$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Jan 17, 2010

Nice hotel, be careful of neighborhood

It was good, staff was nice, but when we checked in they said, don't EVER walk on Ellis street. Luckily we were taking a cab and you can only get into the hotel with a card after 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deal Finding Traveler
Business
Orange, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Nice hotel in a sketchy area

The hotel was a great location location as far as being in the heart of the city, however, the neighboring few blocks in all directions were VERY sketchy. We learned very quickly to take the alternate route given by the hotel to avoid a majority of the homeless and drug addicts who seemed to out-number the "normal" people walking on the streets. Other than the location, the hotel was VERY good for its value. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious for what we expected. The breakfasts were good (and free). The staff was friendly and helpful. Just a quick walk, bus, or free hotel shuttle to Union Square. Overall I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a higher class experience at a unique boutique hotel for a very affordable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve8
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 19, 2010

Great Central Location

The area is blighted and somewhat scary. Walk in the area only during daylight hours in the areas the staff warns about w/r to safety. Mass transit is great and the area is fun to be in. The bus system will get you anywhere and you can really get a feeling for the entire area. We thought the Central location allowed us the chance to get anywhere we wanted to go. We felt that the security in the hotel was good and we liked the front desk staff - they were always very helpful. The continental breakfast was great each morning and I enjoyed the seating on top of the building to give us another view of the city. The street noise made sleeping very sporadic because the windows do not block out much street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

we liked the pizza around the corner and up from the Essex hotel. The Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant in view of the Cova was great and fun. Both were very reasonable in price. The bus drivers were quite helpful in calling out our stops when we told them where we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho mirage, ca.
Feb 9, 2011

check in early...

i traveled out to the city on business with a couple of friends and co-workers. got in about 130am and was really nervous about choosing the hotel as i was driving to it. location is horrible, tenderloin. rats, trash, homeless, and working girls. upon arrival i was greeted by valet who i had a difficult time understanding, and went on inside to check in. the desk was no different, lady was just ok. i attempted to start up small talk and no response. again i had a hard time communicating with her because of her very bad english. once we woke the next day, completely different experience with the staff. nice people all around the hotel, the streets felt a little safer. i feel bad for the owner of this property because the hotel is not bad for the price actually kind of a deal for the quality, but the location is really bad. location alone is the only reason why i will not recommend this place, but if you are ok with seeing humanity at it's worst, then this is a great hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 16, 2011

Cova

Front desk was always very helpful. Neighborhood is not a desirable area to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlowerMaker
Business
Sparks, NV
May 21, 2014

Clean but in a bad neighborhood

The staff was fantastic, continental was good and the room was nice and clean. The neighborhood however was sketchy and far from everything we had planned to do that weekend. If you do stay at Cova, there is a restaurant across the street called the Red Crawfish, do yourself a favor and try the garlic noodles and the crawfish! Yum. A Cova staff member recommended it and we're so glad he did, made our day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Red Crawfish across the street from Cova! The garlic noodles will make you happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFF
Business
Denver, CO
May 26, 2009

Nice Room, Bad Neighborhood

The rooms at the hotel were very nice. They were clean, and the decor was updated and tasteful. The neighborhood within a 4 block radius of the hotel is a little dangerous. During the day its fine to walk into Union Square, but at night, you definitely need to take a taxi. The staff at the hotel are somewhat unfriendly. You do not feel as if you are their number one priority. When I was there, the lobby was under renovation, which was expected. What was not expected was that the hotel restaurant was also under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go eat at Cha Cha Chas! Its the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexasian
Business
Clovis, CA
Oct 21, 2009

Nice hotel but really cheap qualities

The hotel was nice and very clean and safe inside but overall, really bad location when I saw the prostitutes by my window. When I booked the trip and drove to the hotel, valet ran up and gave us terrible and high rates for parking at the hotel. Plus the hallway smelt like silly smoke. No air conditioning and tiny cups of water in the fitness rooms. The complimentary breakfast was alright but should of had eggs and more meat. The staff in the breakfast area were not the nicest people either when I smiled and said "HI".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the hospital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
san fran junkie
Business
Fullerton, CA
Oct 12, 2010

hotel was nice... but bad area

The hotel was fine. Walking from the hotel to Union Square was seriously not fun at all. I would not recommend a single female walking down Ellis or up Hyde from the bart station. I encountered many homeless individuals that were making comments that were not polite or appropriate. Jimmies the restaurant that is connected to the hotel was horrible. Bad service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Andy Pants
Business
New York, NY
Feb 17, 2010

Nice enough hotel, scary area!

Staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable, although we felt that being the more expensive suite, some artwork and a coffee table and maybe a plant or two would have been simple additions, to what was quite a bare and uninviting suite. While the hotel was pretty nice inside, the area around it is scary! There is a homeless shelter very close by and on our 3 nights there we saw plenty of hookers hanging around the street near the hotel! We also felt very uncomfortable walking from Union Sq with our bags along Ellis St, we felt quite noticeable and wary. It was like walking through all the zombies in the Thriller video - everyone was homeless and looking at us like we had pockets filled with goodies for them! Also, it was Chinese new year, so the locals thought it was a great idea to let off millions of little red firecrackers on the sidewalk - it sounded like machine gun fire in some warzone! The walk from Union Sq is about 10 minutes. Also, the free breakfast isn't great, we only went to the breakfast room once, there was no coffee, no waffles as promised by the hotel staff and it was all a bit messy and chaotic. The Olympic Cafe a short walk away is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't walk down Ellis Street, walk down Geary St and turn down Hyde to get to Ellis. Geary is 2 blocks up from Ellis. It's advice given to us by the hotel staff, and makes for a much less scary walk to Union Sq. It's a shame, but that's the way it is around there! Also, take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle service, it's good and will save you some money in a cab or a long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top