fruit, bread, butter, and coffee. No eggs, oh not here Sir! Like I mentioned earlier, you only want to stay here if you want to pay a fair price and be right in downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

15 min to all tourist hot-spots!

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bilko2720
California
Oct 15, 2012

A tad inconsiderate

I do not have much negative to say about the room, because the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit odd as the shower was open (no doors or stall), so you could essentially shower while sitting on the toilet. Literally. I was even willing to forgive the constant loud hum and vibration from the ancient elevator close to our room, which rumbled most of the night as people used it. But what was unforgivable was construction work being performed 4 feet from the room starting at 10:30 PM. That's right, just as we were settling down for the night, in rolls the worker next door in the stairwell, blasting ranchero music and hammering and driving screws with a power drill! I had to call the front desk (he would respond to my yelling, whistling and pounding on the door to get him to stop. i called the front desk and they finally got him to stop. The next day when I was checking out, the excuse I got was that if they do it in the day, people complain that the stairwell is closed (there are several others mind you). In any case - really? It is better to pound away at night and not close a stairwell in the daytime? Sorry, but that just seems ludicrous. I understand they have to complete their renovations, but what every traveller needs most is a good night's rest - undisturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search