Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 26, 2010

Odd, but nice

My spouse and I stayed at Cova during a vacation to San Francisco. It's fairly centrally located, which is nice, but the couple blocks immediately surrounding the hotel are a bit on the sketchy side. We figured out a walking route to Union Square that avoided some of the worst blocks, especially late at night. Cova is odd in that it feels like a really nice, swanky, modern hotel on the surface, but its wrinkles quickly show through. Despite hip, modern appliances it seems as if they were installed on the cheap. Our bathtub floor had a strange feel to it like large air bubbles moving out from under your feet. Paint in certain places was peeling. That being said, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and it worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 22, 2011

Nice hotel, great service.

Very nice hotel, its well worth it. However as previous ppl stated it's not in the best area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Suchi place @ Pier 39 is great!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 19, 2010

Xmas 2010

very pleasant and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Nothing to fault, great hotel

We stayed for one night and our experience in this hotel was excellent. The rooms were spacious, the service was good, check out time was at noon and breakfast served until 11am (very generous!) and personally I've stayed in the Tenderloin before so the area didn't bother me at all. Very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel and the staff were nice. The rooms were clean! (which is a major plus for me!) My boyfriend n' I enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back. Only thing to look into more is the location. I was never scared, but just not the best area to walk around at night. Other than that, everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aguing
Business
eastern Washington
Dec 16, 2010

Cova Hotel in the Tenderloin

People were very nice, clean hotel, nice roof-top terrace with view. The area around the hotel is shady and dirty. Good value given that it is in a poor neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go up to Van Ness and Polk streets. Tommy's sandwich shop and the Village Pizziaria were great

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mn_biker_chick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location & Very Friendly Staff

This is a great hotel and is located close to just about everything. We were in walking distance of AT&T Park, Modern Art Muesum and the hotel offered a shuttle down to the Pier. Also.. they were kind enough to drop us and our luggage right by the BART entrance. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noch
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 6, 2010

Excellent Value

Excellent Value. Just wanted a cheap place to stay for a few nights and found this well reviewed hotel on Larkin, just a few blocks from Union Square and in the middle of the row of asian restaurants that line that street. The location is not anything out of the ordinary for being in San Fransisco, ie. I did not encounter lines of homeless as hinted at by other reviewers. It is obvious that the place has been recently renovated/remodeled. Nova has a exceptionally clean, asian-influenced decor and friendly staff. Everything in my room felt basically new. The downside is that it is apparent Cova is still an old San Fransisco building-- tight room spacing and poor sound insulation. I could hear neighboring room's conversations etc.. that being said, for the price this was an excellent value and I look forward to staying there next time I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several modern and classic Asian eateries walking distance.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thick skinned
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Not for scardey catz

The hotel and staff were perfect! Friendly helpful staff! The front desk guy even gave us his mechanics address for a much needed oil change! The decor of the hotel and rooms were fresh! The parking fees were the cheapest for SF rates. The location was perfect! Close to lots to do! I guess I should say, the neighborhood is a lil rough. I wouldn't suggest walking at night. And the only negative about the hotel itself is that the restaurant closes at 11:00 am and if I had a long night and want breakfast early it's a problem. But there's plenty of restaurants walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Friend
Business
Guadalajara, Mexico.
Aug 28, 2014

Nice place!! But watch out at night if you go outside!!

The hotel is really nice. I stayed there for a weekend and we had really pleasant stay. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, although a couple of drawers would fit perfectly somewhere. The bathroom was decorated perfectly and was very clean. The public spaces were good. Our fare included breakfast, that we had in the restaurant just outside, part of the hotel. The food was pretty good, but we had to eat the same thing for three days in a row. It would be nice if they changed the buffet menu every once in a while. The location is pretty good, very close to Union Square and walking distance to many places. The only thing is that the hotel street (Ellis St) is precisely the street where most homeless people and drug dealers roam in at night, so we didn't feel very safe going outside at night. Overall, the experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top