$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
redding
Jun 27, 2011

not the best

A bit over priced if you ask me. the rooms are nice but very very small. In a bad part of town. Slow service at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
stockton,ca
Feb 22, 2011

nice hotel but in tendreloin

nice hotel clean and near union square. It was great to walk to the chinese new year parade it was only 1.4 mile away. Staff was nice and curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In the tenderloin dist.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Mavin
Friends
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Oct 31, 2010

The good, the bad and the really bad

The hotel was stylish and modern, but there was no dresser in the room and the only morror was in the bathroom. The neighborhood was rough, with several homeless people begging on the street. We could not walk outside the hotel. The drivers of the van taking guests to attractions were all thoughtful and curtious, but the hotel desk was not responsive to requests for assistance. Last of all, the breakfast was limited, without the option of decaf coffee or tea. I will not go to that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant next door had wonderful food and an attentive staff. First rate!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JiggaJules
Friends
Chico, CA
Feb 22, 2010

Not too shabby...

I knew the hotel was going to be in the TL (tenderloins) of S.F. before my trip so the location wasn't a suprise. At nightime the area around the hotel is a little scary, but I felt that the hotel had great security. Overall my experience was good. Great price, close to everything, good service. Although, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear the noise of the city outside, and the neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Long Beach, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Good price, but no airconditioning

Great hotel. Good price. But if the weather is warm or hot, be prepared to sweat. Not so bad at night when the wind is blowing and you get a breeze but during the stay, it's almost unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't walk anywhere past sunset. Take a cab. Unsafe area to walk around.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother of six!
Family
Temecula, California
Jan 11, 2010

Great place to stay!

We had a wanderful time and the rooms were perfect. We did need a mirror outside the bathroom, because we had three girls who had to get ready and to have a mirror outside the bathroom would have been helpful. Staff was super nice! The best part of the hotel was the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a hotel. Bathrooms are large very nice! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would say if at all possible don't drive your own car, you can walk or take the free shuttle pretty much everwhere you go. This would have saved us $200+ in parking fees.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired momma
Family
North Bay CA
Aug 15, 2011

noisy

There was a party at the hotel and it was very loud on my floor. The music was vibrating the walls and people would randomly knock on my door even with the do not disturb sign on. Two calls to the lobby and it got a little better but not much. They could not get me another room and they said they would give me a discount but did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark D.
Family
eagle river
Jun 28, 2015

Short Trip

The hotel itself is not too terrible and surely worth the money. HOWEVER, as everyone has already mentioned, the location is the absolute worst. This hotel is located in the center of the worst part of town, the tenderloin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ormedic
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 11, 2014

The staff was fantastic!

I have never run across more friendly, helpful staff. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our visit to the city. The room was comfortable and clean. The free shuttle to several of the main attractions in the city was also a great help. We definitely will stay here again if we ever visit San Francisco in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don K
Family
Ireland
Apr 23, 2014

Short San Fran stay

Loved this hotel. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Beds very comfortably and very nice contintental breakfast. Excellent shuttle service to/from Fishermans wharf etc. always on time..thanks Glen. Area of Ellis st has lots of social issues..which in general can be avoided but we encountered no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top