$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
View map of 2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
achile
Business
Toulouse France
Aug 26, 2013

My honeymoon could have finished a smoother way

First of all, this review is certainly influenced by the fact we were finishing our honeymoon and had a very good experience in another famous hotel in San Francisco (Union square area). We were quite disapointed when we entered the room. It's been the only black point of our 3 weeks stay in the USA (we are foreigners) The staff has always been professionnal, helpful and friendly. However, we found the value of the hotel was not adequate with the price we paid for it. It was overpriced with respect to the confort of the room we were given. It was exactly the same price (by the dollar) than the 4 stars hotel we booked at Union square . - View on parking lot, - no A/C, - rather small room, - no elevators during half of the stay - average location, - rather noisy (next to the street) After explaining our feeling with this, the staff provided us a room with A/C (mobile module) and a much better view. but was if we didn't enquire? The free breakfast doesn't close the gap unfortunately. We just couldn't have a seat the first day, and didn't went for it the other days. Once again the staff did its possible, but I think the price positioning needs some attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.Morgan
Business
Snohomish, Washington
Aug 22, 2013

Affordable place to stay in San Francisco

I was pleased with my stay here. The pool was nice and warm place to relax. The only thing I wish was that the hotel's on-site dining be open for more than just breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lakshmi Yoshihara
Business
Orange County
Aug 11, 2013

Da Vinci - Not a masterpiece

Not worth the price. Next time would pay a little more And stay in fishermans wharf hotel. Pros- large room, good continental breakfast, has parking. Cons- location is not walking distance friendly, seems more like a motel than hotel, really no customer service I.e. after room was cleaned, discovered that ther were no towels, no soap in shower, no toilet paper. Had to ask for them and wait to get them, both elliptical machines in gym were out of order, the bed was right against the bathroom even tho there was space in the room, no space in bathroom sink area for any personal items. Overall, some small touches can improve this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We did the Hop on Hop off and that was great so we didn't have to drive but were able to see many attractions. Buy it online before you go for great deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Travel
Business
MA
Aug 8, 2013

Excellent stop-over in San Francisco

We had the chance to visit San Francisco on our way to Yosemite. This hotel provided an excellent experience in a convenient location, fairly close to main attractions. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Hoi
Business
Hong Kong
Jul 26, 2013

Good Deal

The owner of the hotel is definitely very thoughtful and communicate well with the customers. Location, parking, breakfast....all meeting the needs of the guest at very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 3 blocks away, up the hill, there is a Tapas restaurant. Walgreen is three blocks away on the back street. There is a corner shop just across the front street. Fisherman's is still within walking distance although it is 10 blocks away.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philly man
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 25, 2013

Disappointed

Generally disappointed in this hotel, the website leads you to believe this is a new hotel. All they did was put a new facade on a 1970's era motel. The rooms are outdated, the elevators worked poorly, and the complimentary breakfast was a joke. I would not recommned this motel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris's Steakhouse was excellent although pricey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huohuo
Business
NY
Jun 28, 2013

Good location

Is not too good but location is great,but is so expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abmac
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 27, 2013

Great location

1 block from Lombard street and a 10 minute walk to Fishermans wharf. Perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dc511
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 26, 2013

Just a clean motel at a good location

Clean room but a very service motel type in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria in Boise
Business
Boise, ID
Jun 24, 2013

Beware

This was just a bad feeling from the minute one. First if you are renting a car or driving DO NOT book this HOTEL they say there is limited parking BUT we checked in at 3pm on a Friday and were told that all parking was gone for the weekend and that we could either do street parking - wasn't readily available or park in a garage 3-5 blocks away and walk. Then a guy walked up after us and asked for a parking pass and he was given one. The location isn't close to much of anything. We then waited for the elevator and waited and waited then when it finally came there was a cleaning lady in the elevator that filled the whole elevator and she just said sorry and pushed the button and left us and about 5 other people standing their with luggage. then when we go to our floor they maid carts where blocking so we could not get to our room. When we asked one of the maids to move our carts so we could get to our room she acted put out. the room was clean but nothing special and we immediately looked for a different place to stay. When i went back down and told the guy at the front desk we weren't staying there he didn't even ask why we were unhappy. In the end, we ended up paying $500 buck to stay somewhere else and couldn't get our money back even for the second day. As the cancellation policy was 4:00am the day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top