$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • May 5, 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • Jul 27, 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 19, 2010

Xmas 2010

very pleasant and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Nothing to fault, great hotel

We stayed for one night and our experience in this hotel was excellent. The rooms were spacious, the service was good, check out time was at noon and breakfast served until 11am (very generous!) and personally I've stayed in the Tenderloin before so the area didn't bother me at all. Very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel

The hotel and the staff were nice. The rooms were clean! (which is a major plus for me!) My boyfriend n' I enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back. Only thing to look into more is the location. I was never scared, but just not the best area to walk around at night. Other than that, everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aguing
Business
eastern Washington
Dec 16, 2010

Cova Hotel in the Tenderloin

People were very nice, clean hotel, nice roof-top terrace with view. The area around the hotel is shady and dirty. Good value given that it is in a poor neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go up to Van Ness and Polk streets. Tommy's sandwich shop and the Village Pizziaria were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mn_biker_chick
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location & Very Friendly Staff

This is a great hotel and is located close to just about everything. We were in walking distance of AT&T Park, Modern Art Muesum and the hotel offered a shuttle down to the Pier. Also.. they were kind enough to drop us and our luggage right by the BART entrance. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noch
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 6, 2010

Excellent Value

Excellent Value. Just wanted a cheap place to stay for a few nights and found this well reviewed hotel on Larkin, just a few blocks from Union Square and in the middle of the row of asian restaurants that line that street. The location is not anything out of the ordinary for being in San Fransisco, ie. I did not encounter lines of homeless as hinted at by other reviewers. It is obvious that the place has been recently renovated/remodeled. Nova has a exceptionally clean, asian-influenced decor and friendly staff. Everything in my room felt basically new. The downside is that it is apparent Cova is still an old San Fransisco building-- tight room spacing and poor sound insulation. I could hear neighboring room's conversations etc.. that being said, for the price this was an excellent value and I look forward to staying there next time I am in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several modern and classic Asian eateries walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thick skinned
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Not for scardey catz

The hotel and staff were perfect! Friendly helpful staff! The front desk guy even gave us his mechanics address for a much needed oil change! The decor of the hotel and rooms were fresh! The parking fees were the cheapest for SF rates. The location was perfect! Close to lots to do! I guess I should say, the neighborhood is a lil rough. I wouldn't suggest walking at night. And the only negative about the hotel itself is that the restaurant closes at 11:00 am and if I had a long night and want breakfast early it's a problem. But there's plenty of restaurants walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Friend
Business
Guadalajara, Mexico.
Aug 28, 2014

Nice place!! But watch out at night if you go outside!!

The hotel is really nice. I stayed there for a weekend and we had really pleasant stay. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, although a couple of drawers would fit perfectly somewhere. The bathroom was decorated perfectly and was very clean. The public spaces were good. Our fare included breakfast, that we had in the restaurant just outside, part of the hotel. The food was pretty good, but we had to eat the same thing for three days in a row. It would be nice if they changed the buffet menu every once in a while. The location is pretty good, very close to Union Square and walking distance to many places. The only thing is that the hotel street (Ellis St) is precisely the street where most homeless people and drug dealers roam in at night, so we didn't feel very safe going outside at night. Overall, the experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tired momma
Business
North Bay CA
Aug 15, 2011

noisy

There was a party at the hotel and it was very loud on my floor. The music was vibrating the walls and people would randomly knock on my door even with the do not disturb sign on. Two calls to the lobby and it got a little better but not much. They could not get me another room and they said they would give me a discount but did not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
khlm
Business
New York, USA
Dec 11, 2011

great hotel, awkward to walk alone at night

the hotel was great, good beds, clean, good and healthy breakfast with fresh fruit and lettuce, tomato, cucumber, two types of cheese, meats, waffels, cereals, etc. There are a lot of homeless people in the first few blocks of Ellis street. As a woman I felt awkard walking home alone at night, but with a friend it was fine. It didn't feel hostile at all, just outnumbered. If you catch a cab home a night (quite cheap) or avoid these first few blocks by taking Geary street and then Hyde or Larkin to the hotel, it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and cheap turkish restaurant on Geary street just north of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top