$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betsy Letsy
Business
Cincinnati OH
Mar 16, 2014

Sketchy area

The hotel is wonderful with a nice restaurant attached but walking through the neighborhood to get there is pretty bad. Its in Tenderloin which is a developing area and theres a lot of homeless people around. No one pays you any attention but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco,ca
Mar 6, 2011

decient and alright priced

price was alright. neighborhood was a little uneasy and room was small but staff was friendly and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2011

Don't Stay Here without a Bodyguard!

This was a bad experience for three professional young women. While the decor was nice, the elevator was out of service and we had to walk up and down 6 flights of stairs! The room only had one mirror (in the bathroom) so it was hard for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. Most importantly, while we thought we would be near Union Square, the 4 block walk was extremely frightening for us. The hotel is actually in the Tenderloin district, which is very dangerous and sketchy. You have to pass a mission and a church feeding the homeless in order to get to Union Square. Overall it was a bad choice and now we know that we would not stay in this area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay out of the Tenderloin/Little Saigon area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couldbebetter
Business
L.A.
Aug 1, 2009

nice hotel

Good staff, very welcoming, walking distance from Union Square, but very bad neighbourhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take Hyde street upward and go to Geary at right. Takes you directly to Union Square(5 to 6 blocs)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Comfortable Room, Undesirable Location

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly staff who assisted us in checking-in. The Hotel room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. A complementary continental breakfast is offered to guests, which mainly consists of cereal, juice, toast, jams/cheeses, and waffles. Fisherman's Warf, Lombard Street and other tourist attractions are about a 25 minute drive out. Although the hotel itself is comfortable, its location leaves much to be desired. First, there is no public parking and guests have to park their vehicles with a third party car service located next to the hotel which charges a daily rate of about $25.00 (tips not included). Second, the actual street that the hotel is located, is in a very seedy part of the town. We only felt comfortable walking around outside during the daytime...I can't imagine what we would have run into at night. The street is inhabited by some people who seem to be partaking in illegal activities, and exchanges. For these reasons, I would not recommend going for a stroll in the evening around the neighborhood. However, a drive of about ten to fifteen minutes out of the area will lead you to a more upscale environment; one more suitable for families, and tourists. If it was not for the location of the hotel, I would book the Cova again. However, I would not recommend it to friends or family for the simple fact that one feels slightly scared when stepping outside the hotel's premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For late night entertainment, it is best to drive out of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missmendo
Business
Monterey, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Nice room, nice staff & the rest SUCKS

The location was bad, but priced accordingly. Front desk staff very nice, even had champagne sent to our room after finding out it was my bday. The lobby, elevators and hallways were below average - hallways had very low ceilings and reeked of cigarette smoke. Room was nice, very clean and of our two rooms, one had a spectacular view. The most dissapointing part of the trip was the "continental breakfast." Over-crowded with HUNGRY people and under-stocked with food. One lousy old waffle maker, toaster, a couple of nearly empty cereals and some random unapealing sandwich makings. Again, the front desk staff was very nice, but I would not stay at his hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Board-head
Business
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Aug 5, 2010

Not so good and the ugly

After we checked in and opened the room door, there was people already occupied the room. We were quite shocked and tired after the long flight. The hotel staff offered to move us to another nearby hotel for one night and moved us back. We insisted that we would not like to move once we settled in one hotel. Anyway, we went out for dinner while they discussed the matter with the manager as they didn't think it is their fault of over booking. Anyway, after a lenghty discussion, they finally moved us to another hotel for the entire duration. We didn't stay in the hotel, but the location is not the most desirable as we quite often thought that we may be mugged walking down the street just an example

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston Ma
Jan 5, 2010

Cova hotel -

Hotel itselft its nice, althought area is really bad. You can see homeless people begging for money and drougdealers in every corners. It's about 4 blocks to Union Square. Those were the most scariest 4 blocks I walk in SF. Free breakfast is fairly ok. We got sick from breakfast!!! There virtually no staff on duty except one person at the front desk. ( who barely spoke english. Dont get fool, this is clearly a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder CO
Jul 1, 2011

Not recommended

Really rough late-night check-in with a half-attentive front desk attendant who couldn't seem to get me a working room try (tried 3 times before I requested a different room). Just a really frustrating first impression and other travelers seem to have the same impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sprint the first three blocks out of the hotel and then you find yourself in some better areas and closer to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

The hotel was nice but in the bad part of town. There were a lot of homeless people at day and "working girls" @ night. The hotel was up to date and par to modern design. We stayed on the 7th floor but could not sleep at night without being waken up by the people upstairs! It sounded like rolling thunders and you could actually here people walking back and forth, mind you at 2 to 4 am. And then again at 6 to 8 am. We stayed for 2 nights but didn't get much sleep. Walls were thin and you could hear the people next door if they were coming in or out because it sounded like they were coming in our own door. I don't really recommend this hotel. I would pay the extra $50 to stay somewhere more quiet and less slum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top