$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding. See full review

  • Rojo Diablo
  • Jul 1, 2014
Excellent!!

For the price, you can't get any better. Excellent staff and accommodations. Very clean. The only... See full review

  • OgdensMom
  • Apr 16, 2014
San Francisco's Boutique Hotel, the da Vinci Villa, located on the corner of Filbert and Van Ness Avenue, in the center of the city, provides lodging accommodations near San Francisco's major tourist attractions. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet each morning in Caffe Como. We are conveniently located in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and Aquarium of the Bay. Just 2 1/2 miles west of the Convention Center and 1 1/2 miles north of the Civic Center. When visiting San Francisco, make the Da Vinci Villa your first choice.

Italian continental breakfast includes the following, fresh selected fruit, selection of fresh breakfast breads muffins, croissants, fruit breads, Danish, bagels served with butters, jellies and cream cheese. Freshly brewed coffee and teas and array of chilled juices, orange, apple, and cranberry.

Hotel Map

37.7991 -122.4242
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
Located on the main route to and from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) as well as Oakland International Airport.
Area description
da Vinci Villa are located at 2550 Van Ness Avenue between the vibrant neighborhoods of Russian Hill and the Marina. da Vinci Villa is nestled just one block from Polk Street Cafe's, Restaurants, Day Spa's, and Specialty Shops as well as being just blocks to Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf, where you'll find popular attractions like Pier 39, Anchorage Square and the Aquarium of the Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da Vinci Villa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da Vinci Villa Rooms

Dulexe King
Dulexe King Rooms offer one king bed as a bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet, pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs,in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double Rooms offer one double bed and two double bed as bedding option and vary in size. All rooms include Continental Breakfast buffet pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, in room movies, wireless internet, writing desk, bathrobes, safe in room, and Italian Tarocco bath products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Lands End: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether you're looking for space for a wedding, family reunion, corporate meeting or business training. The San Francisco meeting space is the perfect venue with the flexibility and style you want. With 4,600 square feet of newly renovated space, state-of-the-art AV equipment, a professional catering team and experienced event planners, da Vinci Villa ensures that your social or business event will be an unforgettable success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abmac
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 27, 2013

Great location

1 block from Lombard street and a 10 minute walk to Fishermans wharf. Perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dc511
Washington, DC
Jun 26, 2013

Just a clean motel at a good location

Clean room but a very service motel type in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria in Boise
Boise, ID
Jun 24, 2013

Beware

This was just a bad feeling from the minute one. First if you are renting a car or driving DO NOT book this HOTEL they say there is limited parking BUT we checked in at 3pm on a Friday and were told that all parking was gone for the weekend and that we could either do street parking - wasn't readily available or park in a garage 3-5 blocks away and walk. Then a guy walked up after us and asked for a parking pass and he was given one. The location isn't close to much of anything. We then waited for the elevator and waited and waited then when it finally came there was a cleaning lady in the elevator that filled the whole elevator and she just said sorry and pushed the button and left us and about 5 other people standing their with luggage. then when we go to our floor they maid carts where blocking so we could not get to our room. When we asked one of the maids to move our carts so we could get to our room she acted put out. the room was clean but nothing special and we immediately looked for a different place to stay. When i went back down and told the guy at the front desk we weren't staying there he didn't even ask why we were unhappy. In the end, we ended up paying $500 buck to stay somewhere else and couldn't get our money back even for the second day. As the cancellation policy was 4:00am the day of arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aussie Bear Travellers
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 23, 2013

Simple Comfort

We were only here for 1 night and arrived late and tired. Staff not extemely helpful (no door staff) getting into the lobby with bags (heavy). Did not get the opportunity to use pool facilities, however they did look inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaelle
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

great stay in great location

I stayed there after my parents told me how great the hotel was. Hotel manager was very accomodating, restaurant close by is good. The only thing is the elevator system which is not convenient ( 2 elevators to get to the 5th floor). Otherwise location is great, local transportation litterally at the door takes you everywhere in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rafael Chacon
Vancouver, BC
Jun 16, 2013

Too expensive for what is worth

This should be a motel. The location is great. Rooms are clean. But it is to way expensive for what is worth...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Khisa K
ATl
Jun 13, 2013

Great location

Right between fisherman a ward and downtown breakfast was coffee Danish and bagels not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrison steak house one of the best

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DANCEWME
TENNESSEE
Jun 10, 2013

DA VINCI, SAN FRANCISCO, CA

GOOD LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, OLDER HOTEL WITH ROOM THAT DO NOT HAVE A/C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 7, 2013

Nice place to stay

Hotel is in a good location within walking distance of Girardelli Square . Room was large, clean and beds were very nice. Bath was small but appeared new. Furniture was rather cheap looking. Pool and exercise room were very nice. Nice continental breakfast in attached restaurant. Self parking was $25 per day and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wildeyes
Los Angeles
Jun 5, 2013

Great location/Far From Great Hotel

The hotel website makes the place look renovated and attractive inn. The truth is, it's an aged motel with some superficial cosmetic makeover that still leaves it bleak and unappealing. We had a 3-night reservation last week, but bailed after 1 horrible night and, instead, landed a beautiful room at the Fairmont for less money than this hotel. To the hotel's credit, when I complained that I just could not stay in the depressing cell of a room I was initially assigned, they moved me to a "junior suite." But, while I was initially excited, I found that the suite was just a broad expanse of sparsely furnished, industrial carpet with a really nasty stain and lots of wasted space. And the windows do not do much in the way of blocking noise. Nice people worked there, and the buffet breakfast was pretty good; but the rooms, at least to my taste, were intolerable. If the cost had been $75/night rather than $200, I would have accepted it; but that wasn't the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search