$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
excellent downtown experience

A good place for visiting downtown San Francisco. Good breakfast and clean accommodation. See full review

  • D Travel
  • Sep 22, 2013
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • SoMa: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
san diegan 1978
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2012

Perfect SF location

Great location- we were able to walk wherever we wanted. Nice staff, pleasant place. Liked everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dc511
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 26, 2013

Just a clean motel at a good location

Clean room but a very service motel type in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria in Boise
Business
Boise, ID
Jun 24, 2013

Beware

This was just a bad feeling from the minute one. First if you are renting a car or driving DO NOT book this HOTEL they say there is limited parking BUT we checked in at 3pm on a Friday and were told that all parking was gone for the weekend and that we could either do street parking - wasn't readily available or park in a garage 3-5 blocks away and walk. Then a guy walked up after us and asked for a parking pass and he was given one. The location isn't close to much of anything. We then waited for the elevator and waited and waited then when it finally came there was a cleaning lady in the elevator that filled the whole elevator and she just said sorry and pushed the button and left us and about 5 other people standing their with luggage. then when we go to our floor they maid carts where blocking so we could not get to our room. When we asked one of the maids to move our carts so we could get to our room she acted put out. the room was clean but nothing special and we immediately looked for a different place to stay. When i went back down and told the guy at the front desk we weren't staying there he didn't even ask why we were unhappy. In the end, we ended up paying $500 buck to stay somewhere else and couldn't get our money back even for the second day. As the cancellation policy was 4:00am the day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaelle
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

great stay in great location

I stayed there after my parents told me how great the hotel was. Hotel manager was very accomodating, restaurant close by is good. The only thing is the elevator system which is not convenient ( 2 elevators to get to the 5th floor). Otherwise location is great, local transportation litterally at the door takes you everywhere in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rafael Chacon
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 16, 2013

Too expensive for what is worth

This should be a motel. The location is great. Rooms are clean. But it is to way expensive for what is worth...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Khisa K
Business
ATl
Jun 13, 2013

Great location

Right between fisherman a ward and downtown breakfast was coffee Danish and bagels not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrison steak house one of the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DANCEWME
Business
TENNESSEE
Jun 10, 2013

DA VINCI, SAN FRANCISCO, CA

GOOD LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, OLDER HOTEL WITH ROOM THAT DO NOT HAVE A/C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 7, 2013

Nice place to stay

Hotel is in a good location within walking distance of Girardelli Square . Room was large, clean and beds were very nice. Bath was small but appeared new. Furniture was rather cheap looking. Pool and exercise room were very nice. Nice continental breakfast in attached restaurant. Self parking was $25 per day and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wildeyes
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 5, 2013

Great location/Far From Great Hotel

The hotel website makes the place look renovated and attractive inn. The truth is, it's an aged motel with some superficial cosmetic makeover that still leaves it bleak and unappealing. We had a 3-night reservation last week, but bailed after 1 horrible night and, instead, landed a beautiful room at the Fairmont for less money than this hotel. To the hotel's credit, when I complained that I just could not stay in the depressing cell of a room I was initially assigned, they moved me to a "junior suite." But, while I was initially excited, I found that the suite was just a broad expanse of sparsely furnished, industrial carpet with a really nasty stain and lots of wasted space. And the windows do not do much in the way of blocking noise. Nice people worked there, and the buffet breakfast was pretty good; but the rooms, at least to my taste, were intolerable. If the cost had been $75/night rather than $200, I would have accepted it; but that wasn't the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BitsBocker
Business
Fullerton
Jun 3, 2013

DaVinci Not

The location isn't bad, if you don't mind walking. There was nothing I liked about the hotel. The room was small, only one window which looked out to the rooms across the way and a parking lot. No extras. Bottom line, I won't book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Buena Vista

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayMay
Business
orange county, ca
May 8, 2013

long weekend at Da Vinci

The location is tremendous, walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf, restaurants, bars, etc. The neighborhood is nice and clean. We had a lovely view from the fifth floor, great views of the city. We booked a king size bed and were "upgraded" to a room with two fulls. Not the end of the world but not ideal either. Room was very clean and nice but lacked air conditioning. Not usually an issue in San Fran but it was unseasonably warm. Front desk was not able to find a King size bed for us and repeatedly stated we had received an upgraded room. Front desk also stated the room had air conditioning when it did not. I understand that the guest services representative can not build a room with a king sized bed and air conditioning if it is not available but I would have appreciated a little more honesty and ownership. All in all, a few hiccups but the location, decent price, cleanliness, and good service from most of the hotel staff made this a positive experience. Just make sure to call after booking online to confirm the room type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants and bars on polk st. no public transit required, just one block up and you have options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top