$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
We are a boutique style hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. All our well decorated 96 rooms feature contemporary styling. We are located a 7 blocks from Union Square and 3 blocks to the Asian Arts museum, the San Francisco Opera, Theatres, and a brisk walk to States, Federal and City Government buildings. All rooms have been fully renovated. We are elevating the guest experience to another level with in-room guest services. All our rooms feature the latest amenities from our 300 count bedding, duvet comforter, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free daily newspaper to I-home alarm clocks and a 32 inches High Definition flat screen TV for each of our guest room. To further enhance our service, we provide a in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and in-room electronic safe for your convience. Our modern contemporary furniture and updated bathroom are well equipped to meet every need of today's modern business and leisure travelers. The hotel also offers a great deal on secured valet parking service to our guests, airport shuttle service, on-site car rental service and daily free shuttle bus service to Union Square and convention center during trade show period.Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Jul 31, 2009

sceptical location, nice hotel !!!!!

The hotel was nice, but the location was not in a very good spot. The room was a little smaller than what we pictured according to the description, and pictures posted. It was a little ways away from most of the main areas of interest. We took the transit several times. The walk from the bus stop to the hotel was a little scary. This hotel is located in the Tenderloin of San Francisco, this is an area that is well saturated with homeless and very low income housing.I would not recommend walking alone in the evening. During the day it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 22, 2009

OK Hotel

The hotel looked better on the pictures of the website, but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Jul 31, 2009

sceptical location, nice hotel !!!!!

The hotel was nice, but the location was not in a very good spot. The room was a little smaller than what we pictured according to the description, and pictures posted. It was a little ways away from most of the main areas of interest. We took the transit several times. The walk from the bus stop to the hotel was a little scary. This hotel is located in the Tenderloin of San Francisco, this is an area that is well saturated with homeless and very low income housing.I would not recommend walking alone in the evening. During the day it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PooFlo
Paris, France
Aug 13, 2013

Staying 3 nights at Cova's

Shower not emptying, ventilation in the bathroom not working properly (I had to open the frame with a pair of scissors remove it an clean it under the water: full of dust, ducts blocked). Staff is ok, but do not take the shuttle they propose to go to the airport. We were told that it would take 30 mn, in the morning at 7' to reach the airport. In fact, it collected 2 people en route and we reached at 8.15 and therefore been waitlisted by American.. A taxi for four people (our case) would have been better. Information from the staff is at best erratic. For 2 days we did know if we would be able to have packed breakfast the day of our departure... Mattresses are a bit too soft for good sleeping. Tenderloin is not so rough if you do not interact with the junkies and al. I know it was hig season but 220 Euros per night for one bedroom with 2 queens bed seems a bit too much (with 4 breakfasts).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sapphireblue
Sacramento, Ca.
Feb 6, 2012

Girl's night out!

The Hotel was wonderful for our small group of (3) age 50+young ladies for our "Girl's night out". Everything was top notch. Thanks we will be using you again. CB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chandler AZ
Jul 20, 2009

good location & service just so so

1) the room is not quite. 2) room service comes late, about 4~5pm 3) parking service is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho mirage, ca.
Feb 9, 2011

check in early...

i traveled out to the city on business with a couple of friends and co-workers. got in about 130am and was really nervous about choosing the hotel as i was driving to it. location is horrible, tenderloin. rats, trash, homeless, and working girls. upon arrival i was greeted by valet who i had a difficult time understanding, and went on inside to check in. the desk was no different, lady was just ok. i attempted to start up small talk and no response. again i had a hard time communicating with her because of her very bad english. once we woke the next day, completely different experience with the staff. nice people all around the hotel, the streets felt a little safer. i feel bad for the owner of this property because the hotel is not bad for the price actually kind of a deal for the quality, but the location is really bad. location alone is the only reason why i will not recommend this place, but if you are ok with seeing humanity at it's worst, then this is a great hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khlm
Business
New York, USA
Dec 11, 2011

great hotel, awkward to walk alone at night

the hotel was great, good beds, clean, good and healthy breakfast with fresh fruit and lettuce, tomato, cucumber, two types of cheese, meats, waffels, cereals, etc. There are a lot of homeless people in the first few blocks of Ellis street. As a woman I felt awkard walking home alone at night, but with a friend it was fine. It didn't feel hostile at all, just outnumbered. If you catch a cab home a night (quite cheap) or avoid these first few blocks by taking Geary street and then Hyde or Larkin to the hotel, it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and cheap turkish restaurant on Geary street just north of the hotel

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
redding
Jun 27, 2011

not the best

A bit over priced if you ask me. the rooms are nice but very very small. In a bad part of town. Slow service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xena
Sunnyvale
Sep 19, 2011

decent for price and needs

I would have given this 4 stars, but the room needed some upgrades. BED- was by far the best! the TV could not get s signal, rug and floor and bathroom were clean, but it just lacked the boutique-y flare that comes with that cute overall special feel. It was great in terms of location, as I was visiting friends that lived a few blocks away and the bars we visited were all within walking distance, which at the end of the nite was a lifesaver considering we could just walk back to our hotel after many drinks and it was totally fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the hotel offers free shuttle to touristy attractions, though I am not a tourist, its great for those who don't know the city, you can get around easily and learn to walk back and enjoy the view while doing it.

Back to menu Return to top