$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
139 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

Room was comfortable (nice bedding!) and staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids really liked... See full review

  • KatieK
  • Feb 19, 2015
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mechiriva
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Worst experience with a Hotel

I went to San Francisco with 3 more friends. We were going to stay at the Cova in a 2-queen-beds bedroom. That week was really decisive week for the Soccer World Cup. Before making the reservation we called the hotel to make sure they had ESPN, cause we didn't want to miss the matches. They checked and said they did have. So we made the reservation and travel the next day. As soon as we got there, we checked the tv, and though all the rooms said they had ESPN, that channel was not working on the tv. They promised to fix it next day, but instead, the next morning, they said they were going to transfer us to another hotel cause they couldn't do anything to make ESPN work. So after a couple of calls the Manager found us a room at another Hotel. Or that was what they said. When we got to the second hotel with all our bags, they told us that the Manager from the Cova did a reservation for a 2-twin-bed room. BUT WE WERE 4!!! There was no room for 4 people, and the Cova Hotel didn't want to pay for two rooms (which would have been equally perfect for us). So long story short.... we spent a lot of time (out of our 4 day vacation) trying to solve this problem cause the Cova Managment wasn't doing much. They wanted to move us to a third hotel after the 2nd night (just to save a couple of bucks), which we denied. They finally gave us back our money, and payed for the first 2 nights. They promise to talk to the Managment of the Warwick Hotel (the one we were at by then) so that they would make a good deal for us. They never did. Thanks to the Warwick Hotel, our vacation was really good. But I strongly recommend not going to the Cova, cause nor the staff, nor the Manager, nor the General Manager could solve the mistakes they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Casper Benz
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

My experience shortly put is that this hotel is in a horrible location/area. The staff during the evening hours hardly speak English, same for the vallet. However during the day the staff are more than great they are helpful and most of all you can understand them and they can understand you. The appearance of the hotel from the exterior is deceiving because the outside doesn't look that great but once inside it is a pleasant environment and modern. On another note I spotted RATS not inside the hotel to my knowledge but outside around the vallet where they park the cars and the surrounding streets. This is due to the area and if your comfortable being surrounded by the homeless ranting all hours of the night and the druggies shooting up right out front then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not safe to walk in this area, however all the dinning options in the area do not have suitable parking so the only choice is to walk or take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco,ca
Mar 6, 2011

decient and alright priced

price was alright. neighborhood was a little uneasy and room was small but staff was friendly and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Comfortable Room, Undesirable Location

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly staff who assisted us in checking-in. The Hotel room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. A complementary continental breakfast is offered to guests, which mainly consists of cereal, juice, toast, jams/cheeses, and waffles. Fisherman's Warf, Lombard Street and other tourist attractions are about a 25 minute drive out. Although the hotel itself is comfortable, its location leaves much to be desired. First, there is no public parking and guests have to park their vehicles with a third party car service located next to the hotel which charges a daily rate of about $25.00 (tips not included). Second, the actual street that the hotel is located, is in a very seedy part of the town. We only felt comfortable walking around outside during the daytime...I can't imagine what we would have run into at night. The street is inhabited by some people who seem to be partaking in illegal activities, and exchanges. For these reasons, I would not recommend going for a stroll in the evening around the neighborhood. However, a drive of about ten to fifteen minutes out of the area will lead you to a more upscale environment; one more suitable for families, and tourists. If it was not for the location of the hotel, I would book the Cova again. However, I would not recommend it to friends or family for the simple fact that one feels slightly scared when stepping outside the hotel's premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For late night entertainment, it is best to drive out of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sapphireblue
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Feb 6, 2012

Girl's night out!

The Hotel was wonderful for our small group of (3) age 50+young ladies for our "Girl's night out". Everything was top notch. Thanks we will be using you again. CB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMASH1337
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Good Value, Bad Neighborhood, No Pool

Neighborhood is a bit rough (at night), not fit for small children, but if your a group of guys they won't bother you. Also the hotel shuttle is pretty reliable so you can use that. Value was good, saved money and was pretty close to the Moscone Center for our convention. Rooms were a little smaller than expected. I was disappointed that there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's some good nightlife a short walk east of the hotel, unfortunately that's through the bad side of town, and no ones really out till after 11, and that's also when all the crazy people come out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vboy000
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 6, 2012

San Francisco

I picked this hotel because I thought it is near the downtown of San Francisco. It is close to all the tourist attractions, but we didn't feel safe walking around its nearby neighborhood at night. You have to take taxi or free hotel shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Everything else was good, hotel staffs are friendly, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI but extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanrro
Business
san juan, pr
Dec 31, 2012

excellent service

The personnel was extraordinary, but no air conditioning in the rooms an outside is noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eric Barbugiani
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jan 14, 2013

Cozy at a great location

Very central in San Francisco, this hotel has one of the best values when booked online. Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is very good if you wake up early. Could be rated 4-star for these. Has just what you need, and is just a few blocks away from some of SFOs hottest spots, bars, Union Square, Market Street and Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pubs and bars are really fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MINCHO
Business
San Francisco
Apr 3, 2013

Great place but bad location

The hotel was nice and clean but the location was bad. The hotel offers free shuttle to tourists attractions :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top