$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkPlanoTX
Business
DFW
Feb 4, 2013

Over all good hotel.

Very near to city center. Parking is expensive at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno,ca
Jan 26, 2010

not a good place at all

when we were driving towards the hotel, the area was bad. When i went to check in they told me where not to walk and which way to go if i did decide to walk. That made me not want to go anywhere. Our room was facing the street. They locked the doors at 10pm. The hotel was nice but not worth the stay. Our heater in the room didn't even work. When we told them, they said, " sorry, we can't do anything." I froze all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mechiriva
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Worst experience with a Hotel

I went to San Francisco with 3 more friends. We were going to stay at the Cova in a 2-queen-beds bedroom. That week was really decisive week for the Soccer World Cup. Before making the reservation we called the hotel to make sure they had ESPN, cause we didn't want to miss the matches. They checked and said they did have. So we made the reservation and travel the next day. As soon as we got there, we checked the tv, and though all the rooms said they had ESPN, that channel was not working on the tv. They promised to fix it next day, but instead, the next morning, they said they were going to transfer us to another hotel cause they couldn't do anything to make ESPN work. So after a couple of calls the Manager found us a room at another Hotel. Or that was what they said. When we got to the second hotel with all our bags, they told us that the Manager from the Cova did a reservation for a 2-twin-bed room. BUT WE WERE 4!!! There was no room for 4 people, and the Cova Hotel didn't want to pay for two rooms (which would have been equally perfect for us). So long story short.... we spent a lot of time (out of our 4 day vacation) trying to solve this problem cause the Cova Managment wasn't doing much. They wanted to move us to a third hotel after the 2nd night (just to save a couple of bucks), which we denied. They finally gave us back our money, and payed for the first 2 nights. They promise to talk to the Managment of the Warwick Hotel (the one we were at by then) so that they would make a good deal for us. They never did. Thanks to the Warwick Hotel, our vacation was really good. But I strongly recommend not going to the Cova, cause nor the staff, nor the Manager, nor the General Manager could solve the mistakes they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx
Jun 27, 2010

Worst hotel ever

[*]--seriously, very small room, no drawers, bad lighting, no a/c, very loud..thin windows, lock on window broken, free breakfast is cold, no bacon eggs sausage, hotel not close to any sites...parking is 25$ a night.etc etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

It would take me hours to describe our horrible time at this hotel. We wish we had really reviewed this and stayed elsewhere. We couldn't walk out of the hotel to the street without seeing [*], or having 5 homeless people ask for change. I went back and read some older reviews and can't stop to think that they are all false, written by the staff....this hotel is in a bad location, most everybody we ran across in the hotel was from Europe...A Super 8 hotel would have been 5 stars for them...It says it's located in the heart of SF, should have said bowels of SF. At check in---the clerk advised us not to walk outside at nighttime...Seriously, we wanted to turn around and go somewhere else. This is not a baby friednly hotel either...actually we saw no children at all. We had a stroller..bad idea...the tv had about 10 channels, the rest were Chinese or Spanish, we expected something decent and got a dirty dirty hotel..we didn't even feel safe using the safe in the closet...which was screwed in and loose. I can go on and on...my wife is so angry that I choose this hotel...it was our 1st visit to SF, and Next time I will pick wiser

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I hate COVA
Business
OC, CA
Sep 29, 2010

TERRIBLE!

The location is terrible! There are homeless people walking all around the hotel! I could not even walk outside once it was dark! but most terribly the room has no AC!!!! no AC, I have never seen a 3 star hotel with NO AC before .... it was summer time and the room felt like HELL ... DO NOT STAY THERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annapants
Los Angeles
Feb 23, 2014

Do yourself a favor and spend more money elsewhere

Awesome staff. Nice rooms. Miserable location in a very dangerous area. Read the other horror stories about Ellis street. I had to check out early because the location hindered the enjoyment of this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Casper Benz
Los Angeles
Mar 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

My experience shortly put is that this hotel is in a horrible location/area. The staff during the evening hours hardly speak English, same for the vallet. However during the day the staff are more than great they are helpful and most of all you can understand them and they can understand you. The appearance of the hotel from the exterior is deceiving because the outside doesn't look that great but once inside it is a pleasant environment and modern. On another note I spotted RATS not inside the hotel to my knowledge but outside around the vallet where they park the cars and the surrounding streets. This is due to the area and if your comfortable being surrounded by the homeless ranting all hours of the night and the druggies shooting up right out front then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not safe to walk in this area, however all the dinning options in the area do not have suitable parking so the only choice is to walk or take a cab.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unassuming Business Traveler
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 3, 2010

NOT THE PLACE FOR A BUSINESS TRAVELER

Once inside the hotel, the environment was well kept. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning. During the summer, the rooms are very hot. Getting to the hotel is a different story. If you don't mind stepping over homeless people, condoms and syringes; and you don't mind being propositioned by prostitutes, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in little Saigon. The food is great. (See description about what you must endure between the hotel and the restaurants.)

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tired and sleepy traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2012

Looks good but feels cheap

The room looked exactly like the picture online (clean, neat and modern), but the bed felt like it was 30 years old and had TONS of lumps and dipped in on each side so neither me nor my husband got any sleep. It felt like we were sleeping in a bowl. The parking was outrageous even if you were a guest at the hotel and the valet didn't even get our car for us when we were leaving and just hand us our keys and pointed at where the car was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cuppel
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 13, 2012

couple getaway

bed comfortable walls and ceiling paper thin could hear conversations from all sides in rough neighborhood car parking on site 25.00 night they left our car on street unlocked were robbed would not recommend. staff unnatentive busy and would not help us right away. parking attendants rude we have stayed in many lower priced hotels in town and enjoyed all this is the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 17, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

The hotel was nice but in the bad part of town. There were a lot of homeless people at day and "working girls" @ night. The hotel was up to date and par to modern design. We stayed on the 7th floor but could not sleep at night without being waken up by the people upstairs! It sounded like rolling thunders and you could actually here people walking back and forth, mind you at 2 to 4 am. And then again at 6 to 8 am. We stayed for 2 nights but didn't get much sleep. Walls were thin and you could hear the people next door if they were coming in or out because it sounded like they were coming in our own door. I don't really recommend this hotel. I would pay the extra $50 to stay somewhere more quiet and less slum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search