$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
83 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
excellent downtown experience

A good place for visiting downtown San Francisco. Good breakfast and clean accommodation. See full review

  • D Travel
  • Sep 22, 2013
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Hotel Map

37.7991 -122.4242
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
Located on the main route to and from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) as well as Oakland International Airport.
Area description
da Vinci Villa are located at 2550 Van Ness Avenue between the vibrant neighborhoods of Russian Hill and the Marina. da Vinci Villa is nestled just one block from Polk Street Cafe's, Restaurants, Day Spa's, and Specialty Shops as well as being just blocks to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf, where you'll find popular attractions like Pier 39, Anchorage Square and the Aquarium of the Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • SoMa: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sf Guest
Business
Houston Texas
Nov 2, 2012

Decent hotel, Great Location

The rooms were average and a little noisy, but the location was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ JA
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 30, 2012

Daughter's Doctorate Graduation and Employer Award

The hotel is nice, but quite old. The elevator was very slow. The rooms were OK. The bed was great! We didn't get a chance to try the pool, but it looked very clean and nice. The continental breakfast was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notmuchsleep1
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 30, 2012

Horrible Noise Level at 747 exhaust level.

The walls in this 1970 motel were paper thin. I mean paper thin. You could hear people whispering outside. Even on the 4th floor you could hear people partying in the swimming pool area till 4 am. Only one elevator that is really slow and smells bad. The rooms do not have air conditioning and smell dank and moldy. We were warned by the staff the the rooms in the front of the hotel had a lot of street noise and they were not kidding. They moved us the second night but with the noise from adjacent rooms we still did not get much sleep. The breakfast is a total waste of time. The fruit was green and the breads were stale. No cereal, milk, or even yogurt. If you want breakfast you will have to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlo Deal Finder
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 29, 2012

Pleasant surprise for what we needed.

This place was such a pleasant surprise once my friends and I checked in. I have to admit that we were looking for a great deal that was comfy and close to the venue of the event we were attending. Not only did this place exceed our expectations, the view from our 5th floor room was absolutely stunning. Seeing a complete view of the entire golden gate bridge and the bay was priceless. What's more is this place has its own parking, even for a small fee. I will definitely be coming back to this place and would even recommend this place to future visitors of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants available with just a few blocks of walking. From a local dive bar to places that are a little more upscale, this area has anything a visitor needs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TrinkOct2012
Business
Columbus, In
Oct 28, 2012

No big complaints

The hotel was basically nice. Very clean and comfortable for a hotel room. Ice machines and pop/soda machines should work on all floors. Staff was above average. For a big city the price was average. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kitty 2012
Business
San Francisco
Oct 24, 2012

What you see is not what you get.

The staff was wonderful. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. This is not a hotel this is a motel that has up graded the area's shown in the profile and that's it. The location was safe and within walking distance for most of the things we planned to do in town. The room was clean. The other areas such as the halls elevator and walk ways need a lot of inprovement. This establishment leaves a lot to be desired. I have not problem with motels just call a spade a spade in the profile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bilko2720
Business
California
Oct 15, 2012

A tad inconsiderate

I do not have much negative to say about the room, because the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit odd as the shower was open (no doors or stall), so you could essentially shower while sitting on the toilet. Literally. I was even willing to forgive the constant loud hum and vibration from the ancient elevator close to our room, which rumbled most of the night as people used it. But what was unforgivable was construction work being performed 4 feet from the room starting at 10:30 PM. That's right, just as we were settling down for the night, in rolls the worker next door in the stairwell, blasting ranchero music and hammering and driving screws with a power drill! I had to call the front desk (he would respond to my yelling, whistling and pounding on the door to get him to stop. i called the front desk and they finally got him to stop. The next day when I was checking out, the excuse I got was that if they do it in the day, people complain that the stairwell is closed (there are several others mind you). In any case - really? It is better to pound away at night and not close a stairwell in the daytime? Sorry, but that just seems ludicrous. I understand they have to complete their renovations, but what every traveller needs most is a good night's rest - undisturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LP Biz Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 6, 2012

Way better than hotels on Lombard!

I had a four- night stay for work, attending a conference in Fort Mason. The room was clean and accommodating. Location is easy walk to food/shops on Union or Chestnut as well as Ft Mason. I didn't get to take advantage of the pool, but the pool deck was beautiful and connected to wireless so was a great option for catching up on work. The lounge was also a good option for late-night work outside the room. Only complaint was that coffee wasn't readily available until about 7AM and I was on east coast time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Grove on Chestnut is a great place to go if you want to dine and work using wifi over a breakfast scramble, a midday snack, or a light evening meal. The tuna melt was great washed down with a draft of Fat Tire! Chef Jeff is warm and welcoming! About a 20 minute walk but we'll worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dougefresh
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 2, 2012

Basic & Close to Fisherman's Wharf

Very friendly staff. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants nearby. Just a couple of blocks to walk downhill to get to fisherman's wharf, and just one block uphill gets you to some great restaurants in a nice neighborhood. My only real complaint is that we were told when we checked in that this was a non-smoking hotel. Our room, however, smelled like the whole staff had been taking their smoke breaks in our room for years. Could have just been our room. We could have asked for another room, but we just hate being the squeaky wheels. Room came with free continental breakfast vouchers for the cafe downstairs. Nothing special. Just used them once to get something to tide us over until we got out and about. Use Yelp for your restaurant choices and you can't go wrong! All in all, not too bad. Just avoid room 306 if you don't like the smell of old ashtrays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honeymooner25
Business
italy
Oct 1, 2012

little dirty

The room was a little dirty, but we enjoy the breakfast, with a lot of fruits!!! The staff was helpful and kind!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top