$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Da Vinci Villa

3 stars
View map of 2550 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Da Vinci Villa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ring bell
Business
Ventura
Aug 1, 2014

Family friendly.

Good location easy to go to attraction area. Too many kids so little loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to go everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LucyH89
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 23, 2014

Anniversary

We just had our anniversary at this hotel. Everything was clean and well maintained! You also get a free breakfast ! Would def go back when I'm in town. Bed were nice and comfy. The only thing was, no ac.... only ceiling fan. It doesn't get too hot in SF, so it wasn't that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Party. Time. Excellent.
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 16, 2014

Great Location

The location was perfect. A block south of Polk street in Russian Hill. Walking distance to some awesome restaurants and bars. The hotel was average, outdated and a bit noisy. But the rooms were clean and the staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rojo Diablo
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

Comfortably blown away!

Location was key, but the staff from the time we checked in were outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can handle a walk less than a mile, youve got great seafood, steak house , french, and Chineese food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McVeigh
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2014

okay

While the rooms were nice enough, the air conditioning did not work, the bathroom sinks won't drain and they charge you $30/night for parking! This was okay but not a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Prime Rib

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krick
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2014

Nice hotel, suites don't work well for small children

Fantastic location both to tourist spots (easy walking to the wharf) and rest of SF. Parking worked ok. When we arrived late Thursday evening the hotel parking was full and we had to drive around to find street parking. But once we got a hotel parking spot the next day ($30/night), parking was great. The included breakfast was great. The hotel building is a little quirky with a weird set of elevators/stairs to get around. To get to our 5th floor room from the lobby we had to walk down a bunch of corridors, take an elevator to floor #4, more corridors, then a stair, then more corridors. We had one major problem at the hotel, but it's not something I give them a bad review for: We rented a "suite" (livingRoom+bedRoom with door in-between) because we have a 4month old and a 21month old and need a space for them to sleep in separately. The issue was that the bedroom had a skylight with no way to cover it up for darkness. The living room had tons of windows with shades which didn't reduce light much. Without any dark place to use, the kids didn't go peacefully to sleep until the sun set, even though their normal bedtime is 7pm. Perhaps this is our fault for teaching them that darkness==sleep by using blackout curtains at home for naps and nights. But the skylight in the bedroom without any way to cover it up is a pretty weird idea even for regular adult sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
COFoodie
Business
Denver. CO
May 27, 2014

Very noisy

Good location. Most of what we wanted to do in San Francisco was close by and a short walk. The best yogurt place is a block away from this hotel called the Loving Cup. The walls between the rooms and the floors between the room are either extremely thin or do not have any sound proofing. You could hear everything that was going on and the people walking above our room at 2:30 in the morning sounded like Bigfoot. Not the place to be if you're a light sleeper. They also have very limited parking but we managed to find street parking. And the staff was very helpful and informative about the parking situation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loving cup yogurt and rice pudding. The yogurt is extremely customizable. We make a stop here everytime we're in SF

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SD2SF
Business
San Diego
May 26, 2014

Clean but no frills

The lobby is very pretty but the rooms are very sterile. The cleaning supplies that are used are a bit chemically and have a weird smell so we bought a candle to burn to get rid of the smell. We had called guest services for a blanket and waited an hour. We called back to check on the status and it came quickly after the second call. However, my impression is that we e would have not received the blanket without the second phone call. The bathroom is very small and the shower reminds me of one you find on a average cabin on a cruise ship. There is NO counter space in the bathroom which makes it difficult to get ready. No air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a MUNI pass for traveling about the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marin family
Business
Fontana, California
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect location

Nice cozy hotel. It was like 10 min drive from fisher mans wharf. The room was really cozy and the staff was excellent. The only downfall was that it is an outside hotel, we happen to stay on a rainy day so to go have breackfast we had to get a little wet, but other than that I would defenetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da Vinci Villa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jtxjgxjgzutsufzufzufz
Business
california
Mar 25, 2014

birthday trip

Went there for my friends birthday and had a good time. Room was clean. Bathroom was nice. But someone not even staying at that hotel took my rooms continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Beware after dark. There are crazy homeless people and hookers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top