$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pascual E.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

lgbt ok

Really good. hotel. Staff was awesome. Comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieK
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

Room was comfortable (nice bedding!) and staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids really liked the funky sink in the bathroom. Above average free hotel breakfast. Main downside was that the neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy at night, and the hotel was farther from BART than I anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sonybermuda
Business
Boston MA
Jan 23, 2014

Great amenities for the price but.....

We stayed here for 2 nights and on the inside, the fitness room and free breakfast, shuttle rides and wifi were all great bonuses. Service is fast, warm and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more in this price range. Now for the but....please please please keep in mind that this hotel is located in the Tenderloin area and we learned it the hard way! If you plan on booking this hotel, I would travel in and out of the hotel strictly by car only. This neighborhood has a long way to go before it should welcome tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired momma
Business
North Bay CA
Aug 15, 2011

noisy

There was a party at the hotel and it was very loud on my floor. The music was vibrating the walls and people would randomly knock on my door even with the do not disturb sign on. Two calls to the lobby and it got a little better but not much. They could not get me another room and they said they would give me a discount but did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khlm
Business
New York, USA
Dec 11, 2011

great hotel, awkward to walk alone at night

the hotel was great, good beds, clean, good and healthy breakfast with fresh fruit and lettuce, tomato, cucumber, two types of cheese, meats, waffels, cereals, etc. There are a lot of homeless people in the first few blocks of Ellis street. As a woman I felt awkard walking home alone at night, but with a friend it was fine. It didn't feel hostile at all, just outnumbered. If you catch a cab home a night (quite cheap) or avoid these first few blocks by taking Geary street and then Hyde or Larkin to the hotel, it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and cheap turkish restaurant on Geary street just north of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sapphireblue
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Feb 6, 2012

Girl's night out!

The Hotel was wonderful for our small group of (3) age 50+young ladies for our "Girl's night out". Everything was top notch. Thanks we will be using you again. CB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMASH1337
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Good Value, Bad Neighborhood, No Pool

Neighborhood is a bit rough (at night), not fit for small children, but if your a group of guys they won't bother you. Also the hotel shuttle is pretty reliable so you can use that. Value was good, saved money and was pretty close to the Moscone Center for our convention. Rooms were a little smaller than expected. I was disappointed that there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's some good nightlife a short walk east of the hotel, unfortunately that's through the bad side of town, and no ones really out till after 11, and that's also when all the crazy people come out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vboy000
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 6, 2012

San Francisco

I picked this hotel because I thought it is near the downtown of San Francisco. It is close to all the tourist attractions, but we didn't feel safe walking around its nearby neighborhood at night. You have to take taxi or free hotel shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Everything else was good, hotel staffs are friendly, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI but extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GMD LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Getaway

Overall good stay and good value. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bizzy Brett
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 24, 2012

Not bad for the price

Make no mistake, this is an urban hotel. But, for the price and the location, it is not a bad trade off, at least for business or budget travelers. Fairly close to BART's Civic Center/UN stop. I was on the 2nd floor, so there was a fair amount of street noise in the morning, and the neighborhood is not great, but I never felt unsafe or that I couldn't sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The 8th floor has a very nice roofdeck with a view, where the breakfast is also served.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top