$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
148 reviews
love this hotel

Great place to stay wpuld recommend to anymore one of the best places to stay See full review

  • mrs weedies
  • Nov 7, 2014
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 148
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
2.5
Value:
4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betsy Letsy
Business
Cincinnati OH
Mar 16, 2014

Sketchy area

The hotel is wonderful with a nice restaurant attached but walking through the neighborhood to get there is pretty bad. Its in Tenderloin which is a developing area and theres a lot of homeless people around. No one pays you any attention but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cuppel
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 13, 2012

couple getaway

bed comfortable walls and ceiling paper thin could hear conversations from all sides in rough neighborhood car parking on site 25.00 night they left our car on street unlocked were robbed would not recommend. staff unnatentive busy and would not help us right away. parking attendants rude we have stayed in many lower priced hotels in town and enjoyed all this is the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couldbebetter
Business
L.A.
Aug 1, 2009

nice hotel

Good staff, very welcoming, walking distance from Union Square, but very bad neighbourhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take Hyde street upward and go to Geary at right. Takes you directly to Union Square(5 to 6 blocs)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missmendo
Business
Monterey, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Nice room, nice staff & the rest SUCKS

The location was bad, but priced accordingly. Front desk staff very nice, even had champagne sent to our room after finding out it was my bday. The lobby, elevators and hallways were below average - hallways had very low ceilings and reeked of cigarette smoke. Room was nice, very clean and of our two rooms, one had a spectacular view. The most dissapointing part of the trip was the "continental breakfast." Over-crowded with HUNGRY people and under-stocked with food. One lousy old waffle maker, toaster, a couple of nearly empty cereals and some random unapealing sandwich makings. Again, the front desk staff was very nice, but I would not stay at his hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston Ma
Jan 5, 2010

Cova hotel -

Hotel itselft its nice, althought area is really bad. You can see homeless people begging for money and drougdealers in every corners. It's about 4 blocks to Union Square. Those were the most scariest 4 blocks I walk in SF. Free breakfast is fairly ok. We got sick from breakfast!!! There virtually no staff on duty except one person at the front desk. ( who barely spoke english. Dont get fool, this is clearly a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

The hotel was nice but in the bad part of town. There were a lot of homeless people at day and "working girls" @ night. The hotel was up to date and par to modern design. We stayed on the 7th floor but could not sleep at night without being waken up by the people upstairs! It sounded like rolling thunders and you could actually here people walking back and forth, mind you at 2 to 4 am. And then again at 6 to 8 am. We stayed for 2 nights but didn't get much sleep. Walls were thin and you could hear the people next door if they were coming in or out because it sounded like they were coming in our own door. I don't really recommend this hotel. I would pay the extra $50 to stay somewhere more quiet and less slum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xena
Business
Sunnyvale
Sep 19, 2011

decent for price and needs

I would have given this 4 stars, but the room needed some upgrades. BED- was by far the best! the TV could not get s signal, rug and floor and bathroom were clean, but it just lacked the boutique-y flare that comes with that cute overall special feel. It was great in terms of location, as I was visiting friends that lived a few blocks away and the bars we visited were all within walking distance, which at the end of the nite was a lifesaver considering we could just walk back to our hotel after many drinks and it was totally fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the hotel offers free shuttle to touristy attractions, though I am not a tourist, its great for those who don't know the city, you can get around easily and learn to walk back and enjoy the view while doing it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rickmansworth UK
Mar 1, 2010

good price bad location

hotel very nice although having no drawers in the rooms ment we had to live out of our suitcases.Had to take a detour from hotel or run gauntlet of drug users,vagrants and beggers.We would not use this hotel again because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deal Finding Traveler
Business
Orange, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Nice hotel in a sketchy area

The hotel was a great location location as far as being in the heart of the city, however, the neighboring few blocks in all directions were VERY sketchy. We learned very quickly to take the alternate route given by the hotel to avoid a majority of the homeless and drug addicts who seemed to out-number the "normal" people walking on the streets. Other than the location, the hotel was VERY good for its value. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious for what we expected. The breakfasts were good (and free). The staff was friendly and helpful. Just a quick walk, bus, or free hotel shuttle to Union Square. Overall I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a higher class experience at a unique boutique hotel for a very affordable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 16, 2011

Cova

Front desk was always very helpful. Neighborhood is not a desirable area to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top