$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazinger
Business
San Bernardino, CA
Dec 29, 2013

Cova is normal

Cova is located on near union square but street is liitle scare. Other is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barrington
Oct 16, 2008

Nice Hotel - Marginal Area

I was pleased with the hotel overall. However, I did not feel safe walking out of the hotel at night to go to dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
medford ma.
Jun 9, 2010

great hotel good location

The room my daughter and myself had was actually pretty nice.There was no view but there are so many fantastic views in San Fransisco that this was not a problem.also there are a lot of homeless people but they dont really bother anyone.we had no problem and we walked all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

great momentums gifts down at the piers

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2010

Great Hotel

This was a very clean, friendly hotel. It would be hard to find a better price for the same amenities anywhere else in the heart of San Fran. The only issue was the neighborhood. There were a lot of homeless people on the streets. To be honest, they never bothered me or my group but it can make you uncomfortable. Walking 3 blocks in any direction, you are in a good area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine Hawaiian
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Greatness

The staff were unbelievably helpful and the hotel was pretty nice and modern. The location was actually great, it was walking distance to union square. The area is just a little on the homeless side but the staff makes sure to give you a heads up and alternate routes to avoid the bad areas. We still felt safe and walked around that night and hit up some local bars and restaurants. I still highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like, or are willing to try, Indian-Pakistani food there is a great restaurant called Darbar. Hole in the wall kind of place and seems like a local spot. Good food and the service was okay. Only 3 guys so it got a little hectic but overall it was a great time and good food!!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zaferter
Business
istanbul
Feb 7, 2011

Cova Hotel

Really nice service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K-OYGUR
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Feb 4, 2011

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

cova hotel was not super but ok in many ways- front desk was extremely good and helper, room was clean, hotel was not big but nice, didn't have fridge in the room but got ice from 7th floor,breakfast was not great but ok, complimentary wi-fi, all in all it was good value for the money- only snag was the surroundings! many homeless people in the streets nearby and in ellis str though they do not harm anybody but a little bit scary! good thing is that the hotel offers shuttle to union sq and fisherman's wharf and anton the driver/concierge/front desk person was very courteous doing mostly a taxi's job-driving you even just a single person and taking you back hotel if you make reservation in advance or if you call- and the service is free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take the hotel shuttle service which is free and every hour go to union sq where you can find many good restaurants, shops, bookstores etc- we did go to cheesecake factory on 8 th floor of macy's store and the food was delicious!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the smart traveler
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jan 12, 2011

Cova Hotel

I enjoyed staying at the Cova Inn. We went up for a couple days and left on New Years. Although the city, and the hotel were booked, we were given excellent service. The Ipod dock didn't work but besides that, the rooms are modern and comfortable. Free breakfast was a little buffet with just the essentials but everything was fresh and delicious. Maybe not the best neighborhood for a family, but most city activities are a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Durso
Business
Temecula CA
Feb 28, 2011

Awesome Hotel Very Clean

It was in the TL but super nice hotel couldnt ask for more. Clean rooms didnt smell and staff was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pammyjane
Business
santa barbara
Aug 1, 2009

A Great Surprise!!!!!

We have taken our girls to SF for back to school shopping each year since the time they first had an opinion on the matter. Have stayed in several of the upscale hotels within the Union Square area and have now finally realized that getting past all the hype there are occasionally some real values to be had,the COVA being a glowing example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's for breakfast or lunch. We ate there every morning of our stay. A block and a half away up on Larkin. In the daylight it's was a safe walk with my girls despite all the contrary buzz.

Back to menu Return to top