$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
excellent downtown experience

A good place for visiting downtown San Francisco. Good breakfast and clean accommodation. See full review

  • D Travel
  • Sep 22, 2013
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • SoMa: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 85
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Francesco701
Business
Milan
Sep 5, 2014

I Expected Better

Room 403 .. the floor trembles always ..and when the elevator arrives at the floor makes a terrible mess

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krick
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2014

Nice hotel, suites don't work well for small children

Fantastic location both to tourist spots (easy walking to the wharf) and rest of SF. Parking worked ok. When we arrived late Thursday evening the hotel parking was full and we had to drive around to find street parking. But once we got a hotel parking spot the next day ($30/night), parking was great. The included breakfast was great. The hotel building is a little quirky with a weird set of elevators/stairs to get around. To get to our 5th floor room from the lobby we had to walk down a bunch of corridors, take an elevator to floor #4, more corridors, then a stair, then more corridors. We had one major problem at the hotel, but it's not something I give them a bad review for: We rented a "suite" (livingRoom+bedRoom with door in-between) because we have a 4month old and a 21month old and need a space for them to sleep in separately. The issue was that the bedroom had a skylight with no way to cover it up for darkness. The living room had tons of windows with shades which didn't reduce light much. Without any dark place to use, the kids didn't go peacefully to sleep until the sun set, even though their normal bedtime is 7pm. Perhaps this is our fault for teaching them that darkness==sleep by using blackout curtains at home for naps and nights. But the skylight in the bedroom without any way to cover it up is a pretty weird idea even for regular adult sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marin family
Business
Fontana, California
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect location

Nice cozy hotel. It was like 10 min drive from fisher mans wharf. The room was really cozy and the staff was excellent. The only downfall was that it is an outside hotel, we happen to stay on a rainy day so to go have breackfast we had to get a little wet, but other than that I would defenetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to travel every year
Business
California
Feb 17, 2014

Great Hotel

I really liked this hotel it's close by the Fisherman's Wharf which we walked too. We got a Jr. Suit that had a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The staff was very friendly. Compared to other hotels we have stayed in, this is a nice place and you get your money's worth. I will be staying at this hotel for any future SF trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie Allentown
Business
Allentown, Pa
Dec 4, 2013

Great location and price!

This was our second time staying here. We had a family Thanksgiving with my son who lives in Pac Heights and my son and daughter also had rooms here. It is a great location to Fisherman's Wharf and close to the bus stops! A wonderful hotel for a very good price. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We will stay here all the time in future visits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The bus system is very easy to follow and to get from the hotel. It is also cheap! A $2.00 fare ( .75 cents for Sr. Citizens) is good for 3 hours of bus transfers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Travel
Business
MA
Sep 22, 2013

excellent downtown experience

A good place for visiting downtown San Francisco. Good breakfast and clean accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honehpug
Business
philadelphia,pa
Aug 30, 2013

family vacation

A cute boutique hotel that also serves as campus housing. The bathrooms do not have any area for your stuff and the do not have shower doors or curtains so the bathrooms get wet. The ac is portable and loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marina district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Travel
Business
MA
Aug 8, 2013

Excellent stop-over in San Francisco

We had the chance to visit San Francisco on our way to Yosemite. This hotel provided an excellent experience in a convenient location, fairly close to main attractions. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philly man
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 25, 2013

Disappointed

Generally disappointed in this hotel, the website leads you to believe this is a new hotel. All they did was put a new facade on a 1970's era motel. The rooms are outdated, the elevators worked poorly, and the complimentary breakfast was a joke. I would not recommned this motel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris's Steakhouse was excellent although pricey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abmac
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 27, 2013

Great location

1 block from Lombard street and a 10 minute walk to Fishermans wharf. Perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top