$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbin, KY
Aug 15, 2010

My favorite vacation yet!

This was by far my best trip yet. There was so much to do in San Francisco, and the hotel really helped in finding things to do and how to get to where we wanted to go. Personally, I'm not accustomed to city life, considering I live in the heart of country life. I thought the neighborhood was a little rough where the hotel was located, but on the plus side, it was located in the middle of downtown - close to many attractions. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to whoever visits the city. Also, be sure to visit all the sites you can while in the city. It's truly a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend for any visitor to San Francisco the City Pass. It costs $64 dollars per person; however, it comes with free transportation on all Muni transportation, including the subway, buses, and cable cars. It also comes with free admission to many attractions, including the aquarium, museums, etc.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 1, 2011

My Experience

It Was pretty good.. Rooms were pretty clean and everything was ready for us. Breakfast wasn't that Good. Unfortunately some food was really old and you can notice that, restaurant service took so long for a ommelette but after 20 minutes waiting that couple of eggs was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Walton, Florida
May 29, 2009

Nice Rooms,Friendly Staff,Exc Breakfast

Hotel staff was helpful and friendly through my 4 night stay. Room was very nice with flat panel TV, ipod dock alarm clock, and free wi-fi. Continental breakfast was nicely done with all the stuff I like (cereal, toast, waffles, milk, juice) without a bunch of stuff I never eat. Hotel has a free shuttle to many places in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Feb 16, 2010

Good price, nice hotel

We had a good stay at this hotel. The price was reasonable and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Mid-week break in San Francisco Nov 2009

My husband and & I stayed 3 nights at the Cova in November 2009 and loved it. The Staff were really helpful regarding seeing the sights and whats happening in town whilst we were there. We had a fantastic stay. Only 7min walk to Union Square for shopping and cable cars. Plenty of dining options close by too. Cova had a complimentary bus that's available to take guests to Fisherman's Wharf every 4hrs and Union Square every hour upon request too that hardly anyone uses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your research before you come as there are so many things to see and do in SF.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 23, 2010

Nice hotel

My room looks new and clean. It is not that safe to walk around the hotel area during the night time. Although the location isn't the best, there is free shuttle take you to the city center. That is quite convenient for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
May 29, 2009

A gem!

It was nice to find a hotel in this price range in the Civic Center area with spacious, recently modernized rooms. Very quiet, except for some construction on the hotel entry, which should be finished soon. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Some guests may find the neighborhood unpleasant, as it's on the edge of the Tenderloin District. One odd shortcoming: there are no drawers in the room to put your underwear, etc., just a closet. Other than that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around and try one of the Vietnamese restaurants. They're all good.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EX-Man
Business
Willington, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Good value and service but be cautious

* Free breakfast is better than expected * Clean room * Very good fitness room * Don't walk on the Ellis Street toward the downtown * It's perfect for people who has a car though public transportation is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr&Mrs from Sac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 26, 2009

Great hotel for the $$$

Nice staff, good breakfast, well-decorated and clean room. Best to use taxis when going to and from, or their free shuttle which was very convenient from Fisherman's Wharf. Do not recommend wandering around the neighborhood past dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

They have free wifi

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WixosTrix
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 7, 2010

Great Room for the Price

We found this hotel on a whim and was very happy to find it. There was friendly staff and the room was very, very nice. It was clean, modern looking, and very comfortable. I would highly recommend. [...] it exceeded our expectations considering we were going to pay $100 for a run-down looking place with an open bathroom.The only issue we had was the ice machine was all the way on the 7th floor and you have to have your key for the elevator unless you're going to the lobby and never coming back. Also, the breakfast wasn't great. There were no eggs just like waffles and yogurt or something, I don't even know I just skipped it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top